We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed at this hotel the last week of February. The hotel was probably the best deal for the money that we had ever gotten on a hotel room. We booked a king room on the 3rd floor. The room and the views were spectacular. The only complaints I have are, as others on this website have said, the heater fan in the room was a little too loud and could not be shut off and the dinner food in the restaraunt was a little lackluster but the breakfast we had was great. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest you take along a pair of earplugs as you may have trouble sleeping with the fan noise. The views and fireplaces in the lobby lounge and the restaraunt are spectacular. We had good service from all the staff. Great hotel for anyone looking for a luxury hotel with an outdoor theme.

  • Liked — Views and rooms
  • Disliked — fan noise in the room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    101
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
118
221
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

What a GREAT place to stay. Check in was quick, room nice and clean. The kids loved the pool and game room. The restraunt was a little slow, but the view was worth the wait. Food was very good. We are planning a trip back soon.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin and it could not have been better. Really a beautiful experience. Stayed in cabin 1 and loved it. Two BR, twso BA, Spotless and fully equippped - hot tub, washer dryer in the cabin, full kitchen, all utensils, really perfect place. Cabins 1- about 8 are in nice walking range of the lodge and we walked over there so the kids could use the indoor pool. They loved it. All was well till we ran out of food and had to eat in the lodge restaurant. The service was fine - local staff from the area trying hard to do a good job, but not one of five of us enjoyed the food. I guess we were accustomed to our own meals and they were just better than what we were served. But do not let this stand in your way. It is a very fine facility with great views and nice hiking trails. Cabin was $239/ night. Rooms in the lodge are less.

  • Liked — design of the lodge and cabins; views
  • Disliked — food in the dining room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stayed at the Mount Magazine Lodge December 20-24, just before Christmas of this past year. We were a bit leary of the restaurant, because of past reviews, but felt it would be a relaxing, beautiful place to stay. We stayed in a regular room with a balcony on the third floor. The view was beautiful, when the fog lifted (or the clouds disappeared - they were underneath us). The room was a large room, with a balcony, that it was too cold to stay out on while were there, but offered a beautiful view. The dressing area / coffee / refrigerator area was also quite large and there was plenty of room. The only thing that could have been added would have been a microwave. The bathroom was also sufficient, but could have been a little bit larger. We didn't have any problem with getting hot water.

We had decided before we got there, to not eat at the lodge as we had read reviews that sounded like it was not too good. The first night we got there, the fog was very dense and the idea of driving back down the mountain, didn't appeal to us, so we ate at the lodge dining room. I had the almond trout and my husband had a fried chicken breast. Both were quite good, and the service could not have been criticized. After this positive experience we decided to eat breakfast the next morning. We had the breakfast buffet. It was a little less desirable. They did have a good variety of fresh fruits, and my husband was thrilled to see chocolate gravy for his biscuits, but most of the food was fairly mediocre - the sausage gravy didn't have much flavor at all. We then ate the rest of our meals at restaurants in the area.

My husband likes to drink lots of coffee and when he left a note asking if he could have more coffee the first morning, they left a number of packets for him and did this each morning thereafter.

  • Liked — The room & the view
  • Disliked — The toilet was excessively loud when flushed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamburrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

I stayed in the lodge in November with my son, and found, as I did during my previous stays, a well appointed room, good to middlin' restaurant fare (though with hit and miss service), and excellent views (if you can get there when its not foggy).

However, this time for the first time, I felt ill -treated by the front desk staff (as opposed to other personnel), and once again, a sort of simmering anger at the contractor and/or mechanical engineer who designed the HVAC and plumbing system.

This lodge sits at the top of AR's highest point , perched just at the lip of the mountain with terrific views to the south. Each room has great operable windows with screens, or a glass sliding door and screen (if you get a deck) to get the natural experience of the Natural State. However, you can never throw open your door or window and enjoy the profound silence of your mountain aerie because of the incessant hiss of the HVAC system. Apparently it is a positive pressure system that continually pumps air into your room whether you want it or not. One can control the temps, but not the noisy gushing air flow. A very bad and annoying design.

In addition, on a weekend when the lodge was not full, I could not call hot water to my shower and tub. The sink hot water came through fine and quickly, but not the tub's. As we were there for a night and didnt want to change rooms, I didnt mention it until check out. The front desk staff's response: "Oh, well you should have left it running longer as we have only a central water heater system, and when the hotel is not full of hot water users it sometimes takes over 5 minutes for hot water to reach the showers in the rooms away from the core of the building. "

Well thanks for that. Of course I'm the idiot for not patiently running the water for 10 minutes. How about a slight discount for not being able to take a bath? How about a small sign in my bathroom that tells me sometimes I have to wait a bit to get hot water? How about a more efficient plumbing design?

This place is almost the Jewel of the Ozarks, but it is hampered by poor design, and always some poorly trained staff member or restaurant employee whose laxness or aloofness can gum up a stay. Maybe it's a consequence of being state run rather than a having a top notch Hotel management company, but whatever it is, the place will never be as good as it could be without addressing these issues. I suppose the state wants to be able to save on management and, perhaps, pass those savings on to its citizens and guests. If thats the case, terrific, but even the state can learn what it takes to provide a real quality experience.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank celowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We love Mount Mag. We've been going up there for 20 years, way before the "new" lodge was built. The climbing and hiking is fantastic. So, when the lodge was finished, we booked a stay to check it out. The room are first class....all have a good view, clean, comfy beds, nice amenities, and quiet. HOWEVER, the restaurant is ONE of the WORST I've ever had the displeasure in which to dine. The service is slow, unattentive, and lacklustre. The food is TERRIBLE. We had 4 meals there and they went from bad to very bad. Something must be done as the lodge patrons are a captive audience, and most probably will not elect to return. Next time, we're going to camp in the fine campground
and grill our own burgers!

  • Liked — Beautiful lodge with comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Terrible Restaurant
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

I retired on a Wednesday, and on the following Monday we were staying in cabin #4 at Mount Magazine. What a great way to start a new chapter in our lives. The accommodations were absolutely perfect, with great attention to detail. Incredible views and close proximity to the amazing lodge. We ate all our meals at the restaurant and had no trouble. In fact, we thought the wait staff did an outstanding job; all are hard workers. While at Mount Magazine we read by the fireplace, relaxed in the hot tub, hiked nearby trails, toured local wineries, shopped for antiques, photographed the fall colors, spent time at the visitor center and just "unwound." It simply could not have been better, and we sincerely thank the Arkansas Parks Department for its vision and hospitality. As someone who values historic preservation, I would suggest that funds be secured in the future to restore the dramatic WPA amphitheatre, which is truly unique. We will return many times.

  • Liked — The cabin.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Woodville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarksville
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksville
Hampton Inn Clarksville
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Sherwood Inn
Best Western Sherwood Inn
#2 of 7 in Clarksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Clarksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
25.0 mi away
Ozark Inn & Suites
Ozark Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
22.5 mi away
Super 8 Clarksville AR
Super 8 Clarksville AR
#6 of 7 in Clarksville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Magazine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Magazine

Property: The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Address: Lodge Drive, 16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855
Location: United States > Arkansas > Paris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lodge at Mount Magazine. Overlooking the Petit Jean River Valley and Blue Mountain Lake, this resort mountain lodge offers 60 guest rooms with breathtaking views of the valley below. Gracing the south bluff of Arkansas's high point, the Lodge at Mount Magazine is one of the finest Arkansas lodges and offers some of the most breathtaking scenery in The Natural State. With its sweeping views of the Petit Jean River Valley and distant Blue Mountain Lake, lodging in this mountaintop resort combines a majestic natural setting with first-class amenities. The modern, rustic-style lodge offers 60 guest rooms, a hearth room lobby, delicious classic Southern cuisine in the Skycrest Restaurant, a conference center, business center, indoor swimming pool, fitness center, and gift shop, making this one of the most well-appointed Arkansas lodges. The three-wing lodge stretches along the bluff so that the hearth room, restaurant, swimming pool, and all 60 guest rooms offer the view from the bluff. This is a getaway for couples. It's for families and friends to share together, too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Hotel Paris
Hotel At Mount Magazine
At Mount Magazine Paris
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Arkansas/Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing