We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little lunch spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of E's Bistro and Gourmet Foods - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
E's Bistro and Gourmet Foods
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice little lunch spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at E's for lunch twice in the last few weeks and enjoyed it! So far, we have tried the Shrimp Appetizer, Tomato Pie, the Cuban sandwich, the Fish Tacos, and the Chicken Enchiladas. The food has been fresh and delicious, and the service has been very pleasant. They serve nice desserts, but we haven't had room to try them yet. Gee, I guess we have to go back and save some room next time!

Helpful?
Thank ARTrav481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“E's Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a cute, small place in a strip shopping center. Doesn't sound good? Think again! It has only about 12 tables and is simple but pretty inside. The food is what shines. It really is a gourmet lunch spot. They do dinner but I have not been there for that. The key here is great local sourced food that is well prepared and presented nicely. The fried green tomato, bacon, and lettuce sandwich is wonderful. They do sauces and spreads that don't overwhelm the food but really add a surprise taste that is very good. They make their own desserts too so there is a fresh daily selection that is different each day. this is a great place to come for lunch and visit with friends and enjoy special food without all the fuss. The staff is very nice too. Only one word of caution, sometimes they are a bit slow so if time is a big issue I'd go to the drive thru somewhere!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rivermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The soggiest chicken salad sandwich EVER!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Made the mistake of getting a chicken salad sandwich to go. It was without a doubt the soggiest sandwich I have ever had the misfortune to try to eat. The bottom bread was swimming in liquid (I could have literally wrung it out like a wet towel) and I had to pull it off and throw it away. This may have been caused by ordering fruit on the side in lieu of chips. Wish I had ordered chips. The fruit consisted of brown pineapple, sketchy looking grapes and a few pieces of decent tasting cantelope.

Speaking of grapes - I do love grapes in my chicken salad. The grapes on this sandwich were the size of small golf balls. I guess they never heard about slicing them INTO the chicken salad rather than leaving them whole. The gigantic grapes made for very interesting bread placement on the top half of the sandwich. I wondered why they didn't use the normal size grapes from the side order of fruit IN the chicken salad and serve the golf ball sized ones on the side.

In all - it was typical of what I expect to get when I forget and decide to give E's another chance. I stop by about once a year (all the while thinking it HAS to have gotten better), but nope, there is always something stupid and completely avoidable that ruins the dining experience. Honestly - this chick must have unlimited access to funds because I just can't figure out how she stays in business.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FastEddyArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet place to eat good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I like that it is small and quiet and very well staffed. The food is good and fresh and made when you order. I do not know if they buy local food but it is locally owned and very delicious. We go here often. It is tucked way in a small shopping center that a person wouldn't expect to find such a good restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stampaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We drive by this place all the time but finally decided to stop by last week. We were certainly glad we did! It was Sunday afternoon brunch. I ordered the eggs Benedict, my wife had the tomato pie, and we had mandarin orange cake for desert. Everything was outstanding!! Decor and atmosphere was very nice as well. We will def be back! A+!!

Helpful?
Thank LNE7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E's Bistro and Gourmet Foods also viewed

North Little Rock, AR
 
North Little Rock, AR
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing