We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An enjoyable experience"”
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Loxley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Fox Inn is a traditional country pub within the heart of the village of Loxley near Stratford-upon-Avon and surrounded by the beautiful Warwickshire countryside. It offers a warm welcome, delicious freshly prepared meals, and a relaxing atmosphere.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have now dined twice from the a la carte menu and had the set Sunday roast dinner on two occasions. On each occasion we enjoyed excellent food in the tastefully refurbished pub. The staff are pleasant and attentive and we are now going to make this a regular weekend venue with family. On a previous visit we had the duck from the specials menu which was beautiful. More recently I had the lamb navirin and my husband had the seafood pie both of which were worthy of any five star restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brady N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenclare66, Colleague at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complementary review. We look forward to welcoming you again to sample more of our special dishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 174 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

At last this pub has been given a much needed and excellent face lift which is both contemporary and in keeping with a village pub. The selection of real ales appears to have been reduced with the Black sheep now gone. The Old Hooky was a very good pint and not overpriced. My only concern is that the menu is fairly bland and the portions did not look that big , although the presentation looked good. I would have thought that this well known and popular Enterprise Inn pub having undergone such a tasteful refurbishment, would have ensured more menu choice and/or would have a number of signature dishes to attract and retain both destination and local diners alike.. The specials board only had a couple of main courses on it. Finally I hope that this village pub promotes and strives to become a good' local village pub' involving and interacting with the locals in addition to serving a wide choice of good quality food and not to become a just another faceless 'restaurant' pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank burntoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenclare66, Colleague at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments. During the first few weeks of opening we always intended to offer only our classic menu. The aim was to establish and perfect this before extendIng into the specials and signature dishes. We have now introduced a specials board and we are developing several signature dishes and look forward to welcoming you back to try them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This has been my local for a long time, and although it was looking slightly dreary and worn, i was sceptical about a massive refurbishment and overhall of this country pub as I didn't want it to lose its charm. It certainly hasn't. The Fox has been beautifully redone to an exceptional standard. Every little detail has been thought of which makes it a lovely place for eaters and drinkers to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. Not only that, it's comfortable and feels like home from home which will be lovely when the fire is lit in the winter!

I went in for a meal with family after the opening and the food was beautiful, large portions and fairly inexpensive- you can't go wrong!
The new staff work very well together and we were welcomed with a big smile which goes a long way.

Can't wait to eat there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katy123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenclare66, Colleague at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you Katy for all your wonderful comments, we are delighted to have been able to give The Fox a much needed facelift and that you are enjoying the new surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Been twice now to try to eat first time a early Sunday drink,,,,, only to find out it closes at 5pm!
( no times on the door just a closed door!)
Please note also closed Mon.!
2nd time private meal, did stay for a drink.... And it looks fab...... Can't wait for a meal.

    • Atmosphere
Thank Likefood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenclare66, Colleague at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

So sorry to hear that you tried to come and see us recently, our opening times are now displayed at the front entrance and yes we do close Mondays and currently our Sunday food service is just at lunchtimes. Please do call ahead to ensure we have a table available for you, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Fox is open again and is now a 'little gem'. Nice decor, good beer and a growing selection of well priced French wines personally sourced by Sebastian the new manager in addition to the more recognisable New World wines. The pizzas from the new pizza oven are amazing. A few minor niggles in the first week as all the new staff got to grips with things, but we also had an epic Sunday roast, and I can highly recommend checking this pub out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 52DonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helenclare66, Colleague at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, many people have contributed to the successful re-opening of the pub and we will ensure that your kind comments are fed back to all of the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Armscote, Ilmington
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing