We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, helpful staff and beautiful view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oaz
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Durres
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel, helpful staff and beautiful view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I spent two days initially at Hotel Oaz. We were on our honey moon and on our way to Vlora. We enjoyed the time so much so that on our way back from Vlora we ended up spending one more night at Hotel Oaz. Thank you Hotel Oaz staff for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank teutama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Teutama,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your first stop and especially for coming back, this is a source of pride and pleasure. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
30
30
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice and kind hotel just on a beach. The hotel services are kind and very helpful. We hadn't any problem during our visit. Maybe the breakfast should be more diverse. The cuisine was good. Bus stop is close to the hotel and the hotel has their own park places. Close to the hotel is small shop and few of restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HawkeyPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear HawkeyPD,
First of all we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel in September and especially for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you and will be pleasant if you come back again in the future. We wish you the best.
Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Situated right on the beach (no roads to cross) with free loungers & umbrellas...Swimming pool with patio area for sunbathing...large area for outdoor food & drink 7am-11pm. Rooms are cleaned daily..have air-con & good beds.With only 30 rooms you soon get to know the staff & them you. We stayed in September when other hotels were closing for the end of season so, once you went off the hotel beach (cleaned by Toni) there was plenty of rubbish washed in each day to navigate your way through. the sea isn't the cleanest..but, it's warm & we had it to ourselves. Would I recommend this Hotel to family & friends ? Yes.. Would I stay again ? Yes... The only low part of the fortnight was on check-out..the visa/mastercard machine was broken & were only told at the last moment & had to go to town to find an ATM..Toni came to our rescue & jumped in the taxi with us & then caught the bus back with the cash leaving us to continue on to the airport.

Room Tip: Room 101 has the biggest balcony followed by 105...101-105 have best views of the outdoor big-screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobby400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Dobby400,
First of all we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel back in September in the end of the Summer Season, it is usually quite and with few tourists that period and that is why we can dedicate more to them. As for the Credit Card machine all we can say is that makes part of the Albanian experience and our way of living and working. The true is that considering the fact that we only work seasonally banks does not like to live the best POS in seasonal hotels and that part of the reason why they are so problematic, I am sure the future will be better. We wish we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future and the POS will work. Wishing you the best.
Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our room had great views (we asked for sea view and balcony when we booked) of the pool area and the beach. All the staff was helpful and polite, and friendly. The hotel organized transport from the airport for us after I sent them an email (for etra 25 EURO). They replied immediately to my initial email in a very good English, asked for our flight details and assured me all will be ready. When we got to Tirana International Airport the driver was there waiting for us.
If you want to go to Durres or other places, the hotel will get you a taxi. Taxi to the historical centre of Durres was 10 EURO. Or you can use local buses. There is a bus stop just up the road from the hotel, the ticket to Durress was 60 Lek.
We stayed in the hotel 2 weeks and we loved it! Crystal clear pool (they cleaned it twice a day), lovely beach with free beach lougers and umbrellas, and you can order from the pool bar as well!
All the staff were nice; we were especially impressed by Tony, who through our first week there looked after the pool and beach. He worked from dawn into the night, alsways smiling, always friendly, and everything was clean and tidy!
If you are looking for a hotel near Durres I highly recommend Oaz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear alp102,
We want to start by thanking you for the nice words and we are very happy you could enjoy your holiday in our Hotel, it is our main objective and always a great pleasure to know that we made it. We always try to help each of our guest to take out the best from its holiday and we do it in a very open and sincere way knowing we all have some limitations and we can not satisfy everybody. In your case you seem to have managed to give yourself a nice and deserved holiday and we wish the same for each of our clients. We really look forward to have you back again in the future and show you some other attractions you can visit around the area besides Durres and its historical monuments.
Until than we wish you all the best.
Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Please read my other review of this hotel Dint realize it had 2 listings I fail 2 see how any of the bad reviews can be warrented It is a beautiful place spotlessly clean and ALL the staff friendly and polite Food is lovely and very cheap Pool and beach again faultless It is hard 2 find I recommend u take the hotel taxi provided at request 4 25 euros esp if u arrive late as I did Email manager he will book it 4 you and your be met at airport All in All a lovely hotel in a lovely country A big thank you 2 Tonni the bar man /waiter outside who is especially nice and very friendly Thank you Oaz

Room Tip: Room 102 was perfect 4 me
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somerset11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Somerset11,

We would like to thank you very much for both of your reviews in our duplicate listing which is an issue that Tripadvisor is not finding the time and the will to fix although we have already noticed them months before.
Your review is simply great, it is only thanks to customers like you that we enjoy the compensation of our every day hard work in trying to make you as well as every other traveler who happens to pass through our hotel seeking some peace and relax.
Some customers are just impossible to satisfy no matter how hard we try, we can not change the hotel and the rooms, they are how they are but we try to deliver a stress free atmosphere with our services and desire to help although sometimes we make mistakes, in the end we are only human.
We really hope and look forward to have you again with us in the future as it is a real pleasure and honor to serve customers like you who appreciates our work.

Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Firstly I can not see how any of the bad reviews can be warrented in my experience. Ive been staying at this lovely hotel now for five nights and can not fault one bit of it from the moment I arrived at 1230am The guy who checked me in was polite and friendly but I assumed his English was limited He carried my bag 2 my room and turned everything on 4 me The room thoe not big was spacious enough and MODERN lovely balcony overlooking the sea Bathroom was decent Yes shower is small but only 1 person is going 2 shower at a time so no problem !!! In all it was spotlessly clean Bed Comfy Breakfast thoe always the same was nice and plentiful The pool is lovely as is outside bar area, Private beach is clean and loungers comfy Dint seem 2 be bothered by many beach sellers Best part food and staff Well food is cheap and large portions Must try is the Greek salad at less than £2 its a bargin and ideal for lunch the outside staff are lovely esp Tonni I think that is his name he is so polite and friendly and will take time out 2 talk with you The lady on reception is also very friendly and will always say hello as does one of the cleaning ladys Thoe all the staff are nice I think the ones with limited English tend 2 be a bit shy which I totally understand Location yes bit out of center but plenty 2 do if u walk along beach couple hundred yards or walk 5mins 2 main rd and catch bus so realy not an issue All in all this is a first class place 2 stay in what at end of day is an up and coming tourist place You wont get prices like this in rest of Europe and you wont get them here for 2 many more years either im sure My end result is I LOVE THIS PLACE and Albania as a Country Thank you Oaz Ps still got 2 more days 2 enjoy xx

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view room 102 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somerset11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Somerset11,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel and off course congratulate you on the special gift you seem to have which is very rare to find nowadays, not everybody can really appreciate and evaluate something for what it really is. Everybody rushes to give an opinion as it is a trend now, but only thanks to people like you future travelers and visitors can really get to feel what really is about a place which they intend to visit in the future. We really wish other travelers can write their reviews in an objective way and not only based on their emotions as they are influencing far more people than they can imagine and it is not fair to lead them the wrong way only because of their perceptions. Nobody is perfect and sure we are not perfect either but we do our best to make the best out of every guest experience.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The pictures of this hotel/rooms are not representative at all of reality - the hotel seems to be isolated on the picture, but it's actually surrounded by awful concrete blocks... What's more, the room looked nothing like on the picture, in fact it was so filthy you could feel dust and sand on the floor, the bed cover looked very dirty and the air conditioning didn't work properly. The bathroom was one of the tiniest I've ever seen and rather mouldy.The breakfast was almost inedible (burnt coffee, etc.), the hotel was very hard to find (we had a rented car) and when we finally found it we arrived late at night and exhausted, only to be "welcomed" (or rather "unwelcomed") by a sarcastic receptionist who found nothing better to say than "You're late" in a grumpy tone. We walked on the beach at night and it stank of sewage, we found out they were putting sewage in the sea on the beach.... it looked OK during daytime but overcrowded.

Room Tip: (our stay was actually in August 2012)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marzenka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Marzenka K,

We would like to thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor for our hotel and in the meantime feel very sorry for your unpleasant stay in our place.
As we can understand from your review you have only spent one night in our hotel and off course you would have been very tired because of the late arrival and sometimes when you get over tired it is really hard to enjoy anything.
We are sorry you did not have more time to really see what our hotel is like on a real holiday as first impressions sometimes are not objective and representative.
We understand that finding our Hotel is not the easiest thing but we believe this is true anywhere and believe this is the main reason why Navigation Systems were invented, it is such a pity that Albanian roads are not included yet.
Once again we are really sorry that all your review is made of perceptions and this is due to the short time spent with us, at the end of the next day you would have found out that rooms are cleaned every day, sheets are changed every three days or even less when necessary, the bed cover looks and really is clean in the daylight but the artificial room lights make everything look different from what it is really, the bathrooms are as big as you would need them to be on a short holiday, the burnt sensation is due to the black coffee which is filtered and it may have happened that on that day the quality of the coffee was not great, unfortunately it happens, more important you would have meet with our staff and see how friendly and tourist oriented they are.
We really hope you will come again in Albania and if this happens in the future we would be happy to offer a two days free trial, if you do not like it do not pay it, but we are sure you will like.

Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durres
2.9 mi away
Hotel Vila Lule
Hotel Vila Lule
#1 of 37 in Durres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropikal Resort
Tropikal Resort
#15 of 37 in Durres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Vista
Hotel Bella Vista
#17 of 37 in Durres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Adriatik Hotel
Adriatik Hotel
#19 of 37 in Durres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aragosta Hotel
Aragosta Hotel
#5 of 37 in Durres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#17 of 94 in Tirana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaz

Property: Hotel Oaz
Address: Secondary Road Durres-Kavaja | Durres, Durres 2504, Albania
Location: Albania > Durres County > Durres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Durres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oaz 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel OAZ is a newly built establishment opened in 2005. Its exterior architecture reminds you of a Swiss Chalet brought down to the beach from the Swiss Alps while interior decorations are adapted in a western modern style. Our hotel is located in a quite area where you can relax and reorganize yourself in peace. You will find our staff very friendly and guest oriented. Rooms are equipped with toilette, TV, Balcony Heating System and Air Conditioned. You can use the Swimming Pool, Beach and Sea altogether for your exclusive pleasure. Our motto is very simple “IT’S BETTER TO REGRET SOMETHING YOU DID THEN SOMETHING YOU DID NOT DARE?!!!!!”. We are looking forward to have you as a guest in our hotel and prove you did the right thing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing