We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leopard Safaris Wilpattu”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilpattu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noel Rodrigo's Leopard Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

You would like to have a hot or cold shower after a thrilling fotoshoot of leopards, 'tuskers' and slot bears on an open jeep in the middle of the Sri Lankan djungle? And then a first class menu and chilled beverages that can easily compete with any top restaurant in Paris or any other European city? What about sleeping in a queen-size bed while 'camping' on the shore of a lake? No problem, we enjoyed all of this. Noel, Cecile, Sajith and their Leopard Safaris team served us with charme and passion and made our two-day adventure an unforgettable experience far out in Wilpattu national park. It was amazing to see such a great variety of different animals in an undisturbed environment, and we were really thrilled and excited to get very close to them in their natural environment, giving us the opportunity to take some really unique and unforgettable photos. We only had two days with the team in Wilpattu, but could easily have spent a week out there - and we will definitely go back to get more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

I am here is Sri Lanka visiting my brother and sister in law who both live here. They had been to Yala with this group before and booked us for 2 nights at their newest location in Wilpattu. I am not long on words.....just read most of the other posts if you want more details. It was my first safari and it far exceeded my expectations. We had seen every animal except a leopard and were afraid that we would leave without seeing one...but finally, on our second to last drive, we saw two! The crew, led by Sajith was amazing and I must say that the food was some of the best I have ever eaten...period! They better watch out or someone will steal the chef away. It was lots of fun and if I ever make it back to this part of the world, I will do another safari with this organization!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travels4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

End of March my girlfriend and me went with Noel and his team from Leopard Safaris to Wilpattu for camping. It turned out to be an unforgettable weekend, because we finally saw a slot bear! Next to the 3 leopards, crocs, dears and wonderful birds the bear was definitely the highlight of the trip. Thanks to leopard safaris for such a nice stay at a beautifull camp site and we are looking forward to the next camping adventure!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pieterbrokx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaLeopard, Owner at Noel Rodrigo's Leopard Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank applestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna-Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilpattu National Park
0.0 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 12 in Arugam Bay
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpa...
#4 of 10 in Wilpattu National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilpattu Safari Camp
Wilpattu Safari Camp
#3 of 10 in Wilpattu National Park
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Big Game Camp - Wilpattu
Big Game Camp - Wilpattu
#1 of 131 in Anuradhapura
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thimbiriwewa Ecoresort
Thimbiriwewa Ecoresort
#6 of 10 in Wilpattu National Park
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dilsara Holiday Resort
Dilsara Holiday Resort
#10 of 10 in Wilpattu National Park
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Rodrigo's Leopard Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Rodrigo's Leopard Safaris

Address: Katukeliyawa Galkadawala road, Wilpattu National Park, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Wilpattu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Wilpattu National Park
Price Range: $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one man has made his home for thirty-five years amongst the world's highest concentration of leopards in the wild. Noel Rodrigo personally guides guests into Sri Lanka's most dramatic landscapes and natural habitats for elephants, sloth bears and crocodiles as well, in the utmost comfort, thanks to his former career as a first class airline cabin manager. Setting Noel's safaris to Yala and Wilpattu National Parks apart however are not merely the Toyota jeeps customized with camera support points and powerful binoculars for every guest, nor the South African tents outfitted with king size beds, en suite bathrooms, cooling units and private decks, nor even the healthy homemade Sri Lankan cuisine and imported wines. "I don't want my guests to feel any difference," says Noel of his elite team, recognized for their expertise by leading travel agents and international publications including Robb Report, Tatler and How To Spend It. In close coordination, Noel and these equally attuned animal trackers and bird specialists lead twice-daily game drives - most see a leopard, often many -- while hornbills, kingfishers and peacocks flutter overhead. "Elephants may come to drink at the waterhole by your tent," Noel tantalizingly warns his guests of all ages, honeymooners, families and friends among them, at his well appointed camps in the Sri Lankan jungle and high upon the Knuckles Range where nature photography lessons, cooking classes and equatorial stargazing are among the additional activities on offer amidst these timeless natural surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing