We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Cajupi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cajupi
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Gjirokaster
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was quite a nice surprise, very nice room with view of the old city, quiet and very clean...
The breakfast was just ok...also not as bad as the majority of hotels in US, with pretty much the same choices and fresher vegetables. Had Wi-Fi, cable, parking (i had a rental), and the bar area on the forth floor had beautiful view and amazing coffee ( a Frape' sweet with milk recommended)
Nothing bad to say about this place...but really we went there for the city...that amazing place that smells of old stone and history...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewSchuetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    50
    9
    2
See reviews for
6
33
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This ex Communist era hotel is well located by the old town. Our room was situated at the front, overlooking the square. It had a modern bathroom with the most complicated shower I've ever encountered! Comfortable beds, and efficient aircon. We found the breakfast average, but dinner in the rooftop restaurant was particularly good. ( According to our Albanian guide, it's the best place to eat in Gjirokaster, and he did so). The hotel was clean and all the staff - as elsewhere in Albania - helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although dating from.the communist era, and therefore a bit gloomy, I enjoyed my stay here. We had a nice room facing the front with a lovely view and two balconies. Nice in day time but thin curtains ensured an early awakening. Breakfast was very poor with stale bread, greasy pre-cooked omelette and coffee in name only. We went over the road for a decent cup.

Room Tip: Insist on front room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Albania is only just opening up for tourists so yon cannot expect too much from the hotels outside of Tirana. On a tour, except for Tirana, they were 2* at best. The positive points were that all of them were spotlessly clean and the people are very friendly and, with the exception of the Cajupi, anxious to please. The Cajupi, unfortunately, was the worst. It is in a reasonable position for the sights but the room I occupied could have done with some renovation and the bed was the hardest I have slept on for years - just like a board. Others in our party complained of lumpy beds. The breakfast was was very poor indeed and the breakfast coffee undrinkable.

Room Tip: Do not know if there is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had to stay over a number of hotels in the south of Albania and Hotel Cajupi stands out. Extremely clean, great service and very interesting food.
Great value for the price. Make sure you try the Gjirokastra traditional food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElRor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Gjirokaster is lovely; this hotel is not. It is a communist relic. Upon check-in I was given a dark, tiny room looking out at the back wall. I went back to the front desk to ask for a front-facing room. “Oh, you want a nicer room?” The room the clerk then gave me was, for the same price, on the top floor, much larger and nicer, complete with separate sitting area, lots of windows with a beautiful view. But, whereas the first room was at least warm, this room was freezing cold. The cable t.v. did not work, and the wi fi only worked if I sat in the dining room (beautiful view). Nonetheless, I kept the room for the view, light, and space. The clerk’s take on the wi fi: “Mine also does not work very well.”

My impressions: Clerk is clueless. The hallways are dark. Paintings on the wall are cheap – look like they were bought on sale at Walmart. Furniture is depressing. Breakfast was inedible; the coffee was so in name only. Lunch was marginal. Needless to say I went elsewhere for dinner, both nights to a very good Greek restaurant in the new city.

One positive note: The maids and other cleaning staff at the Cajupi keep the hotel spotless. They are continuously hard at work, never letting up. They get full marks. Unfortunately, the rest of the hotel does not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stepstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gjirokaster hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of town, the public areas are large and my bedroom was large, the bed was comfortable, but there was no bedside table or bedside light, and only one coathanger in the wardrobe. The bathroom had a small trickle of water running across the floor from one corner of the bath to the central drain, which made it rather slippery.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, the back rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjirokaster
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalemi
Hotel Kalemi
#2 of 9 in Gjirokaster
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gjirokastra
Hotel Gjirokastra
#1 of 9 in Gjirokaster
185 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Brilant
Hotel Brilant
#1 of 42 in Saranda
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Rondos Hotel
Rondos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himare
57 reviews
11.3 mi away
Butrinti Hotel
Butrinti Hotel
#29 of 42 in Saranda
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Domino
Hotel Domino
#1 of 23 in Gjirokaster
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cajupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cajupi

Property: Hotel Cajupi
Address: | Cerciz Topulli Square, Gjirokaster 6001, Albania
Location: Albania > Gjirokaster County > Gjirokaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Gjirokaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cajupi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cajupi hotel is honored to welcome you on your next visit to beautiful UNESCO World heritage town of Gjirokaster. The Cajupi hotel consists of comfortable rooms and suites, conference rooms, restaurant with magnificent view over the region, coffee-shop with relaxed balcony outside and parking space. The location of the hotel just under the feet of the famous ARGGJIRO Castle and direct in the heart of the historical center of Gjirokaster. It's situated very near to all interesting museums, municipality, bazaar with character full and traditional shops, banks and tourist office. You will find old cobblestone streets, original old houses and monuments in pure and wonderful Gjirokaster. The hotel yearly welcomes many International and National guests. They come to enjoy the many touristic highlights, or for business reasons, orfor attending conferences, banquets and events. The friendly staff is happy to welcome you in different languages and will friendly help and inform you about the hotel and the region. The aim of the Cajupi hotel is to work every day in order to insure the enormous enjoyment of each guest visiting us, while always using every opportunity to enhance the hotels services. On behalf of management and staff: Feel WELCOME in the Cajupi Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cajupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing