We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Harbour cottage

house and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
house and garden
living-room living-room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
house and garden
living-room
living-room
kitchen
kitchen
bunk bed
double room
bunk bed room
bathroom
landing
stairs
harbour
harbour
st Cyrus beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rosie131
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a beautiful little house my niece and I had a wonderful time, Claire was lovely & Nathalie was great at replying to emails from her home in France. I loved it so much I will be back soon with my mum, dad & husband. Very dog friendly, as is whole village.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thanks very much Rosemary, hope to see you soon.
Cheers. Nathalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneW73
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous family cottage! Very relaxing!”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here over the long easter weekend with our 2 children 4 and 7. The cottage has everything you need. We loved the slept in bunk beds which they loved. We went for a meal at the local pub The Anchor which has a restaurant upstairs and can highly recommend. The food and staff were excellent. One thing there is no Wifi or phone signal however I found that a nice change! Would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Hello Lynne,
thanks for your nice review, we gonna have the wifi rapidly as the children ask for it :-) see you later.
Best regards
Nathalie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Cosy little cottage next to harbour. It had everything you needed for a home away from home. It was great to be able to take our dogs, as this is usually a problem when renting cottages. Beautiful little village, which is peaceful and ideal for getting away from it all. We would definitely go back. Hopefully weather will be better next time, so we can enjoy the garden also.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2015
Hello Mary, thanks for your review, Claire told me you had a really well-behaved dog, we have a dog at home and we know how difficult it can be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could be better !”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Overall a nice cottage but could be improved. Double bed is extremely uncomfortable due to the poor quality mattress and no mirror anywhere other than the bathroom making hair drying very difficult.
Microwave turntable does not work and the appliance wobbles all over the place !
Lovely fishing village and cottage is lovely but could be improved for little expense and this would make for a much better and more comfortable experience .
The Anchor pub in the village, less than a 5 minute walk from the cottage is to be highly recommended for its food.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2015
Hello Christine, after your stay we had a long term tenant and changed the mattress, it should be more confortable now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
susiematt...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy little cottage in super fishing village”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a good time staying at this nice little cottage. We found the cottage to be well equipped and homely. Johnshaven has huge character and lovely coastal walks. The Anchor Pub, 1 min away, was especially good - highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJG_Sotto...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for 4”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Harbour Cottage perfectly suits what a couple with 2 children would need as a holiday home. It is small but nice and comfy. It was clean and everything was working fine (though the dryier function seems out with the washing machine) as we were there.

Johnshaven is a very enjoyable place and the kids really enjoyed walks by the sea. Food at the Anchor Pub/Hotel is great, I would recommend a dinner at the restaurant as a family night out.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing