We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep this gem a secret”
Review of Koh Thmei Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Thmei Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Ream B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Keep this gem a secret”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and wished we had stayed 5 months. A real Robinson Crusoe experience. Sublimely relaxing: choose your own beach to swim from with no one in sight; the sound of the sea lapping away at your beach hut door when you wake up and all the quiet and solitude you need as you rock in your hammock from your beach hut terrace looking out over the water.

Expect basics but you have your own facilities and the mosquito net effective as any incense coil. But bring your own hair shampoo.

Kavita and Michael were a real delight and it is amazing what they have achieved in 3 years. Once you mastered the system of writing your food order in your room notebook and hovering by the kitchen door to give your meal preference everything was run by a relaxed informality. The food was really excellent - try the veggie rice cakes or the red snapper if locally caught. Patrick the volunteer served drinks handsomely behind the bar but don't ask him for a rusty nail....

And the hour's boat journey was equally fun seeing dolphins on the way and flying fish on the way back. We didn't participate in the snorkelling sorties off the island or kayaked off around the headland but were content with long walks inland and along the deserted beaches at low tide.

We had a terrific stay and can't wait to go back. But please don't tell your friends!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjmluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We came here to after having been bitterly disappointed with Koh Rong ( too noisy and full of young backpackers getting trashed). We came on a day when the sea was completely flat- which made the boat journey a real pleasure- saw some dolphin along the way! The beach they are located on isn't quite as beautiful as those on Koh Rong, but it more than made up for it by being such a total escape from the noise and bustle of the holiday period hoards we had witnessed in other places around sihnoukville.

The place only has about 7 bungalows, which are of course basic but more than adequate and very well maintained and large- the bathroom has a separate shower area. They are right on the beach and have hammocks to relax and read in all day. You can rent a Kayak so go and explore other beaches which was well worth it or just take a walk to deserted beaches nearby.

The restaurant is a bit more expensive than average- but that is of course to be expected considering you are pretty far from anywhere with only a boat connection -and for your money you get huge portions- sometimes it was difficult to finish all the delicious food!

Michael and Kavita are extremely welcoming and friendly, good communication to organize arrival and departure, and really good value for money too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

You can't beat this location! But the accommodation isn't great... Bath towels had brown stains on them and toilet was stained brown inside. Rooms didn't feel clean. Only cold water! (Which is fine if it's hot but not when it's raining and cold!) Food is good but quite pricey and there is no where else to eat and no snacks available to buy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
1,371 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is a romantic location, and the food is amazingly good. One of the best fish dishes I ever had! The cabins are rustic and basic as one can expect on such a location, but I must say that the insects (mosquitos and especially ants) bothered us really a lot on both days, so you have to be able to handle that. On the other hand: in bed they don't bother you at all thanks to the perfect mosquito net.
Otherwise it's just perfect and very cheap for what you get. The ever present hosts are charming. Snorking was rather poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jurgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorrach, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Koh Thmei Resort is really a paradise. Michael and Kavita live their dream there and you can be a part of it. You can just relax, do some water sports like kayaking, snorkling or just walking along the nice beach and collecting some shells. If you are lucky you can also see the dolphins.
The bungalows are basic, but very clean, big and have a comfortable bathroom. For such a lonely island it is really much what you get for your money. The menu is enormous and food is awesome.
We highly recommend this place, the nice owners and the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seppthethreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This is what I imagine the 1st backpackers of Cambodia fell in love with. But in these modern times this is a rare find. How lucky we were to stay here for a few day.

If you have stumbled across this review page then you are probably looking for a secluded back to basics get away . It is worth the extra effort to get there. Email the owners and they will suggest a taxi driver that knows the boat driver. So he can phone ahead if you are running late. You then get transported back in time to a haven of very little. No electronic gizmos or flat screen tvs. Just beautiful empty beaches and palm trees. Use the rubber inner tubes to bob around in the sea or take the kayak to explore the coves. Michael will put on a snorkelling boat trip for those that want it for a few dollars each or just laze around in your hammock listening to the waves and the sounds if nature.

Food is served most of the day and nothing seems to much trouble for kavita.

The rooms are clean and bamboo basic. Fans and mosquito nets are provided . The furniture is open rack and very useable for all of us living out of bags. The bathrooms have a more modern style tiled floor and hot water.

Evenings area quiet and music free . that is unless Daniel puts on his fire stick and poi show which lasts about 10 minutes... Very entertaining . There are plenty of board games and a football table game provided should you want to do something


The evening generator goes of when the last people have gone to bed or midnight .
There is no wifi ( not that we wanted it) but I did hear Michael say if you need to check email he could help out . But I got the feeling that was by request rather than the norm. So your not completely isolated for your onward travel arrangements but its not for Facebook updates.

Nights and sleeping for us were spent with the shutter window open with a cool breeze blowing in and a nice sound of the waves crashing. And every now and again a loud Geh-kooo noise ! Ear plugs went in after a while.

I hope this island does not get spoilt by other hotels popping up around it. It is very special as it is the only bungalows on the island . All of the staff make the stay a very memorable one.

Would I stay here again. Yes. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CLEMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had four days here we are normally very active people but really chilled here, lay in the hammocks read our books rolled over into the sea back onto the loungers. The whole lodge is a pretty chilled place. Really enjoyed it. Food was outstanding freshly cooked, and delicious. Real vlue

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ream
19.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,490 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
487 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
716 reviews
20.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
645 reviews
7.5 mi away
Monkey Maya
Monkey Maya
#1 of 2 in Ream
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Thmei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Thmei Resort

Property: Koh Thmei Resort
Address: Koh Thmei Island | Islands, Ream, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Ream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bungalows have seaview balconys and private bathroom Bungalow: 1 double bed, 35 USD/night Family-bungalow: 2 double beds and 1 single bed, 60 USD/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koh Thmei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Thmei Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing