We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty and Inexpensive Local Food”
Review of Kujtimi

Kujtimi
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Gjirokaster
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hearty and Inexpensive Local Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We sat on the porch and ordered specialties from the region, starting with a glass of raki. We had Midhje, fried mussels from Saranda; Qifqi, a local specialty made with rice and egg; Qofte Me Mish, rolled minced beef with spices; along with grilled vegetables, homemade potato chips (a beloved dish here), and wine, all for less than $20.00.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank srh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    72
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The price of success”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Kujtimi is definitely overrated. Sure a nice quiet terasse. However, our tranquility was disturbed by the distant sound of a microwave oven (bing!) coming from the kitchen, announcing that our food was really quickly prepared and really not freshly made. The price of success. The outdoor seating was full, and the hopeless waiter even let a few customers leave, since he couldn't cope with the numbers (more distant bings!). Prefer the nice open outdoor restaurant above the mosque (taberna kuka) where the food is fresher, the prices smaller and the waiters young Albanians with relatively good english. Their friends and other locals also drink and eat there, whilst watching football and video clips on the large screen TV. Way better!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trouble_Agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“genuine albanian food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

you know all those restaurants that give "traditional" "authentic" food like pizza, burgers and fries? Kujtimi is the exact opposite. albanian home cooking gjirokastra style, served both inside or outside under the shadow of a giant tree , freshly made (not rehited in microwave...) so you may wait a little. we ate there twice and althogh the choices in manu are not that many its a nice selection of meat and vegetarian dishes. the wine is not that good but the raki is very good. great baklava for desert.
so: good food, good location, good atmosphere and good (but not fast) service, and fair prices. do you need more?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I travel a lot for work and for fun. Gjirokastra was one of our many stops. Of course we went to check the famous restaurant in town. It did not disappoint at all. The food was very good. It did have a nice family feeling. There was a waiting time but they did not pull stuff out of a microwave.
Overall i think it was a must visit if you go to Gjirokastra.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ion8983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“there is nothing special about it.”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I went there with my client. the location is nice but this is all. The table and the chairs were old and dirty, the choices in the menu were very limited and the quality average. The service was very very slow, it took 30minutes to the only waiter to bring the menu!!! We ordered some house wine but it was pure acid and that was the only one. Probably it became a victim of its own success.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TomasPetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kujtimi also viewed

Gjirokaster, Gjirokaster County
Gjirokaster, Gjirokaster County
 
Gjirokaster, Gjirokaster County
Gjirokaster, Gjirokaster County
 

Been to Kujtimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing