We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Nugegoda
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Best of Lanka
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
126
27
4
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
126
27
4
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour excellent driver nuwara eliya national park driver guide two weeks great trip beautiful country tour company safari camp one night our honeymoon many thanks the entire trip felt very safe acres resort local knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 168 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019

We have just returned from a fantastic three week trip of Sri Lanka from Negambo to Jaffna and around !. I am so glad that I chose Best of Lanka. Although I usually book through my usual travel agent, we chose Shasheen at best of Lanka because he had such quick response time with good options and was so easy to deal with. He created an itinerary that was just a great fit with what we loved to do.
I am really glad to have chosen them. I think the real advantage was their local knowledge , and great local guides and connections that enabled us to have what we felt was a really authentic experience with so many different things to do. Sri Lanka has so much to offer and Best of Lanka has the means of enabling us to experience it all.
Our trip was perfectly well organized from start to finish. Even though we mixed it up with farm stays, B&Bs and 5 star , all accommodation was fantastic. Every day brought something new and different.
Dula was our appointed driver and he was great company really informative and helpful and he looked after us with interpreting or whatever we needed .Every day he checked with us what we wanting to do & if it was slightly varied from the original plan we had flexibility. Even by 3 weeks,it seemed nothing was too much trouble for him and he was still very happy to explain Sri Lanka on our travels.
My husband and I were both appreciative that although we spoke to some guides who had not had a job in the last 2 months, we found the Sri Lankin people to still be wearing a big smile, and were without exception very polite and respectful.On the only 2 occasions for the whole trip when people were offering to perhaps help us walk up Sigirya or act as an informative guide around a temple( we assumed with the hope of a tip afterwards) our driver did politely intervene on our behalf. I'm not sure if it is because we were often the beaten track often, but my husband and I both commented on the fact that unlike some other countries we have traveled to in the past,who rely heavily on the tourism, it felt a bit unusual and quite liberating to be able to relax and enjoy the friendly, polite and completely non harassing behavior of the Sri Lankins .This was valid even in the more tourist areas, accommodation and on the beach .
Thanks Shasheen and Dula for giving us such a wonderful and relaxing holiday . I would highly recommend this company to anyone wishing to visit Sri lanka.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank 198rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

We had a very positive experience booking our trip with Nipun at Best of Lanka. Quick responses, great itinerary, and quick modifications when requested.
Our driver was polite and drove very well. The car was clean, comfortable and airconditioned.
Our dissatisfaction came from feeling quite vulnerable at times with requests for tipping and our drivers friendliness with all the places that he took us. I know that everyone was feeling the pinch after the tragedy two months ago, but it felt like we were being thrown to into the lions den of ripoffs everywhere we went. On that note, do not get coerced into going to the Oak Ray Silk Gallery and the Isini Gem and Jewellers by any of your drivers in Kandy. They are a total scam. We were hoping that a tour guide/driver would have protected us from this sort of thing. Particularly when we had researched some craft shops that we wanted to go and see and we were directed here instead. It left a sour note on our trip to Sri Lanka when similar items could be purchased for half the price at the airport on our way home. Best of Lanka, you need to get your drivers to act in the best interests of your customers.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank SheryleFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

We had a tour for 10 days from Colombo to Jaffna. Our driver Kosala brought is safely and punctualy to pur hotels. He had very good suggestions for our daytrips. Thanks to him we now know a lot more about S.L. We had a great trip with a great driver!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank SigridR206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

We chose Best of Lanka as they responded best to tailoring a Sri Lankan tour to our interests. Shasheen was very responsive and gave us the experiences we were after - ranging from homestays to resorts. Our driver Kosala was very accommodating and flexible to our changing needs as we learnt more about the destinations we were heading to. We always felt safe. Would highly recommend Best of Lanka.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank michaelcJ3995WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

We were looking for a tour of Sri Lanka for a group of travelling friends, eight from Australia and one from Switzerland. Having made contact with several companies, we chose Best of Lanka as they were very prompt to respond, they offered the sort of experiences that we were interested in and they were very flexible in adapting their basic itinerary to suit our requirements. Nipun was very easy to deal with and was always prompt in responding to any queries and special needs. Our experience travelling around Sri Lanka for seventeen days gave us a great insight into the diverse nature of the country. We experienced everything from the hustle and bustle of Colombo to the quiet village life in the villages around Habarana; the ancient history around the cultural triangle to the fashionable jewellery shops in Galle; the beaches along the west coast to the high country at Horton Plains National Park; accommodation in large hotels with swimming pools to our delightful home-stay in Kandy and our safari camp at Yala; the wild animals and birds in the national parks to the cultivated orchids in the Peradeniya Royal Botanical Gardens; the desert areas in the Yala National Park to the lush vegetation in the hills around Kandy; the variety of food offered at the buffet meals at the larger hotels to our fabulous cooking class with Ruki where we bought food from the market and assisted with preparing and cooking the meal; and transport in our comfortable air conditioned bus to local transport including the train from Kandy to Nanu Oya, jeeps in Colombo and the national parks and a boat ride along the canal and lagoon in Negombo.
The one common factor everywhere was the friendly people who made our tour so enjoyable. Despite the suffering the Sri Lankan people are experiencing from the downturn in tourism post the terrible bombings, everyone went out of their way to welcome us and ensure that we were safe and had a good time.
We are especially appreciative of our guide Kosala who made sure that all the logistics were in place for our trip to go smoothly and assisting us with all our needs; our driver Kamal who was amazing in negotiating the traffic safely which was no mean feat weaving his way amongst the tuk-tuks on the narrow, winding roads; and our helper Dammika who kept the bus clean and stocked with bottled water and was always there to assist with luggage.
We had too many great local guides to mention them all but we would like to give a special thank you to Warner from Kamatha 4x4 Safari Day Tours for driving us around the cultural triangle in his jeeps, introducing us to the local Arrack for sundowners and giving us a local Sri Lankan meal at his house at Habarana.
We would highly recommend Sri Lanka as a travel destination and Best of Lanka as a travel company. A huge thank you to everyone who made our trip so enjoyable and memorable.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Corinne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews