We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, Elegant Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
brooklyn, nyc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tranquil, Elegant Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2008

As part of our 2 week trip in Ecuador, we spent our first week on a land tour winding our way down from Quito to Guayaquil. We spent a night in quito, one night in hacienda pinsaqui, and stopped here during our Cotopaxi excursions for two nights.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a tour of the facilities and shown to a sitting room while they finished cleaning and preparing our room. We stayed in the mulalo suite with 3 separate fireplaces and a bathroom larger than most NYC bedrooms (with a fireplace in the bathroom!). Beyond being comfortable and luxurious, it was really the personal touches to this place that made our stay - family photos, hand carved trinkets, beautiful books, candles (in case of the occasional blackout), hot water bottles, and huge bouquets of fresh flowers.

Being one of the younger couples there who didn't converse in fluent spanish (my other half does, but not me) - it was an interesting experience sharing a table with others. Service was impeccable and the food was excellent. The kitchen was accommodating, packing us lunches for our day trips, and giving us free bottles of water. If you consider that for the price it's included, this actually turns out to be quite a value.

We spend most of our days touring the region, so we didn't take advantage of the horseback riding or the tour of the rose plantation but we did spend time walking around the grounds. We have traveled to many different places in the world, and this one will remain one of our most memorable stays. Details do matter and there's clearly a lot of attention to detail paid throughout the property.

  • Liked — the service, the animals, the view, the fireplace, the gardens/grounds, the room
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dailln4n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    17
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
52
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

We have long wanted to stay in the Hacienda Frederick Church inlcuded in his mid-1850's painting, Cotopaxi. This June we experienced the magic. The Hacienda, privately owned, has preserved not only the experience of hacienda living in the 1850's, but many of the walls are original to the Inca empire. Our experience was nothing but pleasurable. Adventures to Pujilli, a magnificent crater lake, and Cotopaxi were arranged by day and we dined on Ecuadorian fare and tucked into fireplace heated rooms and alpaca-blanketed beds by night. We would happily return for another week to the Hacienda San Agustin to explore this beautiful area of Ecuador.
Linda Cogdill

  • Liked — The historical significance, the setting, the ambience, the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

The place is just unbelievable! Beutiful setting, clean, romantic, very helpful staff, and everything you can expect from a top notch hacienda.

The only issue we had was at checkout. They had no evidence that I had paid a deposit for one night (which I had paid over wire transfer). Since they semed so professional and helpful I agreed to pay with american express the whole balance and send them later my evidence of the deposit. I did immediately after I returned home and it took them 3 months to process a credit back to me for the deposit amount.

Please do not take this as a warning to avoid this place. The place is just fantastic...just bring proof of your deposit.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tm0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

Our family of six spent two nights at this hacienda. It has a beautiful setting with an incredible view of Cotopaxi, and dirt roads that were fun to hike, bike, and ride horses. The horsebackriding was particularly enjoyable with ride up thru the pine forest toward Cotopaxi. The food was superb; they must have 10+ ways to order eggs each morning. The dining room has amazing atmosphere with the Incan ruins. There is a really nice living room with picture windows overlooking Cotopaxi, and an honor bar. They brought the llamas into the courtyard at dusk for feeding; we got some great photos. We met the owner who was so nice. This place is great. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

This is a great place to stay, which I can't praise highly enough. Here's a quick list of reasons why:

- Wonderfully comfortable beds, which they pop a hot water bottle in every night
- Log fires in the bedrooms and bathrooms
- Individually decorated rooms and suites, all beautiful
- Amazing scenery
- Seclusion
- Romantic dining room with the added bonus of being the only dining room probably in the whole world which was built by the Incas (the hacienda was constructed on Inca ruins and the dining room is candle-lit with Inca walls)
- Ponchos left in your room to borrow
- Lovely breakfast (the best we had!)

I can't think of more things off the top of my head, but safe to say this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's cosy, welcoming, luxurious, relaxing and unique. One note is that they have several dogs, so if you're not a dog fan, let them know. A second note: you can feed the llamas if you ask!

  • Liked — Everything! Especially how comfortable and luxurious the rooms were
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

We are a couple that travels independently and recently returned from a one month trip to Ecuador. We went to Quito, the Galapagos, Coca and the jungle. To end our trip, we decided to catch our breath ( well not exactly ) by relaxing at the Hacienda at the base of Mount Cotopaxi for five nights. It was truly the highlight of our trip and one of the best travel experiences we have ever had.

We hired a taxi from Quito for $50. The trip took about 2 hours and was a very pretty drive. The Hacienda is located in a commercial farming area with lots of fences to protect crops such as brocolli, roses etc. Not quite the setting we envisaged. However, any concerns that we had made a poor choice quickly evaporated.

Once inside the courtyard walls and garden, you are transported into another world. On arrival, we were met by Paulina, who was the self-described hostess. Her warm smile and charm were exceptional. She quickly got us moved into our magnificent 3 room suite which they provide at no extra charge. It was beautifully decorated and full of huge bouquets of roses. Paulina was always attentive and was there throughout our stay to ensure that we were comfortable, had the information we needed, and was full of ideas that made our stay even more enjoyable.

Our suite had a library that was amazing- Adam Smith, Churchill, as well as great fiction .... No need to bring books. The suite had three fireplaces that were lit at the appropriate time by Nelson, a quiet, affable young man (Nelson also escorted us on many of our outings and he was always a pleasure to be with). Each room or suite is unique, and all the rooms have been decorated by the resident artist, an energetic, outgoing woman named Carolina. The website has very accurate descriptions and pictures.

The hacienda has a living room where guests congregate before dinner. You can sip cocktails from the honour bar, have a few munchies and enjoy the everchanging views of Cotopaxi.

The dining room is in an Inca Temple. Sitting down to dinner at a huge mahagony table surrounded by flickering candles and magnificient flowers is an unforgetable experience. We ate well-prepared Ecuadorian food prepared by a very accommodating kitchen. The soups are truly exceptional. My wife had altitude sickness for a few days and they made whatever she desired. We were served by the diminutive Elsie who watched attentively and reacted appropriately.

I must confess that for a few nights we were the only guests and therefore we were pampered. On our first evening, the resident llama herd was brought into the courtyard so we could feed them while enjoying an ecudorian cocktail. When others arrived, the service did not diminish.

The main reason we picked the Hacienda was because of the horseback riding. My wife is an accomplished rider ( I am not ). She rode every day with the guide provided. Our rate included riding, and once you get into the foothills, it was magnificent. The horses were well groomed and well fed and varied in temperament suitable for riders of different abilities.

This review must include a few words about the charming owner, Mignon Plaza. Throughout your stay, you feel that you are a treasured guest in her magnificient home. She splits her time between Quito and the Hacienda. She is a walking encyclopedia on the history of the area. When she is at the Hacienda, she joins her guests for lunch and dinner. She is generous with her time. After dinner, we normally withdrew to the lounge for a drink.

I must warn you about the altitude. Quito is at 2800 m, the Hacienda is at 3100m and the parking lot at Cotopaxi is 4600m. We were not paying enough attention and my wife got altitude sickness on our visit to Cotopaxi. We think the guide took us up the mountain too quickly. I was OK and mountain biked down the mountain. Thank God the brakes worked.

We had an outsanding experience there. The staff are incredible. Mignon is a treasure and the location is inspiring.

P2C

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2007

Stayed Here for Christmas on our journey thro' Ecuador. It's a farmhouse with a history dating back to Inca times. We stayed in the bungalow, which has three bedrooms and is probably for families, so to have the place to ourselves was great. They came and lit the fires early evening and we were really comfy and warm.

We had organic lawnmowers and a great view of the volcano when cloud permitted (see photos).

The place is in the middle of nowhere and is one of the top places to stay in Ecuador. An absolute must if you are visiting Cotopaxi. There are options to horse ride, walk, and fish in their pond, the place is really idyllic and laid back, the atmosphere is really welcoming and homely. The best thing tho' is the quality of the service and food. The kitchen staff were fantastic and the food top class. We had some top meals and interaction with the other guests was really good, everyone enjoyed the place and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HippoHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
13.5 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hacienda Hato Verde
Hacienda Hato Verde
#1 of 1 in Mulalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Agustin De Callo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Agustin De Callo

Property: Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Address: Cotopaxi - Ecuador | Ciudad Lasso, Lasso 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lasso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Agustin De Callo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the 15th century San Agustin de Callo has served as an Inca fortress and palace and Augustinian monastery and was also temporary home of the French Geodesic Mission (1742) whose scientific work helped change the shape of the planet. Other famous visitors include the brilliant German scientist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and English mountain climber Edward Whymper. In 1912 the Hacienda was purchased by General Leonidas Plaza Gutierrez, leader of the liberal Revolution and two-time President of Ecuador.With only eleven rooms, it is one of the most romantic spots for honeymoons and other special occasions. San Agustin de Callo constitutes the only lived in museum of Inca Imperial and Spanish Colonial style. Surrounded by the smoke-blackened Inca walls of the dining room, one can marvel at the infinite precision of the stonemasonry, a monument to the unrivalled craftsmanship of the Incas, and admire the stunning view of Cotopaxi, the highest active volcano in the world.The peaceful atmosphere and magical landscape combine to make San Agustin a sanctuary of inspiration for artists and lovers of nature and a restful haven for weary travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda San Agustin De Callo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Hotel Lasso
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Ecuador/Lasso, Cotopaxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing