We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Deefer Diving Carriacou
from $38.47
More Info
from $179.57
More Info
from $128.21
More Info
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
156
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop top notch night dive first class beautiful dive sites fun dives don t miss anyone who wants advanced open water certification laid back gary instructor team safety caribbean reef wreck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 159 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2019

I just got back and wanted to commend Deefer Diving on an excellent two tank dive I had with them 1st week of October. 1st dive was on a reef. My dive escort was Katlynd. Although I don't dive very often I'm no beginner either. Matt took care of the professional diving journalists that were on the same dive while Katlynd attended to me. She went over a few details to see where I was on my diving skills. Once I was comfortable we went in. I had a bit of trouble equalizing my ears, but she was very patient. Once that was out of the way there were fantastic coral and fish that I captured on my GoPro, including Barracuba and Puffer fish, shark and many other colorful fish I don't know the names of. We then went back onto their clean & freshly painted boat to shore for lunch. The staff was great, talked about what we saw and what to expect for the next dive. About 1 1/2 hours later we headed to Mabouya island for a wreck dive and more coral reef. Again, excellent scenery and attention to detail on behalf of Katlynd. Notable mentions also go out to Matt and Karen. Great diving with you guys. Want to come back.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Did my open water certification with these guys and also did my advanced open water and DiveMaster certifications. The team is wonderful, they felt like family after diving with them. They’re keen to support and advise and they’re great fun to learn with. I’d highly recommend them to beginner dives and more experienced divers travelling through Carriacou & the Grenadines. Gorgeous dive shop and amazing dive sites

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Owner at Deefer Diving Carriacou, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2020

Thanks for the review Sarah... Get you head back into your studies and we'll see you back here again next summer for some more splash-tastic experiences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

This was my first time diving and it was absolutely incredible!! The crew were awesome and so much fun to be around
We saw so much marine life and visited some amazing dive spots.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank travellinggirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Manager at Deefer Diving Carriacou, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2020

We do love it when we can introduce people for the first time to our aquatic world. The look on your face when we come back to the surface blows us away every time. Thanks also for the great feedback, and we all look forward to diving with you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

My husband and I heard about the amazing scuba diving and snorkeling on Carriacou, so we booked with Deefer Diving. Karen, the office manager, was so prompt and helpful with her responses while we emailed about the dive. Gary, the owner, was a hilarious, optimistic, professional with whom I felt completely comfortable diving. Alex, Gary's wife, was a sweet, intelligent, professional who clearly cared about her clients and their experience by constantly checking in with us above and below water.

The dive shop was clean and well-managed. I especially loved the chill in-house pets named "Brown Dog", "Rat Dog", and "Prince Harry: The Ginger Cat". The shop offered scuba and snorkeling gear, t-shirts, and abundant information on ocean conservation. The shop provided everything for the dive including: wet suit, mask, fins, and scuba gear.

I tend to get nervous before diving, and as this was only my second time diving, I wanted to make sure I felt comfortable and in a good state of mind. Before the dive, Gary went over the safety presentation and answered every single question I could think of about diving. Gary clearly is a dive master and knows everything there is to diving and making sure his clients are safe.

On the dive, my mask kept filling up with water while I descended underwater. Unable to clear it, I began to panic. I had to come back up with Gary and my husband a total of four times. I was so embarrassed and thought I was not going to be able to pull myself together and dive. After exchanging masks with my husband, I was able to go underwater and have the best dive of my life!

I can honestly say that if Gary had not been so calm, reassuring, and positive while I continually freaked out about the water in my mask, I would not have been able to confidently go under water. Once under water, he continually checked on me and my husband and ensured a pleasant and safe dive. I felt 100% safe and at ease while huge schools of fish swam before me and hid under rocks. We saw huge lobsters, iridescent coral, star fish, and so much more.

The experience truly made the trip on Carriacou. Do not miss out diving with Gary and Alex and their team.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Kaitlyn-Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Owner at Deefer Diving Carriacou, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hi Kaitlin,

Thank you for this fantastic review of your experience doing a try dive with us and I am thrilled that you both enjoyed your time with me and our team so much. I'm proud of the guys and gals I work with and also still completely in love with diving and sharing that experience with new divers. My only wish is that I got more time with you, and perhaps had the opportunity to get you through your Open Water course.... next time huh?

Gary and the Deefer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

I had been certified for one week when I wandered onto the porch at Deefer Diving. I could not have asked for a better first dive trip experience. It starts with Karen who patiently exchanged numerous emails with me to set up not only diving, but accommodations and transportation. Once I arrived, I was family. It was that simple. I was new to diving and had never been to the island before and no one cared. I was so impressed by how comfortable they made me. I especially want to thank Hannah and Andre who had the dubious experience of being the guides on my dives. The two of them, Dean, Cecile and Gary all did such a great job of making sure that all the divers on the boat....me (a novice), a man getting his advanced open water certification and a couple who have 45 years experience....had uniquely satisfying experiences. After a great night dive a couple of us even went out to dinner with Gary and his wife! If you’re headed to Grenada, contact Deefer Diving to explore diving in Carriacou.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank robynleighmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Owner at Deefer Diving Carriacou, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Hi Robyn,

Thank you for your fantastic review and I am so happy that you enjoyed your Deefer family experience. After all these years I am still thrilled to be able to call Carriacou home and diving my job (job? really? getting paid for this?) and meeting people like you makes it all really worthwhile. I'm so very proud of our team at Deefer and think that each and every one of them is special in the way they care for all our guests... We look forward to being able to dive with you again soon

Team Deefer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews