We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, hit and miss staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, hit and miss staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is great, rooms are spacious with nice balcony, lovely bathroom and everything else you need such as fresh and clean bath robes.

The breakfast was great every morning, and the inclusive food is good but the menu is limited.
We visited first week in April and as i gather it is the end of the season and so the hotel was almost deserted, we ate in the restaurant downstairs 4 times and 3 of those we were the only couple there. Saying this the service we received in the mehana downstairs and lobby bar was not great. In the restaurant we found it hard to get extra drinks, order deserts etc, with the only staff member too busy standing around doing nothing or watching the televison (as was the cas in the lounge). we waited a long time to ask for the bill, to pay the bill, to order extra drinks and had to go over to ask for these things, altnough this despite being the only table in there. Service was also fairly grumpy, i appreciate the language barrier is difficult for some staff (others had brilliant English) but a smile and a hello goodbye is not too much to ask for. The reception staff were generally nice and helpfull.

By far the shining star of the hotel and someone who constanly made us feel at home and well looked after was Niki. He served us breakfast and dinner twice and was absolutely fantastic, he should be credited for this and could do with teaching the others a thing or two. Nothing was too much trouble, he was always smiling and very helpful and attentive, a real star.

The shuttle bus is good, leaving every 15 minutes, although when we were there we would wait at the designated times and the bus would be there waiting, except no driver to be seen. After asking at reception and still no sign of the driver we wondered whether we were meant to drive it ourself. When he did turn up it was a good service. We ealked most mornings as not far.

Spa was lovely and nice to relax in after skiing all day/week. just one thought, directly above the relaxed lounge area by the sauna and steam room was the kids club room and was very noisey one day so not overly relaxing.

Overall, very nice hotel on the whole, slighlty unfriendly and unhelpful restaurant and bar staff except for Niki. Maybe this was as it was very quiet but then this is all the more reason to provide excellent service. Rooms and facilities great. Mixed emotions

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
48
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Lovely relaxing week, excellent food, extremely well priced. Spa great, sauna, steam, ice room all well looked after. Shuttle bus to the ski lift every 15mins. Kids cinema, kids play room all in great condition. Enjoyed it and will go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartments at the back, very quiet, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorsetdonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned from a week ski holiday at St Ivan Rilski. Found the hotel to be of a very high standard. Rooms spacious warm and well equipped. Breakfast plentiful and enjoyable. Especially the lovely warm bread rolls. We found the shuttle bus to the Gondola very helpful and never had to wait long for it. Short walk on an evening into the town where there are many bars and restaurants to chose from. Only minor point is the rooms would benefit from tea making facilities. Otherwise perfect!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chezza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The staff is prone to give an ear to recommendations from the guests. We asked for chicken instead of pork and they provided it next morning. Spa is good. There is a spatious place for kids to play with an animator in charge and this way not to disturb the parents all the time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bulgarka37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
multiple
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We usually stay at this hotel once a year around Christmas/New Year. The hotel itself is generally clean, but is starting to look a little dated here and there. This might be simply due to the lower quality of materials used.
As for the service, it is indeed not very good but again don't stress too much about it and remember: You get what you pay for.
In regards to food, I can honestly recommend the mehana at level -1 of the hotel. It is a very cosy place with good food for a decent price, so go there for a nice meal in the evening.
The only definite issue we have faced in the past is the noise. The walls seem to be made of paper, so you can hear everything. Try to ask for a room at the end of a corridor, as these tend to be less noisy...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwide_travel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because of an organized team building. However, I don't have good experience. I was at 3rd floor and it was really cold in the room. I visited some colleagues in a different room and there the temperature was OK. Since it was so cold, I asked for a blanket at the reception where I was treated very rude.
Regarding the food, it was terrible - no diversity, it was little, personnel looked at us as if we were stealing it and so on.
At no circumstances would I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel would be a five-star hotel for Tunisian people.
This hotel would be a three-star hotel for British people.
To me, it was a four-star hotel and our family loved it very much.
One complaint was that WiFi connection was unstable for a couple of days in a week-stay.

There was a kids club where you can leave your kids (not baby) and go night out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutsuoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.8 mi away
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Pirin River Ski & Spa
#1 of 96 in Bansko
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 96 in Bansko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elegant Hotel
Elegant Hotel
#11 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments

Property: St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
Address: Sveti Ivan Area, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious „St. Ivan Rilski” SPA Hotel is an excellent choice for your winter ski holiday, green summer holiday, for organizing conference events, corporate trainings, corporate events of various formats, weddings and family celebrations.The Bulgarian hotel chain FPI Hotels & Resorts selected the best and the most swiftly developing ski resort in Bulgaria – the beautiful Bansko for the location of its winter holiday site – the four-star „St. Ivan Rilski” SPA Hotel, which was officially opened at the end of 2008.One of the indisputable advantages of this hotel is its location. It is situated on the outskirts of the Pirin Mountain close to the lift and near Bansko's ski tracks.5 min drive to the ski-lift15 min walk to the centre of Bansko160 km away from Sofia50 km away from the Greek border ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing