We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting historic site”

Butrint National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.27*
and up
Buthrotum, Saint George Monastery, Ksamil and Lekursi Castle from Saranda
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very interesting historic site”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We went on a day trip to Albania from Corfu and visited the Blue Eye aswell as Butrint. We went by hyrofoil and then coach from the port of Sarande which was very interesting as most of the roads we went on were hardly roads at all! Very steep drops off the side to the sea which was fun when we had to squeeze past a lorry!!
Butrint is very well preserved and you can walk on or around most of the ruins although some of them are cut off but you can still get very close to see everything. The site does not have many shaded areas so it gets very hot and sticky from late morning. Plenty of sun cream and comfy shoes are a must! Also remember your camera because as well as taking photos of the site itself, the views from the top are spectacular!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    84
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Butrint is amazing! A must see!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We got a bus to Butrint from Ksamil. Buses leave on every hour from Saranda and takes 40mins along the new road, which is not quite finished yet on some parts. It's a beautiful bus journey that costs around 70 cents!
Butrint Ruins costs 6 EUR per person to enter and is a must see if you're in the South of Albania. The ruins are truely amazing and takes around 2 hours to fully see the sights and take in the breathtaking views around the site. You can even walk on the Anthitheatre. AMAZING!!!
Where to stay - Tani's Bar and Guesthouse in Ksamil!!! A family run guesthouse with basic double rooms with balcony, shower - everything you need! With a local shop downstairs with a bar and internet cafe directly below your room! Tani himself is a true legend! Speaks perfect American-English and is very welcoming! Try a local pint of draught 'Stela' lager - NOT STELLA ARTROIS!!! :D Around 1.70 EUR per pint.
An up and coming tourist destination! Get there before it gets too touristy!!! The 3 Islands in Ksamil are beautiful and the beaches fantastic!
All highly recommended!! :)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

When with Thomson day trip from corfu, Greece via boat to Albania. Did enjoy the ruins, but tour guide not needed and way too expensive for a day trip. Not much to see do over there.

Helpful?
Thank Mrsmorley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice historical place”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We traveled from Gjirokaster to Butrint. Meanwhile we stopped at the blue eye. The road to Butrint is new and some parts are still under construction. Be aware that there no good signs on your way to Butrint if you come from Gjirokaster. In a village we saw a small white sign that showed us the direction, we were lucky to see it. The park is beautiful if you are interested in history. The sign at the entrence might give you the idea that you have to walk back but that is not true, the entrence is just right there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank marga w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of history!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was one of the highlights of my two-week trip through Albania. If you go in the summer, make sure to start early before it gets too hot. And bring your camera, there's some amazing architecture that you're allowed to walk around on and pose for pictures.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nyu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butrint National Park also viewed

Saranda, Vlore County
 
Saranda, Vlore County
Gjirokaster, Gjirokaster County
 

Been to Butrint National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing