We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house and grounds. House well equipped.”
other travelers have booked this property
The house bathed in Spring sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house bathed in Spring sunshine
Georgian exterior - 21st century living in glorious gardens Croquet in the Walled Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The house bathed in Spring sunshine
Georgian exterior - 21st century living in glorious gardens
Croquet in the Walled Garden
Vicarage House from the front lawn
The swimming pool at Vicarage House
Swim in the pool with your party of friends - no sharing or being overlooked
The house sits happily in its six acres of gardens and grounds
Play tennis on the private court in the garden
Large contemporary kitchen, designer crockery - fab breakfasts to be enjoyed
Gather with family & friends for pre-dinner drinks or post-dinner coffees in drawing room
Dine elegantly with 14 friends with fine wines and delicious food
Breakfast or lunch on the sunny terrace overlooking the rose-filled parterre
Mid-morning coffee by the swimming pool while children and friends splash around
Games room with table tennis and many games - chose your game and let battle commence!
Red guest bedroom with ensuite (one of 9) - sleep blissfully on pocket sprung superkings or singles
Butterfly bedroom suite (two of 9) - superking or singles for a good night's sleep
Teal bedroom (three of 9), rest easy on a super king pocket-sprung bed
Tulip bedroom (six of 9) - superkings or singles with french windows opening onto the New Garden
Contemporary living in the Pool House - relax after a swim with the papers
The Walled Garden looking back towards the house and Pool House
Party time at Vicarage House!  Marquees and weddings by special arrangement
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Great Hockham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Global301...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and grounds. House well equipped.”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location. Safe grounds and the house was very comfortable and well equipped. Within walking distance of local pub. However, recommend the Red Lion in Caston. Go Ape was perfect for a family day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thank you so much! We loved having your family to stay - you were the perfect guests from booking onwards. So happy you made the most of all which goes on in the area including two visits to Go Ape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebrook201...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Dream House”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

As a family of 15 with a range of ages and all with different wants and needs, this holiday home certainly did not disappoint! We call it our dream house as it has everything you could ask for; from comfortable living to fun entertainment. You will be welcomed to this beautiful holiday home with a friendly smile and we can assure you it won't be a getaway that you will forget. We are already longing to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delia G
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this beautifully appointed, stunning house for a joint family celebration at the end of Sept 2016. The house caters perfectly for socialising, from a very large kitchen that has everything you could need (and much more), comfy lounges with open-fires, a well-equipped games room (this was one of the highlights for our family!), activities such as tennis, cycles, BBQs and a heated pool (another highlight!). The location is perfect - easy to reach, well located for coastal trips, long walks in the countryside...

Katie is incredibly helpful and thoughtful, with lots of information on how to make the most of your stay. The team prepared the house for our stay and couldn't have been more helpful.

I would thoroughly recommend Vicarage House Everything you see on the website and photographs is exactly what you get, but they don't cover the quality and attention to detail that makes this beautiful house a perfect place to stay. We loved our stay and we will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Insect bites
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Dear Linda
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The team will be thrilled you found the house to your satisfaction. Thank you for selecting Vicarage House. Best wishes Katie and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark D
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mark68”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week on a family holiday. My fiancees mum and dad were celebrating their 60th birthdays with another 12 of us on how. The main house was amazing, everything was just perfect. It's exactly as advertised but breathtaking nevertheless. The pool house was equally impressive and the pool, tennis etc was perfect for us adults and 6 children. If your looking for extra special then this is the place to go. And a wee word about the house manager and the other staff. Friendly, warm welcome and at the end of a phone if you had any problems. Unforgettable holiday we will all cherish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
We are so happy you were happy at Vicarage House and the place made your family gathering that bit more special. Thank you for selecting the house and thank you for your praise of the team. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenh40...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Venue to Celebrate”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

First class venue, location, facilities and delightful owners. We went with friends and children to celebrate my wife’s 40th Birthday over a long weekend. We took advantage of the catering provided by Jake Wetherill (@Florentina) to provide a fantastic lunch on the Sunday whilst the house keeper Jo entertained the Children in the games room. We will be back!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
We are thrilled you had a good time. You and your friends were charming guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Katie & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great family holiday”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at the Vicarage & Pool House. There were 15 of us ranging from age 1 to 75 and there was ample space for all of us as well as plenty of activities on site to keep us busy from swimming to croquet, table tennis and bikes to explore the area. The facilities inside the houses were excellent and we loved the range of DVDs on offer to finish off a busy day. The house-keeper was brilliant and made sure that we had everything we needed - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you from all of us and we hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and facilities
Liked least: Dead Flies in the pool house!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing