We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort and luxury for two”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Private off street parking at the front of Butterflies Kitchen with granite and oak worktops.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Sitting room
Private off street parking at the front of Butterflies
Kitchen with granite and oak worktops.
Separate large dressing room.
French doors lead to pretty private garden.
Open waters on a Seal trip at Blakeney Point
Take a boat ride to see the seals
Enjoy a walk on the Wiveton downs and enjoy the spectacular views
Wiveton Asparagus
Wiveton Church - once a busy port - marks from mooring ropes can still be seen etched into the walls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wiveton, Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mlwalker2...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and luxury for two”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This cottage is a perfect little gem for two people. There is a cosy living room with log burner and small well equipped kitchen and even a utility room downstairs. Bedroom, small dressing room and a bathroom with shower upstairs. A small garden at the back will be wonderful during warmer months.
It is beautifully decorated and the whole place feels very relaxing. Could not fault it.
There is a good pub in the village and you can easily walk to Cley and even Blakeney
is not too far to venture on foot. And Holt is 10 min drive away.
Can also recommend Dun Cow in Salthouse, very nice food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelsaunde...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway for two”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location was great for us, within walking of the village pub and the two neighbouring villages. Perfectly situated to see all the local attractions. There was a bottle of wine and mince pies waiting for us - very welcome after a long drive! The cottage was really cosy and comfortable with plenty of hot water and a lovely log fire. We would definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sp4ghetti
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The cottage is in a quiet village and has been beautifully renovated with a great little log burner. Nicola had thoughtfully left us a number of Christmas goodies in various rooms!

There is a very powerful shower in a nice bathroom and a good pub within a few minutes walk although a torch is definitely required! Once again Nicola was ahead of us and a torch was found on the kitchen counter ready for use.

The downstairs toilet housed a washing machine and the under stairs cupboard was huge with an airer and a hoover - which we did use as the glitter from our Christmas wrapping paper had sprinkled on the carpet (we won't be buying that type again!)

The kitchen had everything that we needed including a dish washer and a number of dishes, plates and glasses - probably the only thing we missed was a freezer but it was fine and to be honest I think that Nicola would've come to our aid had we really needed. A dressing room is not something that we've ever considered but even my husband remarked at what a nice idea it was ...

The dining table looks quite small in the pictures but is larger in reality and we had more than enough room for food, drinks, a table decoration that i'd made and to lay a table out nicely for Christmas meals.

We drove to Norwich on Christmas Eve as we'd been decorating at home and had managed little time for present shopping so had a productive morning with a great dim sum lunch.

On Christmas Day we cycled to Cley armed with a drop of our sloe gin and then on to The White Horse in Blakeney via some challenging hills!!

We would definitely return - winter or summer as there's a cute conservatory that would be smashing for an early summer morning with your first cuppa or even a BBQ in the walled garden. The pictures on the internet don't do it justice. We had taken a while to consider this cottage for Christmas as we'd had one last year and we were a little disappointed with it. We need not have worried for this year - it's perfect for a couple and I would say for a special occasion or anniversary perhaps ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foundthin...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely winter break”
Reviewed December 21, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at butterflies.
Having decided last minute to go to north Norfolk we wanted a place with a log burner or fire, somewhere cosy but not too costly. Nicola was lovely to deal with and always replied very quickly to our messages.

Butterflies is really nicely done out in neutral tones but with interesting pictures and ornaments which gave it character without looking cluttered. The Xmas decorations were a really nice touch.
One of our favourite things was the most amazing shower! We also both loved that there is a separate dressing area as it leaves the bedroom free of clutter.
We were only there for a weekend but spent that time walking along the beach at Holkham, we visited Horsey to see the seals and enjoyed some lovely pub meals.
Butterflies was an excellent base to explore from.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inishanno...
highgate
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“PERFECT WINTER RETREAT”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Myself and my wife stayed at butterflies cottage on the last weekend of November and what a treat.
From the moment you enter the property it feels like home. Bottle of wine, crisps, local coffee and more is such a lovely welcome.
The cottage is beautifully decorated with very comfortable bed, wood burner, full kitchen, comfortable sofa.
The attention to detail and cleanlenness is exceptional.
It's location is brilliant, a lovely village pub only 5 mins walk away and a beach a short drive away.
We cannot recommend this place enough and we will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and cozy winter perfection
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodation in every way.”
Reviewed November 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Clean and contemporary accommodation in a quiet location.Butterflies ticked all the boxes for us.One mile from Cley one mile from Blakeney wonderful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant home near seaside”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This property is simply gorgeous! From the moment you walk in the door you feel that you are in a very well maintained and updated property. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked for those who like to cook with an open floor plan so you can see through to the garden in back as well as the front. We stayed on a cold and stormy night but the owner had thought ahead to stock the firewood and provide starters for us, so we were able to enjoy the ambient heat from a working fire in addition to the ample heating system in the home. I hope to return again in a different season to enjoy the private garden dining area. Overall, a beautiful place to stay, very peaceful, very quiet and a very comfortable bed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior design
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing