We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the Mapa Lake View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
Ranked #1 of 1 Songan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Skip the Mapa Lake View!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Pro: only 15min by walk to the hotsprings.

Cons: untidy, no wireless, noisy (thin walls and windows) and really overpriced!

Remark: you have to pay cash and if you don't pay in rupees you will be charged more than the original price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ninabuffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Quiet and peaceful place to refresh. Very private. Hot Bali coffee and tea for welcome drink was perfect after a long drive from Denpasar. Beautiful view of lake and hill from your bed. You can have a nice stroll a long the surrounding areas to see local horticultural farm. Thanks to Pak Made and Tania for your nice hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idaastarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Really nice place located at the foot of Mount Batur! Woke up at 4am to start climbing Mount Batur! The owner, Made Jack, is very polite and kind! Very good place to stay if you want to feel close to farms, plantations and awesome scenery of the volcanoes surrounding the area! Definitely will go again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Perfect location if you're planning on climbing Mt Batur, this "2-rooms house" is also wonderful if you're want to get a break from the crowded areas of Bali. Very friendly personnel and comfortable room, you can basically arrange almost everything with the owner who will help you have the nicest stay possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiflar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabire, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our family with two teen girls just stayed a couple nights at Mapa. We loved the fascinating, cultural farming town by Lake Batur. Mapa Lake View Bungalow was clean and comfortable; we loved the quiet stay and nice relaxing area in front of our rooms overlooking the beautiful lake. We enjoyed the early morning hike up Batur Volcano, with a gorgeous mountain top view of the surrounding areas and sun rise. We enjoyed several walks around the village as well and just relaxing at the bungalow. Made Jack was very hospitable to us and made us feel at home. Thank you for the great time!

Room Tip: We rented a Katana jeep and travelled north from kuta for a few days. The Lake Batur area was wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mapa Lake View is a remote hotel in Songan, locked between Mount Batur and the lake. The best thing about Mapa Lake View is its owner, Made, who is very kind and an excellent cook. We had lunch and dinner here before climbing Mount Batur the next day at 4am. For lunch, we had one of the best Mie Goreng of our 3-week trip around Bali and Lombok. For Dinner, Made cooked us the typical fish from the lake, grilled on the BBQ.

The room we had was spartan: 2 twin beds, no bedside table, limited lighting, and decoration. The room would be a lot lovelier/cosier with a bit more decoration and furniture.

Overall, I strongly recommend going there if you want to climb Mount Batur.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC2KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just loved out stay here and regretted it was only for one night. Jack is a great host and is really interested to learn more about his guests. We were greated enthusiastically when we arrived and were not disappointed in our room ( very clean ). We booked the roon with the twin beds and were happy as they were really pretty comfortable. The view from the room is breathtaking the propery is not in the tourist area and you are surrounded by Volcanic mountains and the lake. Jack organised our treck to Mt Batur and spent time explaing this to us which was great as we didnt have to negotiate and based on the cpmplaints of other treckers we met at the top we felt Jack had looked after us. We visited the Hot springs which are only a five minute drive and this was a lovely way to spend the afternoon. Jack cooked us delish fish for dinner and also great pancakes when we returned from the treck. We alos discovered the joy of ginger tea and wer not able to find a brew like jacks anywhere else. Thanks Jack and we hope to visit you agian next year. Jack organised our transport to and from via his nephew Nyoman and I also recommend this as it is not located in the main tourist area. We were very happy with the drivers.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms one with a queen bed and one with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMELB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Songan
3.6 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
271 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Lava Hostel
Black Lava Hostel
#1 of 21 in Bangli
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Batur Mountain View
Batur Mountain View
#3 of 12 in Kintamani
102 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kintamani
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bali Sunrise Villas & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapa Lake View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapa Lake View Bungalow

Property: Mapa Lake View Bungalow
Address: Jln. Raya Songan - Toya Bungkah | Br. Dalem, Desa Songan, Songan, Kintamani 80652, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Bangli > Kintamani > Songan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Songan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mapa bungalow is the only one accommodation at Songan Village, Kintamani, Bali. Located at the foot of volcano Batur and just 10 minutes walk from hot springs. It’s great place to start trekking to Batur volcano for the sunrise and for relax of your body and soul. Bungalow with 2 rooms: one - two single beds, second - one super king size bed. Clean and bright rooms with a small terrace and wonderful views of Lake Batur, caldera, Mount Abang and farm plantations. Each room have bathroom with a bathtub, hot water and view of Batur volcano. Also we have transport service and trekking to Batur volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mapa Lake View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing