We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to the restaurant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A trip to the restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch at the restaurant; it has a very pleasant atmosphere. I love fireplaces and they have a grand one right in the restaurant. The lunch buffet was good quality food. The staff was friendly but perhaps a bit unprofessional. Our waiter didn't take our menus after we ordered, spilt some of my coke on the table and didn't attempt to clean any of it up and just made us feel a bit rushed to leave. On the right day I'm sure you will get an excellent dining experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjerminw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADPT-Region-5, ADPT - Region 5 Administrative Specialist III at The Lodge at Mount Magazine, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding Mount Magazine State Park. The Skycrest Restaurant features a two-story fireplace and large windows framing sweeping view of the Petit Jean River Valley from the mountain's bluff, where a menu of Southern classic cuisine served daily.
Please accept our apology for the unprofessionalism of the staff; genuine comments from our guests provides us the opportunity focus our training efforts. In addition, we would like to thank you for the complements about staff friendliness and food quality. Thank you again for posting your review; your comments support our continual efforts to improve our service to visitors. We sincerely hope you will consider another visit to Skycrest Restaurant in the Lodge at Mount Magazine State Park; with your love for fireplaces, a visit to The Lodge’s spacious hearth room is essential. It features an additional two-story fireplace and same breathtaking view from the mountain's bluff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    101
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
119
222
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg
Level Contributor
273 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We has a huge suite on the top the 3rd floor. The rooms were very nice except for the odd looking & tiny shower tube! 2 balconies, king size bed & kitchenette. Views are great! Loved watching the birds soar on the airstreams. At twilight we saw a beautiful pair of whitetail deers.
Food we had were both good & plentiful. We split both meals & didn't go away hungry. If your coming here for the nightclub scene your missing the point of this lodge!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

First of all I read many reviews of this place before booking our stay and will the vast majority were very positive, the same was not always true for the Sky Crest restaurant on the property. I will deal with the restaurant in a separate review. I have to say that this is really a place that you go to for the privacy and views. It is magical with a panoramic view of Petit Jean valley that is spectacular! No pictures can do it justice. With that in mind the place is a state park run lodge and definitely has that tasteful "lodge" feel. There is a huge main reception area with stone fireplace that is repeated in the Skycrest restaurant. You won’t necessarily have the amenities the a similar commercial property might suggest such as room service and provided robes but you do get a microwave equipped kitchenette and with small refrigerator and a hair dryer is included in the room with satellite TV in both rooms of the suite. Also the rates are certainly better than what you would pay for a similar commercial property so there is a trade-off. From what I gather this is a favorite weekend getaway for many in the region. This place was new in 2006 so the rooms are nice and all face the valley. No bad views in the place! I opted to stay in the King Suite and it was HUGE! A large sitting area and equally large bedroom with large whirlpool tub. The King suite had two balconies one off the living area and one off the bedroom. Here are some other details:
Kid Friendly: Yes, but keep in mind you have to like nature and outdoors since this is no amusement park.
Couple Friendly: Definitely the view and seclusion and amenities make that obvious.
Social and Business meetings: Yes facilities are available for meetings if required. This would make for a great small business getaway. Also could be great for social gatherings but check with the lodge for details.
Camping and Hiking: Great! We traveled several trails during our stay and had spectacular views of the valley along the way.
Would I go back? Yes, in fact I have booked a trip for late July.

Room Tip: The top floor king suites have valuted ceilings and two balconies and very reasonable. Separate clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed in both the lodge and one of the cabins. This is a great place to enjoy the beauty of Arkansas. They have an indoor pool and the views are georgous! You can do lots of scenic hiking as well as driving around. I grew up in the area and still love to go back and relax here. If you are traveling here to find things to do, then you are missing the point. Bring your hiking boots, camera, and books and enjoy the peace and quiet!

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a little extra get one with a balcony. It's so nice to be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family stayed here for a couple of days during spring break. The rooms are spacious and clean, with wonderful views of the rolling hills of Arkansas. Hiking trails are close by and well marked. As we where here on a rainy day, the indoor pool was a welcome diversion for our 10 and 7 year old girls. The lobbies have massive fireplaces, which came in handy on cool spring days. The food at the restaurant was about what you would expect for central Arkansas: not terrible but not gourmet. The nearest towns are a good 20-30 minute drive away, so if you are looking for a remote and more secluded stop, this is the place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very nice hotel. We went there on Thanks giving weekend, so weather was little bit chilly. The View from the room was mismerizing. Its a good place to go if planning a short vacation. Literally enjoyed the scenic drive. Rooms are huge and very comfortable. Food was ok too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunPeople4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in a room, but I wish we could. My husband surprised me with a side trip to the Lodge on our way from Texas to Missouri. It was a beautiful drive up the mountain and the view from the lodge was spectacular. We have travel to several Arkansas State parks, but this one tops the list.
The restaurant was well staffed with friendly servers and hostesses. The prices were fantastic. Full meals for around ten dollars. Alcohol was available with a free "club" membership.
Hiking was easy to the highest point in Arkansas using the trail across from cabin 5.
I want to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizzlyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarksville
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksville
Hampton Inn Clarksville
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
283 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Sherwood Inn
Best Western Sherwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clarksville
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Clarksville
59 reviews
25.0 mi away
Ozark Inn & Suites
Ozark Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Ozark
26 reviews
22.5 mi away
Super 8 Clarksville AR
Super 8 Clarksville AR
#6 of 7 in Clarksville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Magazine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Magazine

Property: The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Address: Lodge Drive, 16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855
Location: United States > Arkansas > Paris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lodge at Mount Magazine. Overlooking the Petit Jean River Valley and Blue Mountain Lake, this resort mountain lodge offers 60 guest rooms with breathtaking views of the valley below. Gracing the south bluff of Arkansas's high point, the Lodge at Mount Magazine is one of the finest Arkansas lodges and offers some of the most breathtaking scenery in The Natural State. With its sweeping views of the Petit Jean River Valley and distant Blue Mountain Lake, lodging in this mountaintop resort combines a majestic natural setting with first-class amenities. The modern, rustic-style lodge offers 60 guest rooms, a hearth room lobby, delicious classic Southern cuisine in the Skycrest Restaurant, a conference center, business center, indoor swimming pool, fitness center, and gift shop, making this one of the most well-appointed Arkansas lodges. The three-wing lodge stretches along the bluff so that the hearth room, restaurant, swimming pool, and all 60 guest rooms offer the view from the bluff. This is a getaway for couples. It's for families and friends to share together, too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Hotel Paris
Hotel At Mount Magazine
At Mount Magazine Paris
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Arkansas/Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing