We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”

Gostilna Pri Lojzetu - Castle Zemono
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Vipava
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $90
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Slovenian, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Slovenia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

That was my 5th visit to this restaurant. And they suceeded to impress us, again!
We never order a la carte, but simply let them to guide us through their fresh season specialties.

They can easily compare to some 1 or even 2 star Michelin restaurants.
What a wonderful place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Baufix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    22
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“French Laundry of Slovenia”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had such a fantastic lunch and experience at Restoran Pri Lojzetu at Castle Zemono. The atmosphere is beautiful with the mountains surrounding you. The wait staff and chef were very gracious hosts with a great sense of humor. The food was beautiful, tasty and creative. Call ahead to make a reservation. It was only 60 euros per person with the wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmcdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“THE BEST SLOW FOOD”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was quite surprised when noticed only two reviews about this restaurant. I am regularly visiting it for last 10 years, occasionaly couple times of year, definitely every time when I am in area within 100 km. Yes, it is worthed to drive so long to spent hours in this amasing restaurant with inovative and modern slow food as well as extensive list of local wines of excellent quality. Menu is made per season, always using fresh and available ingredients, owner Tomaz is always inovative and every time there is something new to taste. Reservations reccomended !!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dena_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gostilna pri Lojzetu is still on the top of the List. As always they never forget to surprise their guests with new inventions, new combinations of food.
If you decide to visit Zemono, pls let your hosts to guide you trough your lunch or dinner.
Would recommend to visit them on a sunny day and enjoy their terrace and views of Vipava valley.
Reservation is recommended, specially during weekends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bo_Pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,443 reviews
1,167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
“Should be scored 6 out of 5 !”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been there both during the summer (enjoying 5 hours long lunch with beautiful view on the surrounding vineyards) and during the winter, with almost as long diner in 300 years old cellar. One of the top restaurants on my, very long, list with the chef always working new products, new combinations and new tastes.

Pri Lojzetu is a combination of a slow food temple with some elements of molecular cuisine and amazing wine cellar with almost everything being served by glass.

Impossible to describe all dishes, seven or eight, we had: tartar of swordfish and Adriatic tuna with few magnet bay scampi, dried/marinated beef carpaccio on green peas foam, "wild bear goulash", polenta with scampi, local version of carbonara and many, many others. Be carefully, make sure that you have some room left for deserts (my mistake, we had none so end up having only his gin tonic sorbet, very impressive).

We have been there for a diner on a rainy Friday evening and the restaurant was full - by itself, it is probably a good enough proof of the quality as the place is in a middle of nowhere, really: 45-60mins drive to either of Ljubljana or Trieste, and a bit short to Goritza - unfortunately, there is no hotel nearby (or at least none you may want to stay at after such a great meal), so one needs to drive to either of those places.

Make sure you have at least 3-4 hours for your lunch or diner - anything less than that and you will miss a big part of the experience.

As to the bill: probably the best value for money I've ever seen (keep this way !) - the bill will be always less that you would imagine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilna Pri Lojzetu - Castle Zemono also viewed

Vipava, Inner Carniola Region
Vipava, Inner Carniola Region
 
Nova Gorica, Styria Region
 

Been to Gostilna Pri Lojzetu - Castle Zemono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing