We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baker House Bed and Breakfast
Ferdinand, IN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived to find this bed and breakfast is in great need of some upkeep and is starting to look run down. After checking in the lady told us she didn't want to climb the stairs and just told us how to get to our room. Our room was ok the rugs were very worn. It took quite a while to get hot water for a bath. Every time you turned on a light there was either a burnt out light bulb or a missing light bulb. The corners needed a good dusting.There was only one spare pillow and it had no pillow case.We were not aloud to bring in the snacks and drinks we had packed to enjoy on our trip they do not allow any out side food to be brought inside. There were boxes sitting on the chairs in the living room so you could not sit on some of the chairs. Some of the chairs you could see the springs hanging out under the chairs and when you sat down you fell through some of the chairs. The once beautiful water fountain is not falling apart and broken. The patio area is clutter with a mess. Breakfast was nothing special as you would expect at a bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Not so sure any of the rooms were good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couplefromIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
25
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having never been to North Little Rock before, this B&B made our stay a lot more enjoyable. Susan, the Innkeeper, was as pleasant and accommodating as could be, even though she was dealing with an injured ankle at the time.
The B&B was very nice, with the downside being not enough window coverings to keep the sunlight from coming through in the early morning.
Across the street we could catch the air-conditioned trolley going across the river into Little Rock. The B&B supplied free day passes to it's guests. Never would have imagined that Little Rock was such a neat town with all the places and activities that we enjoyed.
If you stay here, check out the Irish pub five blocks from the B&B. Very nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waycooljoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had such a wonderful weekend at the Baker House in Argenta. It was exactly what comes to mind when you think of a charming B & B in a historical old house. The new innkeeper was wonderful, breakfast was delicious & hearty each morning, very friendly service, & within walking and biking distance of shops, galleries, great food, and the river walk trails. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

One of the criteria for being listed on Tripadvisor's site as a B&B is that you must provide "daily housekeeping included in the room rate." When you also post a notice in the room stating "The room will be freshened and cleaned daily" (see photo), the expectation is that you will do so. During our two night stay in Room #1, it was NOT attended to (fresh towels, bed remade, light cleaning/vacuuming, supplies replenished) nor was it attended to after being asking for this service. After a long, hot day's worth of activities in the Little Rock area, no one wants to come "home" to a rumpled bed, used towels in the tub (see photos) and being told to help ourselves to supplies in the laundry room.

The cleanliness of the entire building was substandard - dust and dust bunnies were everywhere, some previous guest's toenail clipping was by the rug in the room. The wall sconces in this room were not connected to the wall. (See photos)

The sounds from Room #3, which abutted Room #1, were completely and utterly discernible. Frankly, no one wants to hear other guests's sounds and word for word conversations. It is apparent the owner's, who live off-site, are not providing appropriate guidance to the person managing the property.

The potential for a wonderful B&B with a great location is being diminished by a lack of care, lack of attention to details and by multiple repairs which need to be made.

The bed was quite comfy. The breakfast on day one was very good. (See photo) On day two only three items were served, pancakes, a bundt cake and pastries. A meal like this is too carb loaded for the average guest.

This experience at the Baker House is highly disappointing and makes this guest long for the accommodations and service at a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lovely old house,warm reception and guy the innkeeper makes a lovely breakfast,situated across the road from a free tramcar service and across the road from an italian restaurant where guy works and does the best wild mushroom soup on the planet.Only fault was that our room came with a seperate private bathroom and the sink was badly cracked, although an original fitting 114 years old please bite the bullet and replace it.If you are in north little rock this is a great warm and friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in North Little Rock. The trolley was an easy, fun and affordable way to navigate between the quieter Argenta District of North Little Rock and the late night River Market area of Little Rock. The Baker house was lovely and the breakfasts exceptional.

Room Tip: We had the room with the private bath across the hall. Next time in might chose the one with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironside54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were on the business trip with my colleague, and choosing among the hotels in Little Rock I suggested a crazy idea to stay at Victorian house, just for unusual experience. The house totally met my expectations, it is really a wonderful piece of history. One thing I didn't expect was the poor sound isolation, you can literally hear every step of your neighbor next door. So you feel as if all the inhabitants share the same space with very little privacy. Usually I am very sensitive to that; however, this time I was surprised that this didn't make me feel uncomfortable. I even had a very good sleep at night, but I was using the ear plugs. And everything they say in the review about the hospitality of the innkeeper and the owner is true, they are very nice. In general, I liked this experience, this really was an adventure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnyutaKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Little Rock
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Riverfront Little Rock
Wyndham Riverfront Little Rock
#2 of 28 in North Little Rock
1,654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Presidential
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#13 of 28 in North Little Rock
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#1 of 63 in Little Rock
659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baker House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 109 W 5th St, North Little Rock, AR 72114-5307
Location: United States > Arkansas > North Little Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in North Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Queen Anne Victorian historic house located downtown and the only Little Rock B&B on the trolley line with direct access to the Clinton Library, Convention Center and other downtown attractions. Free trolley day pass at check-in. Walk to Verizon Arena and several local restaurants and galleries. B&B luxury at downtown hotel rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Baker House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing