We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other place like it ...”
Review of Longbow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longbow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prim
Conway, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No other place like it ...”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Longbow Resort, rented the Sovereign cabin ... not our first choice but, because of wintery/ice/snow conditions, this was the only cabin we could get to! This cabin was no disappointment ... rockwork amazing, free standing rock shower w/waterfall is such a work of art, and we enjoyed the hot tub perched on the edge of the mountain. It was nice to drink our morning java and watch the bald eagles soar by.

One morning, Ben took us on a tour of all the cabins (we were the only ones who braved the weather conditions!) By far, the Longbow Cabin was our favorite due to its uniqueness as well as the waterfall. The frozen water formations off the surrounding cliffs added to the natural beauty. We will return and we will stay in this cabin ... which stays booked on weekends!

If you don't enjoy being away from it all (really away) and communing with nature, then this is not the place for you. We loved it. Word to the wise, tho ... bring EVERYTHING you think you will need for your stay ... it is a long and challenging drive to the cabin and, once you arrive at the cabin, you won't want to be making too many trips (if any) out and back in!!!

This is a hidden jewel in Arkansas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

To be fair, it seems as if this cabin is still under construction. We stayed at the Sovereign Cabin at Longbow Resort for 3 nights. On the good side, the cabin is unique with the rocks from the mountain coming right into the room with you. The hot tub was great. The beds are nice and there is a beautiful rock shower.The surroundings are beautiful. The owner, Ben Pearson, was a genuinely nice fellow.
On the downside, be very clear that the two bedrooms in this cabin are not actually two bedrooms but a loft area separated by a half wall. If you go with friends, make sure you are close friends. We went to Longbow with another couple to relax over the New Year's holiday. Unfortunately, Sovereign cabin does not make this easy due to the lack of furniture. There is a table with some outdoor chairs around it. That is about the extent of furniture in the living area. There is a handmade couch up in the rocks with very little cushion that provides a place to sit, but there is nowhere for four people to really sit, visit, and relax. Bring absolutely everything that you might think you would need (we forgot coffee filters and matches.) A thank you to Ben for bringing us matches and coffee filters from his house. As I said before it seems that the cabin is not finished yet and there is some construction trash around the outside of the house. Understandable, but not something you want to look at every time you walk back to the cabin. The surroundings are beautiful, but there were no maps or directions on places to go or things to see. A map of the property would have helped. No brochures, no suggested walks, no welcome book with helpful tips. Nothing. Perhaps we have been spoiled because we have stayed a variety of unique places in Arkansas where the owners have spent a lot of time thinking and anticipating what the guests might need. Here you get a cabin in the woods with no furniture, no fireplace, and no oven. For the price, there are much nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The property is impressive. The views are great and it is a GETAWAY. The only negative was the 2.5 mile (one way) trip to the cabin over very rough terrain. Yes, it gave it more personality but it slowed our arrival and departure time. Ben is a joy and very welcoming. Bushmaster needs a shower but so many wonderful reasons to stay we happily managed. Would gladly return.

Room Tip: They all look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carcpatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Below is our experience at our cabin, plus what we learned about the other 3 cabins (including a new one that is not yet on the website). I hope you find this review helpful.

We stayed here to get away from it all and enjoyed our stay very much. I have not written a review for TripAdvisor before, but benefited from everyone who has. So I decided this trip was review worthy. Ben and his family are absolutely perfect hosts. We got there after dark and he led us to our cabin; the Bushmaster. It is about a 25 minute drive from the check in point on a dirt road (in fairly good condition…although there are some rough spots). Ben helped us carry in our weekend supplies, showed us around and then left us to it.

This is not your typical resort. This is a place to get away from it all, relax and unwind. If you have to be connected to the world at all times, this is not the place. It is also not the type of resort where you have staff surrounding you and doing everything for you. It is the type of place where you are shown to your cabin, told a bit about the surrounding area and left to enjoy nature. We saw Ben and his family twice as we were driving by their house. So it is a resort to get away and relax.

The Bushmaster gives a feel like you are a part of nature. Windows all around and you are literally nestled among boulders and large rock faces. There is a stream that runs under the cabin. The deck with hammock was enjoyable. It was nice to just sit there and enjoy nature. The one thing I would have brought that I did not was eye shades. There are tons of windows but no curtains, so when the sun comes up you are up. That was no big deal, but it may have been nice to have some eye shades. Also like another reviewer stated, there is only a jetted tub and no shower. Again no problem for me, but be aware of it. We got a plastic picture from the kitchen and used it to pour over us. It worked out just fine. The cabin is a cosy two story cabin with the bathroom, kitchen, eating area and futon downstairs. Upstairs is the bedroom with a queen bed (comfy bed by-the-way), and a door to the deck. The kitchen is on the small side, but what would you expect when you have to get all of the material into this location and build it literally into nature. There is a small grill (big enough for 2-3 steaks) outside and when you fire it up, get ready for the raccoons to come check you out. They are obviously used to being fed and although we did not do it they evidently will eat out of your hand. I stood guard on my food. They were fun to watch. The downstairs gets quite cold in the winter so bring some blankets or throws to enjoy it until you can find the right balance with the heater to keep the downstairs at a decent temp but not have it blistering hot upstairs. For this reason, I am not sure we could have comfortably slept 4 people in the cabin, but it was perfect for 2. The futon also might not have been the most comfortable for the other two and there is not a whole lot of room for luggage down stairs.

We also looked at the Longbow, which is just down from the Bushmaster. It is near a waterfall (okay there is a waterfall right outside the back patio). Like the Bushmaster it is built into the rocks. With both of them (especially the Longbow), if you were hiking around the area it would be possible you would be near the cabins and not see them. They are that well built into the surrounding area. In the Longbow, one whole wall is a rock face. Very unique and very beautiful. I absolutely loved this part of the cabin. It and the waterfall (with natural pool) is what really sets this one apart from the others. The rock wall as water seeping out of it and there is a dehumidifier to help with that. The downstairs is very spacious compared to the Bushmaster, or so it seems. There is a shower in this one. The upstairs is where the bed is and the ceiling is a bit low. It is not like you will bang your head on it when you sit up, but it won't be far from it. We were torn between which one to choose and in the end glad we were in the Bushmaster. There are two reasons for this, the headroom over the bed in the Longbow and somewhat of a damp smell in the Longbow due to the water coming out of the rock wall. It was not bad, but overall very happy with the choice to go into the Bushmaster. In reality we would have been happy in either one. It it were summer time, I would possibly give the nod to the Longbow because of the access to the waterfall and swimming in its pool.

We then looked at the Bois D'Arc. It is not built into the surrounding area as much as the Longbow or Bushmaster, but Ben did take into account the rocks and landscape. It looks more like a traditional cabin inside and out. It has all of the modern touches inside. I don't know how to describe the difference accurately except to say that the other two described above are literally built into nature and more rustic, whereas this one is built to enjoy being away from it all in the woods with more of a modern/current feel. There is a shower and jetted tub (big one) and the layout is very nice. With the Longbow you are looking over a private waterfall, and with the Bushmaster you are in a private valley of boulders and rocks. With this one you are on the top of a high spot. It has a different feel that the other two…more of a cabin in the woods. We liked it but preferred the uniqueness of the other two over this one as far as ambiance goes. We liked this one for the 'modern upgrades' over the other two though. So if you are going to be a part of nature and a totally unique experience with the essentials to enjoy your stay, then go with either the Longbow or Bushmaster. If you want to spend some time away from it all in the woods with the modern conveniences in a traditional cabin atmosphere, then this is the place for you. There also seemed to be cell phone coverage at this one which was impossible to get at the other two.

Finally Ben showed us his latest cabin, which is not totally finished yet, but he is renting out occasionally. It was wonderful. It is close to the Bois D'Arc. It is also very modern with a an open floor plan. There are two sleeping areas (bed surrounded by 5 foot walls…read this as enough privacy to sleep but no more privacy than that, e.g. no noise barrier for snoring, talking, etc…you can stand up in both bed areas and see and talk to the others if they stand up as well), two bathrooms, and amazing shower and a waterfall feature inside. He is about to finish the patio area which will walk down to a hot tub (not yet installed at the time I wrote this). The hot tub will overlook the surrounding mountains. All-in-all this will be a stunning cabin. The workmanship in the cabin is fantastic and the views (at least in winter) were fantastic. It overlooked the nearby (small) mountains. Like the Bois D'Arc it has all of the modern conveniences. If I wanted a very nice cabin to stay in in the woods, this would be it…especially when the hot tub gets installed.

So with the Longbow and Bushmaster you will feel more like you are camping in the woods and at one with nature. You will have no cell phone coverage, no TV, etc. and the drive down alone will ensure you feel like you are truly getting away from it all. It is a drive deep into the woods. With the Bois D'Arc and Ben's new cabin you will feel like you are getting away from it all in a cabin in the woods. THe drive is also much easier. With all of them you are definitely out and enjoying mother nature, but with the Longbow and Bushmaster you are 'one with nature'. With the other two you are without a doubt enjoying nature though. I cannot imagine having a bad time in any of these cabins.ac

Finally, Prim is a small town with nothing other than a small town store with some essentials. If you want to get out into a bigger town then Mountain View is a nice drive about 45 minutes away. There are several places to eat (we missed out on Woods Pharmacy, which is highly recommended), but were able to pick up a few things at a Walmart there. Amazing there is a Walmart in a town of 2700, but it is the seat for the local area I guess. There is also a hospital there if you needed that. Of course like most small towns there are a lot of small shops to browse. About 15 minutes outside of Mountain View is a cavern and natural spring which we visited and enjoyed very much.

I hope this review was helpful. Again you cannot go wrong with any of the cabins, so go and enjoy. We will be back when we need to get away from it all again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Longbow is an amazing place to reconnect with nature and yourself. Very peaceful, no one around but you. The cabins are very cozy and full of unique surprises. The private waterfalls were amazing!! Only wish that the Bushmaster cabin had a shower along with the jet tub. Also the cabins are about 25 minutes from the road so make sure you have everything you want before you get back there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brandini_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Pearson family has deep roots and the extra care they have given these cabins really shines. If you are looking for seclusion and being "at one" with nature, this is the place. The hiking was awesome with mesmerizing waterfalls and plenty of room to roam. It was nice to build a fire outdoors and really reconnect. A few items (in a perfect world) I would change to enhance the place even more. It is marketed as a resort, therefore amenities like bath soap, towels, extra bedding for the pull-out futon and a few extra pillows and blankets could be included. Shopping options are slim, so maybe a few days worth of coffee in the cabin would be great. Visitors might be warned before coming, the next wet county is a least 45 minutes away. It was just a little bummer when we wanted a nice wine with our steaks grilled outdoors in the majestic beauty. (Had we known in advance, we would have been better prepared). I know this is nit-picky, but if I were the Pearsons, I would run a little cafe at the main house or in another cabin (I know... spending someone else's money :) offering blackboard breakfast and lunch and maybe even weekend dinners highlighting local foods and specialties from the area. No one would ever take their money elsewhere for meals! Believe me, you don't want to leave anyway! The local food options are very limited. Cooking in the cabin and grilling are best bets. Bring your own wine. Ha! Absolutely beautiful and unique and soooo worth the trip. We will be back. Oh - bring your own ATV if you have one. Many cool trails.

Room Tip: Every cabin is gorgeous. Be sure to understand how many each cabin sleeps comfortably so you have r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank texasgarden21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We took our grandson to Prim and stayed in the Bushmaster.We all loved it.Beautiful cabin and breathtaking scenery.The Pearsons are wonderful people.They even took the time to show us the new cabin being built.We will be returning and soon I hope.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pisces62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prim
16.4 mi away
Lindsey's Resort
Lindsey's Resort
#1 of 7 in Heber Springs
94 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
#1 of 2 in Fairfield Bay
244 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Heber Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mountain View
170 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lake and River Inn
Lake and River Inn
#7 of 7 in Heber Springs
25 reviews
19.8 mi away
Super 8 Clinton
Super 8 Clinton
#2 of 4 in Clinton
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbow

Property: Longbow
Address: Prim, AR
Location: United States > Arkansas > Prim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prim
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Longbow Arkansas/Prim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing