We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge - more than we expected”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge - more than we expected”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I'd agree with most of the compliments recent travelers have given the lodge. My husband, daughter, 5 year old grandchild and I spent two nights in a double queen. We brought an air mattress for the little one to sleep on and there was plenty of room to keep it set up the entire time. Our balcony was great entertainment for all as we frequently saw deer near the lodge. Take care in driving the highways as deer can dart in front of automobiles. Breakfast was wonderful, but dinner was a bit disappointing. We ordered the chicken signature dish (OK), potato soup (very salty) and blackened catfish (entirely too seasoned). We are from Louisiana and this just doesn't taste anything like the good " blackened" fish we are accustomed to eating. The pool was really great. We also enjoyed using several of the common area lodge spaces when the weather stormy. During nice weather, which was most of the time, we enjoyed the beautiful outdoor patios and walkways. The drive from Paris is only 16 miles but it seemed like 50 when we drove it at night. I don't enjoy curvy roads much during daylight, but nighttime curves are really not for me! I'd return and think it would be particularly pretty during the fall.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnn70820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    101
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
119
222
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I spent an amazing two nights at the Lodge. Our expectations were not exceptionally high since this is a state park, but we were blown away! The Lodge is absolutely beautiful and should be called a resort. The lobby is huge and rustic, the rooms are huge and very nicely furnished with thick, large towels, a mini fridge, an in-room safe, beverage bar, rustic décor, and a view that is absolutely beautiful. Every room has a beautiful view and a balcony. We were happy on the second floor, but heard the third floor rooms have vaulted ceilings so I would recommend requesting one. These rooms were the most sound-proof hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. There is an indoor heated pool and a hot tub that is great for an after-hike soak. The restaurant is great, with beautiful views and a friendly staff. The food is very good (best chicken quesadilla we'd ever had and even the steak was delicious.) Prices are very reasonable, so we ate every meal there. You can place all your expenses on a room card and pay when you check out. There is hang-gliding and rock-climbing available on premises, and horse and ATV trails nearby. We ventured on a ten-mile hike, and walked from our room and back. The hiking trails are beautiful, especially the one between the Lodge and the Visitors' Center. Rocking chairs are available on the back of the Lodge for enjoying the view. Once we got to the Lodge, we never left. One of our favorite weekends.

Room Tip: Top floors have vaulted ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dailywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Mt. Magazine is the highest peak in Arkansas, and this lodge is perched atop it. The views alone are worth the price. We booked a room in the lodge, which was spacious and comfortable. Clean, clean, clean! I believe all rooms have balconies. There are also cabins you can book here, although I hear they can be pricey. The restaurant offered a somewhat limited menu, but the food was excellent. Since the lodge is located in a "dry" county, there is no open bar. You can bring your own, and they will serve it to you. This is a perfect weekend getaway for couples, although I saw families there as well. There are lovely hiking trails. I hope to go back when I can spend a bit more time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful anniversary trip here! We loved the view! All staff members were kind and helpful. We enjoyed walking and relaxation! The only tip I have...the towns around were not all equal as far as things to do. I'd stick to the wineries or aux arc for fun! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momofmmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped at The Lodge to check it out and ended up checking in! We wanted a one bedroom cabin but there were none available so we had to settle for a two bedroom, two bath cabin for the two us! The way the cabins are situated, you have privacy from the other cabins. The deck and the hot tub was wonderful and relaxing! The cabin was simply amazing and the views from anywhere atop the mountain are even better. Everything about this place is wonderful! Oh, one "complaint" that will also be a suggestion. Our cabin had LOTS of flies. No fly swatter! You might want to make a fly swatter an amenity in each cabin! Other than that, we LOVED our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACsmartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stopped overnight on a motorcycle trip. Lots of great hiking choices. Mountain vistas from comfortable dining room. Every room in the lodge with balcony view! This would be a fantastic place for a multi-day relax. Think retreat .. recuperate .. decompress .. with wife. If this were closer to home, I'd be a regular.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a wonderful surprise. I enjoyed the solitude in a beautiful cabin on top of the highest mountain in Arkansas. The cabin was a 3 bedroom with 3 private baths, totally wheelchair accessible. Sitting on the deck and enjoying the incredible moon of the summer solstice was more than I expected to see in this lovely state park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarksville
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksville
Hampton Inn Clarksville
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
283 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Sherwood Inn
Best Western Sherwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clarksville
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Clarksville
59 reviews
25.0 mi away
Ozark Inn & Suites
Ozark Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Ozark
26 reviews
22.5 mi away
Super 8 Clarksville AR
Super 8 Clarksville AR
#6 of 7 in Clarksville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Magazine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Magazine

Property: The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Address: Lodge Drive, 16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855
Location: United States > Arkansas > Paris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lodge at Mount Magazine. Overlooking the Petit Jean River Valley and Blue Mountain Lake, this resort mountain lodge offers 60 guest rooms with breathtaking views of the valley below. Gracing the south bluff of Arkansas's high point, the Lodge at Mount Magazine is one of the finest Arkansas lodges and offers some of the most breathtaking scenery in The Natural State. With its sweeping views of the Petit Jean River Valley and distant Blue Mountain Lake, lodging in this mountaintop resort combines a majestic natural setting with first-class amenities. The modern, rustic-style lodge offers 60 guest rooms, a hearth room lobby, delicious classic Southern cuisine in the Skycrest Restaurant, a conference center, business center, indoor swimming pool, fitness center, and gift shop, making this one of the most well-appointed Arkansas lodges. The three-wing lodge stretches along the bluff so that the hearth room, restaurant, swimming pool, and all 60 guest rooms offer the view from the bluff. This is a getaway for couples. It's for families and friends to share together, too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Hotel Paris
Hotel At Mount Magazine
At Mount Magazine Paris
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Arkansas/Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing