We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely hosts”
Review of Magdalen House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Methwold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magdalen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Methwold B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely place, lovely hosts”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Lorna and Keith generously accommodated us on our second night of our 10-day coast to coast bike ride, from Great Yarmouth to Aberystwyth, for Macmillan cancer support. Beautiful home, wonderful location and fabulous rooms. Thank you so much for your hospitality and superb breakfast, it set us up for our 39.4 mile ride to Cambridge. All the best for future ventures x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just spent a very relaxing Saturday night/Sunday morning in 'Next Door' the self contained apartment. Very well appointed and an exceptionally comfortable bed. Highly recommended as a base for exploring this part of Norfolk. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's a little tucked away down a private road so use your sat nav and it will get you there. It's very quite and ample parking. Most places you would want to get to I.E. Bury St Edmunds, the coast etc is no more than one hour away what ever your looking for. Not much in the village for dining the nearest decent pub for food is about a ten minute drive (the green man) otherwise you will need to drive further to get something decent to eat. Unless your renting the self contained part of the house aptly named (next door) in which case you can cook for yourself. The breakfast menu in the B&b side of the house (yes menu ) is fantastic and the quality and quantity is great. The hosts are lovely friendly people and very accommodating. The B&B part is lovely, the bedroom is a good size with a t.v you have your own little lounge area with tea and coffee facilities, lots of books to read if you want, or watch T.V in there. The bathroom is large separate shower and bath. And you are in a little wing of the house on your own and very private. The furnishings and decoration is very attractive and the house is lovely and warm. All in all very comfortable and friendly. Cost per night for two people is average, so if your looking for somewhere in the countryside it's a great place to book.

Room Tip: If there is more than two of you think about booking the self contained unit called next door. As th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

At the end of a private road is a fascinating and lovely house. Keith and Lorna are the friendliest of hosts and make you feel more than welcome. We had a little wing of our own comprising pretty bedroom with very comfortable bed, views over fields and tv, large bathroom with huge bath and super separate shower, plus a sitting room (known as the Library) with larger flatscreen tv, large comfy chair and chaise longue. Excellent.
Breakfast was amazing! This is a gem of a place and far too reasonably priced in our view. Recommend anyone to try it. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magdalen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalen House

Property: Magdalen House
Address: 18 Buntings Lane, Methwold IP26 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Methwold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Methwold
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magdalen House built in 1829 is a secluded B and B with 1 room for singles or doubles situated in a private corridor of the house with its own bathroom. An ideal retreat close to the North Norfolk coast and towns like Norwich and Cambridge, with Bird watching, fishing and Carriage rides all easily available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing