We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in colombo”
Review of Breeze of Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Breeze of Paradise
Ranked #1 of 8 Nugegoda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Breeze of Paradise guesthouse is home away from home in true sense! The owners Suresh and Kalahari are very passionate n visionary about this job. Both themselves are avid globetrotter and hence get friendly with guest from various part of world in no time .
The rooms are spacious and absolutely clean .I stayed in single bed room . The bed was comfortable, Fan, hot water geyser ,quite split AC ,is a nice relief from other places I had stayed in last trip.There is a washing m/c for guests at no extra cost All the rates are transparently put on the website .
I highly recommend the Sri Lankan style breakfasts kala and suresh serves with passion and sincerity. I am a pure vegetarian and they were able to provide me with variety of veg dishes and sweets for entire stay. Even you can enjoy cooking your own dishes with Kalahari !
I was on business trip and stayed for 15 days and noticed that the family takes great efforts and care in selfless guidance about transport, stay & other travel needs for those who are travelling further in sri lanka You will feel at home as there are people who care about you and your concerns. .They are working out on “S.L. tour package” and looking at their integrity with profession it should be best n value for money option .
The area is very well connected to heart of city .Advice to first time visitor ,ask owners for pick up from airport (mostly one of the family member picks up!). It works out cheap and timesaving option as other taxi driver may take more time to locate the guest house.
Finally ,Without doubt, the best accommodation I found in terms of value, ambience and service during a recent trip to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally good with split AC ,attached bathroom ,heater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prayank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, Owner at Breeze of Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you Mr Prayank Bannore! You walked into Breeze of Paradise as a walk-in guest, but at the time of leaving you had become a family member. You were such an inspirational guest and thank you for teaching us how to prepare some authentic Indian dishes. We too enjoyed every minute that you spent at our Home-stay.
Also thank you for the detailed review on us that you did despite of your very busy schedule. We are really looking forward to meeting you and your family again at Breeze. Wish you Good Luck sir!
Breeze of Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Arriving jet lagged and from the freezing UK suresh and kala made us feel welcome immediately. They met us from airport and brought us to their lovely house in the colombo suburbs south of city. Great room. Food superb and typically Sri lankan. They can't do enough to please. We stayed 4 nights then a 5th on way back and onward journey. Good luck for the future suresh, kala and pahan.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deerparklodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, Owner at Breeze of Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

We take this opportunity to thank our wonderful guests, Janet and Steve from UK for choosing us for the stay in Colombo. They began their Sri Lankan tour by exploring the vibrant city of Colombo while staying with us for four nights and then moved to many other parts of the country. Being avid travelers, Janet and Steve showered us with loads of advice and support for our further progress and we value them so much. We had a great time with both of you and appreciate every moment you spent with us. Wish good luck to both of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The name “Breeze of Paradise” a home-stay in Nugegoda evokes visions of gentility, and so it is, in every sense of the word, but it is the host and hostess, Suresh and Kalahari Fernando, respectively, who provide the lingering memories that makes you want to revisit Sri Lanka and their home.

Where Suresh measures his words and actions, Kala is a staccato of words and actions, and so this very charming couple binds you to their home through their generosity and kindness.

Their home-stay is as peaceful as the name implies, where the inhabitants sometimes wake up mornings to the chatter of squirrels and the thundering rampage of monkeys. The double bedroom is delightfully comfortably furnished and the adjoining washroom clean. The Fernando’s have all the necessary contacts and provide a wealth of information pertaining to transportation, out-of-town accommodation and places to visit. Kala is an avid shopper and will find you the best deals in town – be they on clothes, souvenirs or art.

Kala and Suresh will pick you up or drop you for that matter in their AC Toyota (Kala drives and Suresh navigates) from /to the airport which is a 45 minute drive from their home. It is a comfortable drive and a pleasant change if you’re visiting from India. Sri Lanka is for that matter nothing like you’ve imagined or everything you expect from paradise.

Their home is a measured profusion of colours, with an indoor pond that houses a few Koi fish and an indoor Zen garden with a measure of plants and flowers.

Breeze of Paradise is a must stay home-stay, for those looking for an introduction to Sri Lankan Hospitality, Art, Literature, Music, Culinary and Cultural experiences. We were lucky to have started and ended our tour of Sri Lanka with them, we intend on returning to them – “why stop when you’ve got a good thing going”.

.............Shobhna and Sanjiv Nundy
..............Montreal, Canada.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shobhna_Sanjiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, Owner at Breeze of Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We thank Mr and Mrs Nundy for your very thoughtful comment on Breeze of Paradise. It's been a really great pleasure and a privilege to have such a wonderful couple like you with us. You too left such wonderful memories and we als thank you for your valuable advice and supportive words as to how we can improve our business to a higher level. Breeze of Paradise was truly lit up by you during your stay and we are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you again at our Homestay. Wish you good luck with all your endeavors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our stay at Breeze of Paradise was brief but even that small period gave us very warm memories to carry back home. Kalhari and Suresh were excellent hosts and very warm and friendly.
They not only made us feel at home but also gave us excellent tips and information to explore the island. They helped us arrange our trip to Kandy. The room too was very pretty and well kept. Overall our experience was really great. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rutli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, Owner at Breeze of Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you Ms Rutli for your wonderful comment on us. We are indeed very happy to note that our guests feel at home with Breeze of Paradise. It is our vision too and thanks for expressing such wonderful feelings. We wish both of you every success and hope to see you soon in SL again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at Breeze of Paradise last week with my family. It was such a delightful experience. The hosts were very very friendly and helpful. We felt very much home there. They served us with many Sri Lankan dishes and they were awesome. It’s a beautiful house and we really enjoyed our stay there. I recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Muhannad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, Owner at Breeze of Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you Mr Matahen for choosing us for your stay in SL and also for taking time from your busy schedule to write a candid review on us. We have been privileged to serve you at our Homestay and hope you would stay with us again and again. You and your adorable family left many nice memories with us and thanks again for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am from Bangladesh and was in Sri Lanka on a business tour. I stayed at Breeze of Paradise and it was in every sense a great stay. The host family was very friendly and helped me with every need of mine. It's beautiful, clean homely environment and I found the location too is very convenient. Home cooked meals were superb.
I'm really looking forward to make another trip with my family, and without a second thought I would stay at Breeze of Paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Asiful I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, Owner at Breeze of Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We are delighted to have such a candid review on us by Mr Asiful from Bangladesh. Mr Asiful is a very nice gentleman who stayed with us during his official visit to Sri Lanka. We thank Mr Asiful for choosing us for his stay in SL and sacrificing time from his busy schedule to do a review on us. We really appreciate that Sir. Hope you would stay with us again soon.
Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I’m very happy I could stay at Breeze of Paradise and meet the family.They are so
kind.Their hospitality is splendid.I really had a good time:) I made a lot of nice memories.The location is very nice.We can go to city easily and there are many nice stores.It’s very convenient.And their home cooking is sooo delicious!
I appreciate their kindness.I definitely stay at Breese of paradise again!
I really recommend to stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TomokoSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, Owner at Breeze of Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

It's been a great pleasure to have Ms Tomoko Suzuki with us for her stay in Sri Lanka and she's been our first guest from Japan. We thank Ms Suzuki for taking time to write such a candid review on us and also for the sentiments expressed therein. Ms Suzuki is such a wonderful person and it's been a priviledge to have her with us. Our Home-stay was lit up by her beautiful smile.
We are looking forward to welcoming Ms Suzuki again at our Home-stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nugegoda
5.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
298 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.0 mi away
Amali Residence
Amali Residence
#3 of 8 in Nugegoda
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
CJ Villas
CJ Villas
#14 of 153 in Colombo
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Cottage
White Cottage
#2 of 12 in Nugegoda
29 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Penthouse Above Sea
The Penthouse Above Sea
#1 of 45 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breeze of Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breeze of Paradise

Address: 35 8a, Meegahawatte Road | Gangodawila, Nugegoda 10250, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Nugegoda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nugegoda
Price Range: $26 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breeze of Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a very popular home-stay host in Colombo and have won two awards from Tripadvisor in 2014 - Traveller's Choice award and Certificate of Service Excellence. We provide very personalized service to our guests. Our property offers 4 rooms - Single, Double, Triple and Family. All rooms are tastefully decorated with air-conditioning,private bathrooms with hot water. Telephone and Internet facilities (free wifi) are also available for the guests. There is a separate TV area. This is a non smoking residence and the guests are allowed to smoke outside. . Staying with us is a great way for you to explore Sri Lankan hospitality and life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breeze of Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing