We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but ...”
Review of The Muddy Duck

The Muddy Duck
Reserve with OpenTable
The Muddy Duck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hethe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Muddy Duck is a pub and restaurant located in the pretty village of Hethe, just north of Bicester. You can’t miss us – we’re slap bang in the beating heart of Hethe, next door to the Church of St. Edmund and St. George and just 4 miles from M40 junction 10. We love that all things British and traditional are making a revival, so whether in the bar or the restaurant, our food is an honest and inspiring blend of time-honoured favourites, with a creative MD twist. No short cuts, no ping-and-ding, no frozen – all fresh and cooked to order. The only thing that comes out of our freezer is our ice-cream and that's made in-house too. Through and through we’re about free-range, high welfare, sustainability, local or British produce if it’s best or at its best – and if not, we’re not ashamed to source from further afield, because quality is what counts.We keep favourite real ales and regularly have a few starring guests too and run an extensive wine list and like to encourage punters to try something different, so our cellar range is particularly good value.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great but ...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Brilliant addition to the locality and food is very very good, service can be as hoc but generally good - just need to be careful that they get too pricey

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank behappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    187
    81
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Everthing is just excellent - make sure your hungry though because the portions are generous and you will want every morsel..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kareen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for a catch up”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sadly didn't eat here as the kitchen looks fab! Popped in for a long overdue catch-up and had a really pleasant evening. Great service and a lovely atmosphere. Started at a table with cinema style seating then as the evening continued moved to the comfy chairs by the fire. Three hours well spent. Thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a fantastic evening meal at the Muddy Duck. We arrived a little early and were made welcome for the moment we walked in. The surroundings are amazing, service excellent and food superb.
When we're back down in Oxford, we will definitely be returning. Thank you for a fabulous evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmH111276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Two separate friends independently recommended the MD to me on the same day so we booked for another friend's birthday. Simply, wow! We were made welcome from the moment we came in, we had a table in the beautifully (and expensively) built modern extension which we loved, the service was just the perfect balance of very efficient and very friendly (thanks Ash!), all five of us loved every course we had.

We are sometimes disappointed by recommendations to go to a 'gastro pub' all too often finding that the quality of the food disappoints whilst charging an arm and a leg. Absolutely not here. The prices, whilst perhaps not cheap, are good value for the quality of the meal.

We rate it as equivalent to our recent visit to the Hand & Flowers at Marlow; we'd personally prefer to eat the great food at either of these two foody pubs, with their more relaxed atmosphere, than Le Manoir, which we have also been lucky enough to have enjoyed a couple of times.

Looking forward to our next visit, hopefully before long!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gbcti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Muddy Duck also viewed

Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Bucknell, Oxfordshire
Stratton Audley, Bicester
 

Been to The Muddy Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing