We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Lodge”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the Lodge”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed from April 17-20, 2008 at the lodge. The rooms and the lodge are beautiful. I thought the food was good. We ate dinner once, breakfast everyday and lunch once. I had fried catfish and it was good and they gave me plenty. I thought breakfast was great everyday. The employees at the lodge are so nice.

  • Liked — The location and the view.
  • Disliked — It was far from any other towns
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    104
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
124
225
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We were at the Lodge for Easter Sunday and after that first day we wanted to stay another night, unfortunately they were completely booked. The rooms, furnishings and staff are all first class. There is no way to describe the views---and every room has a view.
Yes, the AC/Heating system is very strange but finally worked itself out.
The restaurant food was good but not great, Sunday they had a good Easter brunch buffet. They are surely in need more help---the tables weren't being bussed and people were waiting to be seated for quite a while.
These were all minor compared to our overall stay, the place is simply awesome!

  • Liked — Location-location-location
  • Disliked — restaurant understaffed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chevybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We didn't actually stay in the lodge; we camped out instead in the park. We did however use the amenities of the lodge to our benefit. On a clear day the view of the valley is pretty phenomenal. The access to the internet rooms is a huge plus. The staff is great, but the restaurant is seriously lacking. The restaurant staff was seriously undermanned. We had the chef serve us our food and the hostess was bussing tables. The French dip was lackluster and the club sandwich was in desperate need of a condiment. The service is nice but sparse. The food needs serious help. The menu was small and the food was poor. Bring your own food if you stay here.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank ernandcable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed at this hotel the last week of February. The hotel was probably the best deal for the money that we had ever gotten on a hotel room. We booked a king room on the 3rd floor. The room and the views were spectacular. The only complaints I have are, as others on this website have said, the heater fan in the room was a little too loud and could not be shut off and the dinner food in the restaraunt was a little lackluster but the breakfast we had was great. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest you take along a pair of earplugs as you may have trouble sleeping with the fan noise. The views and fireplaces in the lobby lounge and the restaraunt are spectacular. We had good service from all the staff. Great hotel for anyone looking for a luxury hotel with an outdoor theme.

  • Liked — Views and rooms
  • Disliked — fan noise in the room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

What a GREAT place to stay. Check in was quick, room nice and clean. The kids loved the pool and game room. The restraunt was a little slow, but the view was worth the wait. Food was very good. We are planning a trip back soon.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin and it could not have been better. Really a beautiful experience. Stayed in cabin 1 and loved it. Two BR, twso BA, Spotless and fully equippped - hot tub, washer dryer in the cabin, full kitchen, all utensils, really perfect place. Cabins 1- about 8 are in nice walking range of the lodge and we walked over there so the kids could use the indoor pool. They loved it. All was well till we ran out of food and had to eat in the lodge restaurant. The service was fine - local staff from the area trying hard to do a good job, but not one of five of us enjoyed the food. I guess we were accustomed to our own meals and they were just better than what we were served. But do not let this stand in your way. It is a very fine facility with great views and nice hiking trails. Cabin was $239/ night. Rooms in the lodge are less.

  • Liked — design of the lodge and cabins; views
  • Disliked — food in the dining room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, MO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stayed at the Mount Magazine Lodge December 20-24, just before Christmas of this past year. We were a bit leary of the restaurant, because of past reviews, but felt it would be a relaxing, beautiful place to stay. We stayed in a regular room with a balcony on the third floor. The view was beautiful, when the fog lifted (or the clouds disappeared - they were underneath us). The room was a large room, with a balcony, that it was too cold to stay out on while were there, but offered a beautiful view. The dressing area / coffee / refrigerator area was also quite large and there was plenty of room. The only thing that could have been added would have been a microwave. The bathroom was also sufficient, but could have been a little bit larger. We didn't have any problem with getting hot water.

We had decided before we got there, to not eat at the lodge as we had read reviews that sounded like it was not too good. The first night we got there, the fog was very dense and the idea of driving back down the mountain, didn't appeal to us, so we ate at the lodge dining room. I had the almond trout and my husband had a fried chicken breast. Both were quite good, and the service could not have been criticized. After this positive experience we decided to eat breakfast the next morning. We had the breakfast buffet. It was a little less desirable. They did have a good variety of fresh fruits, and my husband was thrilled to see chocolate gravy for his biscuits, but most of the food was fairly mediocre - the sausage gravy didn't have much flavor at all. We then ate the rest of our meals at restaurants in the area.

My husband likes to drink lots of coffee and when he left a note asking if he could have more coffee the first morning, they left a number of packets for him and did this each morning thereafter.

  • Liked — The room & the view
  • Disliked — The toilet was excessively loud when flushed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamburrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarksville
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksville
Hampton Inn Clarksville
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
294 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Sherwood Inn
Best Western Sherwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clarksville
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Clarksville
59 reviews
25.0 mi away
Ozark Inn & Suites
Ozark Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Ozark
26 reviews
22.5 mi away
Super 8 Clarksville AR
Super 8 Clarksville AR
#6 of 7 in Clarksville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Magazine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Magazine

Property: The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Address: Lodge Drive, 16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855
Location: United States > Arkansas > Paris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lodge at Mount Magazine. Overlooking the Petit Jean River Valley and Blue Mountain Lake, this resort mountain lodge offers 60 guest rooms with breathtaking views of the valley below. Gracing the south bluff of Arkansas's high point, the Lodge at Mount Magazine is one of the finest Arkansas lodges and offers some of the most breathtaking scenery in The Natural State. With its sweeping views of the Petit Jean River Valley and distant Blue Mountain Lake, lodging in this mountaintop resort combines a majestic natural setting with first-class amenities. The modern, rustic-style lodge offers 60 guest rooms, a hearth room lobby, delicious classic Southern cuisine in the Skycrest Restaurant, a conference center, business center, indoor swimming pool, fitness center, and gift shop, making this one of the most well-appointed Arkansas lodges. The three-wing lodge stretches along the bluff so that the hearth room, restaurant, swimming pool, and all 60 guest rooms offer the view from the bluff. This is a getaway for couples. It's for families and friends to share together, too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Hotel Paris
Hotel At Mount Magazine
At Mount Magazine Paris
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Arkansas/Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing