We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late summer break”
Review of Hotel Oaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oaz
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Durres
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Late summer break”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Firstly I can not see how any of the bad reviews can be warrented in my experience. Ive been staying at this lovely hotel now for five nights and can not fault one bit of it from the moment I arrived at 1230am The guy who checked me in was polite and friendly but I assumed his English was limited He carried my bag 2 my room and turned everything on 4 me The room thoe not big was spacious enough and MODERN lovely balcony overlooking the sea Bathroom was decent Yes shower is small but only 1 person is going 2 shower at a time so no problem !!! In all it was spotlessly clean Bed Comfy Breakfast thoe always the same was nice and plentiful The pool is lovely as is outside bar area, Private beach is clean and loungers comfy Dint seem 2 be bothered by many beach sellers Best part food and staff Well food is cheap and large portions Must try is the Greek salad at less than £2 its a bargin and ideal for lunch the outside staff are lovely esp Tonni I think that is his name he is so polite and friendly and will take time out 2 talk with you The lady on reception is also very friendly and will always say hello as does one of the cleaning ladys Thoe all the staff are nice I think the ones with limited English tend 2 be a bit shy which I totally understand Location yes bit out of center but plenty 2 do if u walk along beach couple hundred yards or walk 5mins 2 main rd and catch bus so realy not an issue All in all this is a first class place 2 stay in what at end of day is an up and coming tourist place You wont get prices like this in rest of Europe and you wont get them here for 2 many more years either im sure My end result is I LOVE THIS PLACE and Albania as a Country Thank you Oaz Ps still got 2 more days 2 enjoy xx

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view room 102 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somerset11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Somerset11,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel and off course congratulate you on the special gift you seem to have which is very rare to find nowadays, not everybody can really appreciate and evaluate something for what it really is. Everybody rushes to give an opinion as it is a trend now, but only thanks to people like you future travelers and visitors can really get to feel what really is about a place which they intend to visit in the future. We really wish other travelers can write their reviews in an objective way and not only based on their emotions as they are influencing far more people than they can imagine and it is not fair to lead them the wrong way only because of their perceptions. Nobody is perfect and sure we are not perfect either but we do our best to make the best out of every guest experience.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
34
36
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The pictures of this hotel/rooms are not representative at all of reality - the hotel seems to be isolated on the picture, but it's actually surrounded by awful concrete blocks... What's more, the room looked nothing like on the picture, in fact it was so filthy you could feel dust and sand on the floor, the bed cover looked very dirty and the air conditioning didn't work properly. The bathroom was one of the tiniest I've ever seen and rather mouldy.The breakfast was almost inedible (burnt coffee, etc.), the hotel was very hard to find (we had a rented car) and when we finally found it we arrived late at night and exhausted, only to be "welcomed" (or rather "unwelcomed") by a sarcastic receptionist who found nothing better to say than "You're late" in a grumpy tone. We walked on the beach at night and it stank of sewage, we found out they were putting sewage in the sea on the beach.... it looked OK during daytime but overcrowded.

Room Tip: (our stay was actually in August 2012)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marzenka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Marzenka K,

We would like to thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor for our hotel and in the meantime feel very sorry for your unpleasant stay in our place.
As we can understand from your review you have only spent one night in our hotel and off course you would have been very tired because of the late arrival and sometimes when you get over tired it is really hard to enjoy anything.
We are sorry you did not have more time to really see what our hotel is like on a real holiday as first impressions sometimes are not objective and representative.
We understand that finding our Hotel is not the easiest thing but we believe this is true anywhere and believe this is the main reason why Navigation Systems were invented, it is such a pity that Albanian roads are not included yet.
Once again we are really sorry that all your review is made of perceptions and this is due to the short time spent with us, at the end of the next day you would have found out that rooms are cleaned every day, sheets are changed every three days or even less when necessary, the bed cover looks and really is clean in the daylight but the artificial room lights make everything look different from what it is really, the bathrooms are as big as you would need them to be on a short holiday, the burnt sensation is due to the black coffee which is filtered and it may have happened that on that day the quality of the coffee was not great, unfortunately it happens, more important you would have meet with our staff and see how friendly and tourist oriented they are.
We really hope you will come again in Albania and if this happens in the future we would be happy to offer a two days free trial, if you do not like it do not pay it, but we are sure you will like.

Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pornainen, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room was ok.Beach was near and it was excelent. The receptionist was not so nice and we werw dissopinted that we could not use cards to pay the hotell.The hotell was nice beacause it was so near by the see and beach.Beach was clean and peaceful-not too many peoples.

Room Tip: the wiew to beach was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leena365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Leena365,

We would like to thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and it is nice to find out you liked our beach as well as our hotel.
As for the card payment this is a problem which we have been carrying out throughout the season and although it is our duty to provide this service to all of our clients often the Banks does not realize this and because we are a seasonal hotel they only give us the credit card machines during the High Season and even then we get to use very old machines which most of the time are out of service.
This year we have started to take payment through PayPal in order to help our clients pay by card and this has worked very good so far.
We look forward to have you back again with us some time in the future.

Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at the Oaz for a week. Good hotel right on the beach with own sun loungers. Pool bar very good food was ok .Not much english spoken by staff . The resort was ok 3 mile walk to main center along the beach. Not many english there yet but it won't be long it has a very good exchange rate cigarettes 50p a packet. 50p for a beer food not a large choice but very cheap

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mlloyd1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear mlloyd1965,

We would like to thank you very much for taking your valued time and writing a review for our Hotel.
It is very nice to read your review considering your experience and the places you have visited and reviewed in the past.
We definitely need to have more English speaking staff as every year there are more and more tourists coming and the main language used is definitely English, we have already started to train every member of the staff to understand the most commonly used expressions.
Enriching the Restaurant menu is another thing we are considering in order to better meet our customers taste and enlarge the variety of choice.
We really look forward to have you back with us in the future.

Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a vacation. It is a little out of the way, not right in town, but it was easy to hitch a ride to town when we needed one. The pool area is lovely and the complimentary breakfast was excellent - eggs, pastries, fruit, bacon, juice, coffee, etc. The rooms are nice, the only downside is the bathroom, but for the location on the beach and the wonderful staff I really wasn't bothered by the less than ideal shower. I would visit again and think it was a great value for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Molly M,

It is a great pleasure for us to read your very nice review about our Hotel and we are happy that you have had such a good time here.
As for the bathrooms we are strongly considering to remodel them as even are customers are not happy with how they are now especially with the shower area, it is very likely to have them ready for the next spring if nothing comes on the way.
We really look forward to have you back again some time in the future.

Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What I liked:
We enjoyed the hotel's cozy and familiar character. The staff is hard-working, helpful, kind and courteous. Half-board is fully satisfied our requirements and selection, both in terms of quantity. I really liked the beach and poolside areas, free lounge chairs and beach umbrella use. The pool was always clean and around the sunbeds were always clean.
What did not like:
Sanitary facilities in the rooms too modest and worn. In the small shower the plastic curtain touches the human body, which is unpleasant, unhealthy, one bad solution. Small amount of water flowing from the taps.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank istvanmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Istvan,

It has been a pleasure to have you in our hotel and it is an even bigger pleasure to find out you have had a good time in our place.
As for the bathrooms it is true that they need a little work but unfortunately the season in Albania is very short and we can not put apart enough money to invest as much as it is needed.
This year has been a successful year and hopefully we will have some money left in the end for some renovation.
Looking forward to have you back again in the future.

Best Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a pleasant and friendly small hotel right by the beach. We have visited twice (18 months between trips) and my high opinion remained the same. No, it's not luxury but it is all of a reasonable standard to enjoy a beach holiday or explore the local area and because of it's smaller size and location I think you get a lot in terms of views and personal service for the price. My son really enjoyed the pool whilst I enjoyed lots of their very good coffee and my books. It is well managed by Ervin and his lovely wife and all of the staff are efficient, kind and helpful (as are most Albanian people). The only downside is the music, which is played pretty constantly, and is basically Euro-pop. This is not unique to this hotel, as they all seem to do it along the beach front, but the volume had increased over the 18months whilst the selection of music had decreased to one radio station. This of course could just be me that finds this a problem as no one else seemed to mind it. I would still go back, the only thing stopping us is that we have other places to see!

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room with a balcony sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oazmanager, General Manager at Hotel Oaz, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Fiona,
It is a great pleasure to hear back from and read your very nice review. We are sorry the music played in the bar is converted in a source of disturbance for you, actually we have tried to bring you and all the other guests some pleasure through the contemporary music played by the best Albanian radio. Since we read your first review in Booking.com we have changed this, now we only play music during the evenings although still some guests asks for some music even during the day.
It is amazing how you describe our hotel in your review, actually it is true that some guests come in Albania with high expectation, sometimes higher than Albania can offer and this is mostly a problem of the marketing campaigns which always promise more than they can offer.
The same is true even for our Hotel, it is not a 4 star hotel, it is just a simple modest three star Hotel which main target is to offer guests a room to sleep and enjoy the beauty of the Beach and Albanian Nature.
Thank you once again.
We wish to have you back again in the future once you have explored all the possible places you want to visit.
Regards
Ervin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durres
3.3 mi away
Adriatik Hotel
Adriatik Hotel
#6 of 38 in Durres
98 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropikal Resort
Tropikal Resort
#22 of 38 in Durres
114 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aragosta Hotel
Aragosta Hotel
#4 of 38 in Durres
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bel Conti
Hotel Bel Conti
#13 of 38 in Durres
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Belvedere
Villa Belvedere
#20 of 38 in Durres
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premium Hotel Beach
Premium Hotel Beach
#1 of 10 in Golem
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oaz

Property: Hotel Oaz
Address: Secondary Road Durres-Kavaja | Durres, Durres 2504, Albania
Location: Albania > Durres County > Durres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Durres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oaz 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel OAZ is a newly built establishment opened in 2005. Its exterior architecture reminds you of a Swiss Chalet brought down to the beach from the Swiss Alps while interior decorations are adapted in a western modern style. Our hotel is located in a quite area where you can relax and reorganize yourself in peace. You will find our staff very friendly and guest oriented. Rooms are equipped with toilette, TV, Balcony Heating System and Air Conditioned. You can use the Swimming Pool, Beach and Sea altogether for your exclusive pleasure. Our motto is very simple “IT’S BETTER TO REGRET SOMETHING YOU DID THEN SOMETHING YOU DID NOT DARE?!!!!!”. We are looking forward to have you as a guest in our hotel and prove you did the right thing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Oaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing