We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best”
Review of Red Top Motor Inn

Red Top Motor Inn
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian
Restaurant details
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The very best”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stop in and as always great food and dinning was excellent. The owners do all that they can to make your stay a memorable occasion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimlambert94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Motel - terrible beds. Sparkling clean bathroom.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 1 night after long drive. Decor from the 70s (on purpose I think). But the mattress hasn't been updated. Very squeeky and so uncomfortable we left quite early unable to sleep. The bathroom was spotless and the floor waxed to a glow. Shag carpet in room was unpleasant. 80 dollars. Would try another in Iron Bridge first before returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisacard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Your average overpriced restaurant.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

food was ok...a little over priced in my opinion.
The atmosohere was terrible. The owners for the past several years have left the layout, seating, and decor as it was 20+ years ago...and it was terrible then.
The owners seem to have a arrogance about them that would turn me away from any further visits.
Again...food is good. But for an intimate beautiful well priced night out...try the new restaurant in blind river beside the gas station. Its never dissapoints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CR1T03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We arrived just before 8pm after a long cycle ride, checked into the motel and went to the dining room. After journeying across Northern Ontario the food was a revelation eg sour arugula soup and smoked whitefish salad. Breakfast the next morning was also wonderful; homemade pancakes and stewed apple and smoked whitefish scrambled eggs. The owners have worked hard to maintain the original 70's style and decor. We left for another days ride with good memories of the food as well as chats with one of the owners about the area as well as cycle touring.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place worth stopping into”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This review is a bit late - we came here twice in the summer of '12. The first time was on the way to Thunder Bay, it was recommended to use from someone who grew up in SS Marie. You knew right off the top, when the specials were brought to you, this was not your usual motor inn or roadside stop. A wide range of offerings from burgers, to chowder, to scallops - clearly there was someone talented and experienced in the kitchen.

What made it for us though, and worthy of a great review, was we were returning back the other way and planned on staying there for the night. We arrived later than expected, not having eaten, and the kitchen had just closed.

They reopened the kitchen for us and served another great dinner to which we were extremely grateful, and it was as good as the one a week before!

Not to mention the inn has a great 50s look and feel, they kept it the same style as I'd imagine they found it. Very cool spot and worth stopping in on your way up, or back from T-Bay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calvert77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Top Motor Inn also viewed

Iron Bridge, Northeastern Ontario
Iron Bridge, Northeastern Ontario
 
Iron Bridge, Northeastern Ontario
Blind River, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Red Top Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing