We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Gjirokastra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gjirokastra
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Gjirokaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Gjirokastra on the last night of our trip around the Balkans and it truly was a great way to end our trip. The rooms are very spacious, extremely clean, and are decorated in a traditional Albanian style. Apart from the room being great the hotel is located right in the center of the old town and is walking distance from the Castle of Gjirokaster. The staff is extremely kind and hospitable and makes you feel as if you are in your own home . The breakfast that is included is just an added bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bani55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very welcoming staff and friendly in their jargong. The rooms were nice and clean with almost no noice from the street, at least not the Friday evening we spent there.

Perfect location for a stroll in the surprisingly nice old town of Gjirokastra

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hapaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was a fabulous find on our trip through Albania. An authentic Gjirokastra house that has been beautifully refurbished - incredible traditional workwork on the ceilings! Lovely views over the town from our balcony. Very, very clean and comfortable. The best, however, was the very kind and helpful hosts! Even though they didn't speak much English (they're young children did though), they went out of their way to make our stay nice - even made us a fresh fruit plate when we mentioned that we fancied something sweet!! Perfect example of the kindness of Albanian people we encountered throughout the trip. Very thoroughly recommend Hotel Gjirokastra for a stay in this fascinating town!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarpeDiem84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this hotel after we almost gave up looking because on that day bigger hotel was occupied with a wedding guests. Owner is a very nice man, and was very helpfull. But the room was really something. It looks like a museum. In a good way though. For us, simply amazing. Room and bathroom was clean and tidy. The tea in the morning from some local herbs of which to this day I dont know the name, was excellent. Would stay there any day again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maksimvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Set high up above the old town and below the fortress, with street parking available. I gave a '5' rating for this category of hotel, which I don't often do. The family run hotel reception is in the bar/restaurant with main accommodation in a refurbished building just to the rear. Traditional styling of both rooms and communal area is a definite plus. Room was large (3 single beds) as was the modern bathroom, and both were spotlessly clean. Outside is a bench seat with a view over the town to the distant hills. Though it didn't bother me a negative for some people could be the lack of a communal lounge, though the bars exterior seating or the settees in your room could substitute.
Breakfast was the usual continental type with local products. The bar is also the restaurant, though there are outside tables. The food is aimed at the local clientele who frequent the place. It is not Michelin star but good local dishes. If you ask for a menu you will be told 'we don't have menus, it is whatever mother cooks tonight!' - the meat dish was hand made sausage shaped pates, plus 4 side dishes including stuffed vine leaves, stuffed peppers - 2 full meals for under £8.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Travelling_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We followed the advices on Tripadviser and found this guest house a marvelous place to stay
The room seemed to be a part of a museum: the furnitures and the decoration and the entire atmosphere
If we had time-we would stay another day

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 293984Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When a friend came to visit me in Tirana over the holidays, I decided a trip to South Albania would be a good diversion. We had planned to go on to Saranda but the conditions of the roads proved too much for the small car I had rented so we stayed two nights in Gjirokaster.

The first night we stayed at the Cajupi Hotel, which a travel agent had booked for us. The whole place was just sad and cold. The room we had seemed to be straight out of 1970 down to the glass and chrome coffee table and pink tile in the bathroom.

The heater did not work and the electricity kept going on and off. The toilet leaked. Needless to say, our night there was miserable.

However, another person we were traveling with had booked a room at the Hotel Gjirokaster and I had gone up to that hotel to see this person's room. What a difference from the Cajupi! The room was decorated in traditional style with a wood ceiling, warm wooden furniture, and etchings of the cities as wall art. My friend's room even came with an electric blanket and a balcony with a spectacular view of the city and the mountains.

My traveling companion and I moved to the Hotel Gjirokaster for our second night in the city. Our room was smaller than my other friend's but warm and it also had a balcony.

The added bonus of this hotel is the friendly innkeeper - a delightful man, who was so generous with his time and so patient with our lack of Albanian language skills. He even took us on a tour of another building he is restoring that will also become part of the hotel. The rooms in that building were truly magnificent.

Gjirokaster is not an easy place to get to if you are coming from Tirana, but it is well worth the effort and your trip will be enhanced by the friendly innkeeper and charming rooms at Hotel Gjiorkaster.

Room Tip: The large double room is quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDCorrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjirokaster
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kalemi
Hotel Kalemi
#2 of 9 in Gjirokaster
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cajupi
Hotel Cajupi
#5 of 9 in Gjirokaster
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bleta
Hotel Bleta
#6 of 9 in Gjirokaster
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel The First
Hotel The First
#8 of 9 in Gjirokaster
12 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Alvero
Hotel Alvero
#1 of 3 in Permet
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kodra
Hotel Kodra
#3 of 24 in Gjirokaster
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gjirokastra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gjirokastra

Address: | Partizani district, Gjirokaster, Albania
Location: Albania > Gjirokaster County > Gjirokaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Gjirokaster
Price Range: $34 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gjirokastra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing