We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had been told that the best place from which to see Volcano Cotapaxi is the living room at Hacienda San Agustin de Callo. We did go up to 14,000 feet on the volcano, which was a spectacular sight, but indeed the view from the hacienda was gorgeous. And the welcome was too. What a pleasure, from the greeting as we arrived, to the ambiance of our room, to the wonderful dinner, to the lovely volcano views. Wonderful old Inca walls, including in the dining room and the family chapel. Llamas grazing outside the garden. A wonderful hacienda experience

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oats711NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    17
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
52
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

I like to start our reviews with the positives. Having never visited South America, much less Ecuador, I was immediately impressed. A little over an hour drive from Quito, Hacienda San Agustin sits in the beautiful foothills just outside of Cotopaxi. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm cider-like beverage and shown to our room. BEAUTIFUL. The rooms had a historic stone construction, well appointed with an extremely comfortable king bed. Down comforts, cotton sheets, modern bathroom fixtures, and wood burning fireplaces exceeded our expectations of hacienda lodging.

The dining experience was also well above average. Chef Julianna, Wilson, and the entire staff were very courteous and helpful. Excellent food was provided for all three meals. One food-loving guest even requested to visit the kitchen to witness a meal preparation. She was welcomed with open arms and even got to help with lunch preparation (after suiting up with all health department requirements). She told me it was the highlight of her trip.

Day two brought a very entertaining horseback riding experience. Novices will be fine with this. Hardly any skill needed. Slow but scenic. Very nice guide. No English but it was not really needed. A picnic lunch was provided an hour in to the journey followed by a slightly different route back to the hacienda. Here’s the shocking part. Upon checkout we found out that the picnic lunch was a whopping $35 per person extra. It was simply tuna sandwiches!

Areas that left a bit to be desired are as follows:

Fernanda was our property liaison but was woefully under-qualified and often hard to find. She had a very difficult time communicating in English. When she was able to communicate, many times she did not know the answer to our questions. The reasonably-priced wine inventory seemed to be exhausted after the first night with no real attempt to replenish.

The property needs more outdoor seating. With such beautiful weather, we often found ourselves wanting to have a beer or wine outside but never had enough seating even for four.

One gathering place that was nice was the salon area (like a living room) that had an honor bar. Just write down what liquor you consumed and they will put it on your tab. Great idea except there was no beer or wine at the honor bar. Also, the sofas are in desperate need of replacement and smell like cat urine. There was supposed to be wireless internet service in this area but it rarely worked.

All things considered, the overall experience was positive but could not justify the hefty price tag.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamerican260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Such uniqueness and the courage to preserve this Inca temple (under the most trying of circumstances) and include a sense of elegance, requires high sophistication and intelligence, deserves more than 5/5.

As with all fine things, it is difficult to find San Agustin; the discovery of it and its dramatic setting is worth the effort. Snowcapped, symmetrical Cotopaxi commands the horizon - on a bright, sunny day, a deeply moving , exhilarating experience.

My enveloping, feather mattress and roaring log fire is a rare luxury. Breakfast is a triumph, a royal treat. Save time for it and linger. Dinner was good but high altitude lessens appetite. My bathroom was cold, the water, hot.

Cotopaxi Park, especially, driving up Cotopaxi mountain to 15,000', flora & fauna, is magnificent. The entire venture needs a minimum stay of two nights.

Making a reservation was a trial. There is barely a sign for the hotel on a very busy highway - a frustrating experience when self-driving.

I will return as often as possibly can.

Room Tip: request a room in the old, Inca section - if not, try to go when available. New rooms are well desig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haciendacusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

After a great deal of research , I chose the property as one of our stops on a family adventure to Ecuador and the Galapagos. I am so glad I did , as it was one of the highlights of our trip.

The Hacienda is an incredibly special place. The natural setting is breathtaking and a great deal of care has been taken in the details and decor. The gardens are splendid and the llamas are a great deal of fun.

The meals , which are part of the package , are savory and well-presented. My favorite part was the delicious breakfast. I´d also mention the shrimp dishes as being memorable.

Our family of 5 stayed in the Callo Lodge...we had 3 bedrooms and baths , as well as a living room and kitchen. We had stunning views of Cotopaxi. The lodge was perfect for our family. The bathroom ammenities were lovely and they provided ponchos and fresh flowers in every room. The linens were top notch and chocolates and a poem were left nightly on the beds.

We did have problem : the lodge had a very strong , overwhelming chemical smell. When we arrived , we thought the smell was perhaps insecticide or a strong cleaning product. One of the staff came to check it our , we opened all the windows and only on the last day did the smell leave. It interfered with our sleep. I should have insisted on changing rooms.

The gentleman who served our meals , Lorenzo , was exceptional and my children loved him.

The Hacienda was one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed. I´d return in a heartbeat . It is expensive and as another poster said , watch out for extra costs , but it is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

While this hacienda has beautiful setting, amazing vistas, and warm, cozy rooms, the hidden charges that they tacked onto our bill at the end of the two night stay were over the top.

When we arrived they offered us a light lunch, which we accepted and knew we would pay for. What we did not know is that the average quality salmon salad would cost us $37 each. Later that evening, our group of seven gathered in the cozy common area to play board games by the fire. When one of the staff noticed us opening our own bottles of wine that we brought along, they offered to bring us out wine glasses, which we graciously accepted. Despite doing nothing more than this, they counted the bottles we drank and charged us $7 a bottle for what they called a "corking fee." Keep in mind that we had eaten all our meals there and paid for a wide variety of the drinks they offered throughout our time there.

Beware the activities, as well. While the horse-riding was fine, most the other activities are either exaggerated or non-existent. Our scenic bicycle ride was limited to two people as there were only two bikes in working condition and one of those had to be walked back after the pedal fell off about a 1/2 mile from the hacienda.

Overall, the beauty of the location is amazing, but there are many other better and more accurately advertised places to stay in the region.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teejayemm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is, as you expect, very rare and unique place. Path to this hacienda is quite complicated and first impression not much, but it's all hidden in details with really great atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and would have stayed longer if it wasn't for our scheduled flight. This place is just as special as everyone has described it. The hacienda is a very special place and the entire staff is world-class and rightly deserve it. It was my birthday and the staff made a special birthday cake, sang happy birthday, and then sat down with my wife and I and exchanged stories about Ecuador and our families. The food is amazing (we ate breakfast every morning outside on their beautifully manicured property with fantastic views of Volcanoe Cotopaxi which we climbed our first day). One other note, we've been to over 20 countries and regularlly use TripAdvisor as a resource; and this is the first time I had such a great experience, I just had write my own review.

One other note, just to make your time here more enjoyable, we rented a 4x4 truck from Avis at the Quito airport and it made it very easy to come and go in and around Cotopaxi as we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room closest to the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShutterMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
13.5 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hacienda Hato Verde
Hacienda Hato Verde
#1 of 1 in Mulalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Agustin De Callo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Agustin De Callo

Property: Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Address: Cotopaxi - Ecuador | Ciudad Lasso, Lasso 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lasso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Agustin De Callo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the 15th century San Agustin de Callo has served as an Inca fortress and palace and Augustinian monastery and was also temporary home of the French Geodesic Mission (1742) whose scientific work helped change the shape of the planet. Other famous visitors include the brilliant German scientist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and English mountain climber Edward Whymper. In 1912 the Hacienda was purchased by General Leonidas Plaza Gutierrez, leader of the liberal Revolution and two-time President of Ecuador.With only eleven rooms, it is one of the most romantic spots for honeymoons and other special occasions. San Agustin de Callo constitutes the only lived in museum of Inca Imperial and Spanish Colonial style. Surrounded by the smoke-blackened Inca walls of the dining room, one can marvel at the infinite precision of the stonemasonry, a monument to the unrivalled craftsmanship of the Incas, and admire the stunning view of Cotopaxi, the highest active volcano in the world.The peaceful atmosphere and magical landscape combine to make San Agustin a sanctuary of inspiration for artists and lovers of nature and a restful haven for weary travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda San Agustin De Callo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Hotel Lasso
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Ecuador/Lasso, Cotopaxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing