We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and accomodation”
Review of Calodyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calodyne Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food and accomodation”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

the food and rooms were not good. as they give priorities to foreigners so dey dnt have any worth of Indians. the Staff is not coordinated wid each others. Except The location dere is nothing in dis resort.

Room Tip: rooms near pools are much better den others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pals0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    220
    74
    47
    33
See reviews for
144
264
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went through DPauls (Good travel agent, will recommend to others). The place is situated a bit secluded, but with low crime rates and good policing, that is not much of a problem. In February the weather is quite hot and sunburn is quite common. We got darkened skin but the fun more than made up for that.

The hotel is situated northernmost of mauritius. Mostly we got picked up last and dropped of first, except on south tour day. The hotel has a very nice pool open till 6 pm. The beach is a bit small but feels like a private beach as there are no roads expect through the two adjoining hotel properties. There is a good spa and a shop selling knick knacks which you may definitely like. The hotel also has a taxi service if you want to go out on your off days.

The vegetarian food was bland and wifey was lil disappointed but the non-veg was quite good with chicken and fish, and for the adventurous lot pork, beef, octopus and the food of the gods, squid (calamari)

The staff was very courteous. They know rudimentary hindi out of what they pick up from our films, which are a hit there, but as they normally talk in creole which is a dialect of french, the pronunciations are sometimes hard to understand. The Hotel Manager Robin is a great help and so are the rest of the crew. I remember Mr Pillai from the bar. The DJ enlivens the place in the evenings.

The hotel offers a sega dance night on saturdays and other performances also interspersed in the week. They also offer free kayaking and paddle boat rides. You can lazily lounge on the beach chairs or by the pool (do use sunscreen of a good SPF)

Don't be bothered by the bad reviews because they are mostly from the south african whites, who are a hard lot to satisfy. Many Indian couples as well as French couples would vouch that apart from the bland veg food, rest is good and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Pool or Sea, preferably 1st floor for better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sourabh_Dhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

"Excellent treatment"
We booked this hotel for our weeklong stay And it is a unique little gem, really.
We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs. Price-wise Calodyne sur mer is on par with these better-class hotels. But the only thing which was not upto mark was food..
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.Hotel manager robin is very helpful.Calodyne sure mer is perfect place to relax and highly recommended for couples...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky_capricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canacona, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa for our honeymoon and we were really happy with the hotel. The hotel is well maintained with a big pool and lounge chairs around the pool and on its beach. The rooms were clean n tidy. The bar was good with good choices of drinks....Only one restaurant though but was nice. The hotel had free activities like pedal boats, kayaks, glass bottom boat ride etc. Its a bit far to travel fr excursions but it really isntt bother...the surroundings were calm n serene. The manager Mr. Robin was friendly and eager to help us out.. DJ Mr. Dennis made us dance to lovely music every night. One night they had a group of sega dancers which was real fun....overall the hotel was really good and worth the stay. Its peaceful and recommended for someone looking for a quiet relaxed holiday.....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin14385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Calodyne sur mer is a very neatly maintained hotel with some really gud staff members.We once told them that food being given was boring and tasteless.So the staff immediately reacted to this and cooked our country specific cusine.Calodyne has some amazing activities which are free of cost like boating, kayak,sega nights,TT,badminton,Henna tattoos and varoius others.We totally enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a very hard review to write for me. On the one hand we've had a horrible first couple of days here, and on the other hand - the staff really tried their best to better the situation for us.
Our 2 week holiday was arranged through Travel Zone (which I wont recommend using).
Arriving on the night of 21/12/2013 - after travelling from South Africa with 2kids , aged 11 and 2 - (who was tired by this time), we were told to follow the path to the restaurant. The restaurant was hosting a wedding reception! We got a couple of looks sitting down before we realised we were gate-crashing a wedding. There wasnt really food for us so we each had a small bun and piece of meat. We quickly ate and went to the room. We stayed in a 2-bedroom family unit upstairs, nr 201. My husband was on crutches as he had broken his leg in October '13. We couldnt take a shower as there was no warm-water pressure.
Next morning we reported the problem and maintenance started working on the pipes - for 3 days! By the end of day 1 we had NO water. We had to go and shower in a different unit. Meaning my husband on crtuches up and down stairs, my kids with toiletries and clean clothes up and down.The kids shared a room - 2 single beds. The beds werent the same or even the same height. By the one was an electrical socket right next to her face on the wall and the other had a wooden corner shelf which went over the bed - meaning she kept bumping her head a night. It's not as clean as one whould hope. The bathroom had a shower and basin. The hairdryer is so old and dusty when I took it down the whole casing came off with it and live electrical wires were exposed. A serious risk of shock, especially in the bathroom. Only 2 towels were provided and when I requested more abth towels and face cloths the lady couldnt understand why we needed more towels, and they dont have faceclothes or face towels! Towels are all different, some newer than others, some with more stains than others. The bedrooms arent cosy or comfortable. The matrasses are in serious need of replacement, pillows as well. 2 flat pillows in one pillowcase is not comfortable. Closet space is very limited - one set of shelves and one small hanging space. The doors usually part-open against the bedside table. The aircons are in working order which one wouldnt be able to do without!
Our room went for a couple of days without being attended too as the housekeeper sometimes only came in the afternoon. Usually when the kids had a nap and she couldnt enter. Bu 16:00 in the afternoon after you went out for the day or had spend time on the beach you would like to return to a clean room.
The food is not good. It is very bland and the menu is repetative. The chef did try something else for Christmas and New years eve.
There was loads of flies in the restaurant area, on the tables, on the cutlery, by the food station, on the food. The restaurant has a stunning ocean view!
Numerous fights with our travel agent who said this was a 3* facility, we decided to go to a different establishment. Unfortunately that thime of year of 6 people its an almost impossible task as all hotels were fully booked or extrememly expensive.
Again, Ronnie who is the front office manager, tried to assist and accommodate us where he could.
Eventually we were moved into unit 215 - top floor again, but a 3 bedroom unit, overlooking the beach and ocean. (Unfortunately at night also the dance-area by the restaurant.) Because of the view we ignored the music and noise at night.
This unit - sleeping 5 - has a small kitchen - but only utencils are 2 tea cups and saucers, 2 glasses and 1 tea spoon. One bathroom with only a shower and 1 seperate toilet.
The colour scheme / interior is horrible! The first unit had everything in pink and blue, second unit was beter with pink and yellow.
The beach is very small! The one picture you see on the website of the beach IS the beach. There is no local or cultural events every evening as advertised. They do however have a Dj/entertainer who is really trying to entertain one and all. There was 1 night of sega dancers and 1 night of fire dancers. Everynight is pretty much the same.
There is very limited water sport on offer - actually there was couple of cano's. Right next door at Zilwa Attitide was a beehive of activity, cano's, glass bottom boat, kite surfing, catamaran, peddle boats etc.
There is no waiters to bring drinks or food to you on the beach, no room service either. We bought the "all inclusive" package and had a choice between 4 cocktails, local beer and rum from 10am-10pm. The 1 cocktail also tasted and looked different everytime with a different barman. Only barman on duty at all times. Waiters arent all very helful and some cant communicate in english either.
This hotel is far from all activities and is expensive to hire a taxi all the time. The local bus service is not close, alhough within walking distance - but we were warned to rather not walk outside the hotel as there was "dodgy" people and stray dogs that might be aggressive.
No tours or excursions are arranged from this hotel.
Sateliite TV is a joke! About 5 channels to watch, all in french. CNN is the only one in english. DSTV satellite is only on 1 tv set in the bar-area.
The kids-club is almost non existant. Ver limited play area far away from everyone, not safe to leave your kids alone there.
Bottled water you pay for - MR60. Water in glass is for free.
Wifi available only by the reception and bar area - and only a couple of devices are allowed on at any time. Dont count on getting onto wifi often.
Pool area is beautiful and clean. Nice chairs to lounge in by the pool. Hotel is not bad looking from outside. Little things eg paint, better decor, better service, maintenance and repairs are seriously lacking. And these things can make a huge difference on your experience there.
Ivano is a consultant trying to rectify problems and listening to customer complaints, it seems like he is making a difference overall. He listened to our complaints and concerns and he is addressing is. The problem is that there is only 1 manager, poor Ronnie - front office to housekeeping to repairs. He does evertyhing!! No general manager / owner ever anywhere.
There is much better establishments in Mauritius - right next door to start off with. I was even asked by an employee why we stayed there as they usually only catered for locals and wasnt use to international tavellers. The hotel was quite full and this brought to that the lack of staff members and lack of training couldnt handle the volumes of people with complaints and problems.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ronnie and Ivano especially came to see us off when we left, they were brilliant. The rest not so much.

Room Tip: Room 215 - right on the beach has a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AnT0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calodyne hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were travelling with our 6 year old son, and we had a great time there. The resort is spread out, with rooms facing either the lawns or the pool. A very cosy place with hospitable staff. Decent food. Very neat and clean and spacious rooms and bath, with a small private sit out. The beach is right there and you can swim and do water sports. The transfers to Grand Baie, where all the shopping and pubs / restaurants are about 10 - 12 Euros. Overall a good experience for a 3 start hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam_Meetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calodyne
0.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,538 reviews
4.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,371 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
Casa Florida Hotel
Casa Florida Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pereybere
152 reviews
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calodyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calodyne Hotel

Property: Calodyne Hotel
Address: Mirabelle Ave, Coastal Road, Calodyne, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Calodyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Calodyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calodyne Sur Mer Hotel Grand Gaube
Calodyne Sur Mer Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing