We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing any season”
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth seeing any season”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been here many times over the last 20 years as my mother-in-law lives just down the road. This time I was amazed at how much it was improved. The winter plantings were beautiful, even in this dormant season there was color. Additional bridges and restrooms were added since I visited last. Make a point of stopping to see and take photos from every angle.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank awhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    95
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Secret Garden right in NLR!”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This place absolutely blew me away! The stone wall that seems to separate the area from the rest of the world really did remind me of the secret garden of literature. The entire area is a picture postcard, nothing seems underserving of a picture. The concrete formed into tree branches and logs to make up many of the details are absolutely amazing. My only regret is that I didn't visit sooner!

Helpful?
Thank Love2Wrestle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice quiet break”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

this is a pretty area nestled in a neighborhood. It makes for a nice quiet break. Of course, this old mill was shown in the opening credits of the original Gone With the Wind film. It is fun walking the small grounds and being near the water.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank VisitMauii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful (but popular)”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I've visited NLR many times, and I love going over to the Old Mill. No matter what the season, it really is a nice place to hang out and read or stop by for a quick photo op. Flowers are always beautiful and the bridges are very unique. My only (minor) complaint would be that it's always very busy, so try to stop by at an off time. People often use this spot to shoot wedding photos and Christmas cards, so you may be a little irked by having to fight off the hordes if you go on the weekend. Still, it's absolutely lovely and I go almost every time I'm in Arkansas. Also, FYI that it's definitely not accessible for those with limited mobility, although even the view from the parking area is nice.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SeveraAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayflower, ar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Artist , this is a place for you !”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Gone with the wind, was filmed here.The old stone mill is a wonderful building to paint. Ok dont paint, well bring your cameras. you will love all the flowers too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank janbready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing