We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good Experience”
Review of Santo Coyote

Santo Coyote
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not a good Experience”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Recommended as a good place to eat, we had high hopes. However, the staff obviously could not understand us. Asking for a medium well steak and getting a medium rare did not make an impression. Returning the steak, I asked that the sides be re-heated. on return, the steak was just about medium and the sides had not been re-heated, thus making the meal barely edible. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pictureseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    53
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We ate here while on vacation with our 5 and 8 year olds. The kids ordered their standard kid-fare (corn dogs, French fries) and my husband and I ordered the steak fajitas to share. The fajitas were very good, and the 1 lb. serving was more than enough for us. We each got a small plate of beans and rice, and the beans were really, really good. We also ordered a small margarita, which was nice and we had the queso, which was also good. Mild enough the kids enjoyed it. Nice atmosphere, located in a nice area of town among other restaurants and shopping. We would recommend it. Our server was very kind and helpful as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liberty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cinco de Mayo fun.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to Santo Coyote on Cinco de Mayo for a family outing. It was early in the evening, but there was already revelry going on inside. We were met at the door for alcohol ID checks to wear an arm band allowing us to order alcoholic beverages. This seems a good idea to eliminate the need for the server to have that responsibility. There was an extremely loud group of patrons in the center of the seating area which made conversation difficult, but thankfully they left soon. The wait staff and severs were attentive. Salsa and chips were very good. Food was artfully presented and very tasty. I had the "Famous Molcajete" which was mixed meats, peppers, onions served in an oversized molcajete. It was outstanding, very flavorful, enough for two people and priced reasonably. Everyone in the group agreed the star of the meal was the simple charro beans. Falvorful and rustic. Overall we all enjoyed this first visit to Santo Coyote.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 501Arby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level Contributor
304 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“One word---Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to one poor, young woman running around feverishly. We over heard that 4 people had called out of work. We waited, with a room packed of others, for tables, too. We began to explain to others coming in and walking up to an empty podium how hard this girl was working and the staff shortage. What a hard worker and trooper she was! We were seated with an immediate basket of chips and salsa. Restaurant looks very nice, decorated nicely and clean. After a few minutes of no one arriving to the table, we began to think they are very overwhelmed with the crowds due to staff shortage. Hold on, though! Don't give up. A very pleasant waitress greeted us, took her time with us instead of treating us like a number, took our order and said it could be a little while longer than expected as the kitchen just got slammed all at once (in so many words). Well, if that's a long time for food, then I would love to know what a short time is, because everything came out so incredibly fast. From the moment we walked into the building along with our wait at the beginning through to the very end when we got up to leave, our total time was.....ONE HOUR!!! The bonus? The food and drinks were phenomenal!!! We've eaten at some of the best Mexican restaurants in the country, but this place takes the cake. The margarita took my breathe away. Our only problem is that we are merely passing through and do not have this place to ever go back to as we live 1600 miles away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephV44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food. Nice upscale atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Went on a mid afternoon. Nice staff and beautiful restaurant. Not just your typical Mexican fare. Have sofas and 4 or 5 varieties of seafood. Will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nntheattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santo Coyote also viewed

North Little Rock, AR
North Little Rock, AR
 
North Little Rock, AR
North Little Rock, AR
 

Been to Santo Coyote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing