We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Del Suizo”
Review of La Casa del Suizo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Suizo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Napo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Casa Del Suizo”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Fantastic location to see the jungle but still have an A1 resort to come back to...Food was fantastic, lovely rooms with balconies and hammocks..we also had a personal guide, Santiago Salazar, who was amazing. We had the opportunity to go tubing on the Napo River, plus many other activities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    128
    34
    10
    11
See reviews for
86
123
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here on the Friendly Planet Exotic Ecuador tour for two nights- loved it!
We had a large triple room which was comfortable and clean. We all slept like babies here
This is as far into the jungle as I am willing to go (being a city girl and proud of it). We spent the morning on the hammock watching the a activities on the river and loving it while our adult daughter joined the group in the jungle walk and other excursions ( too strenous for me).
We loved la casa del Suizo!
The location is out of this world, the view fantastic, food delicious
Only complaint is NO WIFI! but we were able to take a short walk to the Internet place in the town right outside the hotel. We enjoyed the karaoke bar there too with a group of our fellow travelers.
All in all, I will always treasure the memories of our time at La Casa Del Suizo.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Been many times to this place and all I can say is that it has an incredible buffet and the pool is ok. No wild life around, it is mostly a Cancun type resort in the Tena area. Great for relaxation and eating or drinking.

If coming to rest is ideal to check the forecast to make sure the wather would be nice and sunny.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was much more than we expected having traveled to the Amazon several times before. Very family friendly with the activities, buffet and especially the swimming pool which allowed for quiet time for the adults. The nature guides were incredibly knowledgeable and always turned each adventure into a learning experience our kids will never forget. We were 5 adults and 8 kids ages 5-12. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgrunwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is a great place to go with your family or friends if your interested in the jungle but not really interested in "roughing" it. This is more resort than jungle living experience. That said it is real jungle and the excursions are very authentic and fun. Hikes in the jungles, boat and tubing on the river, and native crafts and goods.

I had done a more authentic trip in primary jungle so if you are interested in a no electricity and bathing in the rio napa I would suggest something else. If you want to an all inclusive trip accessible to all ages and abilities than this is your place.

Fyi: The price on the website for foreigners is about 200-300 bucks more than if you book it as an Ecuadorian. But it includes a ride.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zanderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

we stayed here 2 nights, and enjoyed it tremendously. We took a hike in the jungle(very strenuous-not just flat walking, but up a mountain), rode on the river, my daughter tubed down a section of the Napo river, and went into the little town where we saw a local potter and balsa wood carver. The meals were excellent, and the staff attentive. One note-lots of stairs and climbing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gardengoddess54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, berks
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights after tour of Galapagos. Room was large and comfy with balcony complete with hammock and riverview. Food at the buffet was fine but not very varied. Staff was pretty unconcerned with the service they provided and reception was positively rude!

Getting there was an adventure and some of the activities were good but at 3 of the 'family homes' that we visited (out of 3) the person who could show us the blowgun/pottery/rope making was not available. Long way to travel from Quito for a bit of R&R by the nice pool.

Be aware that the government is building an international cargo aiport just near the river and the construction of housing for workers has already begun.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annensteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Napo
19.0 mi away
Hostal Los Yutzos
Hostal Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Ecologica Mariana Miller Lodge
1.1 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#12 of 29 in Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.8 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
8.8 mi away
Banana Lodge
Banana Lodge
#1 of 12 in Misahualli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Suizo

Property: La Casa del Suizo
Address: Julio Zaldumbide N25-42 y Valladolid | Punta Ahuano, Puerto Napo 150156, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Puerto Napo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Napo
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your La Casa del Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Suizo Hotel Quito
La Casa Del Suizo Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing