We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel overlooking the Napo River”
Review of La Casa del Suizo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Suizo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Napo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I loved this hotel. It is in the Amazon reagion of Ecuador. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was great. It seemed to me that the staff were jack of all trades. One time they would be serving you dinner and the next they are your tour guide on a trip. The room was great however, the bathroom had no roof so the expectation of privacy kind of went out the window..or roof. The rooms have no windows but they do have screens to keep the bugs out. I loved the hammocks in every bedroom. Since there were no windows it was great to lay in bed and listen to the sounds of the Amazon which really comes to life at night. Loved the pool area and the grounds. Wow what a place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 388 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our tour said were going to the Amazonia region. All kinds of pictures went through our imaginations regarding our "hotel" in the jungle. After climbing many, many steep steps From the river canoes( with rest stops to wipe the wet off our faces) we arrived at a a large plateau with pool, restaurant, reception, and watering hole aka bar.
With the heat and humidity, we were very lucky to have the closest room to the center. The windows were screens. There were 2 doors leading to the patio which overlooked the river. We were able to watch the river traffic from our perch on the high bank.
The local guides working from the hotel were very knowledgable and most helpful. They made sure no one was left behind no matter how slow they may be. Outstanding patience was exhibited at all times.
If we could move it closer to home, we would do again without the group tour.

Room Tip: 201 has no climbing involved. No air conditioning. Pool is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was traveling throughout Ecuador with my Husband and 3 children. We we looking for an adventure with in a "safety zone" because of the kids. The trek out to Casa Del Suizo was awesome! The motorized canoes gave the trip just enough of an edge to make it very exciting.
We arrived at the Casa and were frankly..overwhelmed at the moderization of the whole property. Huge outdoor swimming pool, very comfortable accommodations, and amazing food & service. Don't get me wrong..you are in the jungle AND on the Napo so there is absolutley a raw undertone. We had a huge snake one evening come through open air the dining room, saw turantulas throughout the property and felt like we were in the jungle!!
I recommend taking the jungle hike..with a guide!! I also suggest the Local village visit, and having the opportunity to build a balsa wood raft.
Lastly, kudos to the staff for giving up the owners bungalow for our family of 5!! AC, huge bathrooms and a front row-unobstrcted view of the river and jungle below.
Simply Fabulous!!

Room Tip: it is worth an email to the Resort, or additional cost to upgrade to the owners suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHappyAlways65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when we traveled with Gate1. The hotel is located on an island, high above the Napo River. Be prepared to walk the steep climb from the river to and from the hotel - step aerobics in real life, not in a gym. We especially loved the canoe rides on the Napo river to get to and from the hotel as well as to and from different sites. I do not know the other reviewers who also stayed here at different times with Gate1, but share their same positive sentiments. Loved the too short time at the hotel and would love to return.

The tasty food was served buffet style with a nice selection to suit all. One night the meat was tongue. It was prepared well, yummy! Different from the usual chicken, beef or fish for an entrée. There was a nice variety of herbal teas, anis, oregano, flora, and others which I enjoyed.

A variety of beautiful moths of different sizes, shapes, and colors visited our screened windows every night; I enjoyed that nightly show.

The rooms had fans but were warm, bearable without air conditioning.

Activities here included - hikes in the rain forest with 2 levels depending on one's ability, visit to a local Quecha family, ride on a balsa raft, (ours was cancelled because of strong currents that day), tour an animal rescue center, see a variety of butterflies, walk in the local town, and an option for an extreme physical challenge that required 4 participants, only one in our group wanted to go on that.

WiFi was weak... who needs e-mails, forwards and spam? Remember, this hotel is in the Amazon, CHILL OUT, RELAX and ENJOY :->

.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geaux-saints-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Takes a scenic canoe ride to get to this amazing resort in the middle of the jungle. We had our own 4 bed hut with a hammock on the deck. There is no glass on the windows, only screens, which was amazing. Buffets are served for all meals and they are fantastic with lots of variety. Beautiful views, beautiful pool, and beautiful people. The staff was so friendly and hard working.
thanks Gate 1 for a great accommodation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

You get to the hotel by river canoe. The town outside the hotel is good to see, its like going back in time. Hotel is simple but nice, a screened well is open to the elements but gives a good view of the Napo river valley. The animal rescue centre is a good trip and is booked though the hotel. The only disappointment was the lack of wild live as this is only the start of the rain forest. Food is good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went with gate 1 tour to this scenic resort. Enjoyed the canoe trip to get there on the river.
Enjoyed seeing another part of the Amazon basin a little different from Peruvian amazon.
Rooms comfortable but no air conditioning so a little warm. We did many interesting and
adventurous things such as hiking,rafting,swimming in river,and animal rescue park. The resort
very pretty and the food was OK. Have a nice pool and bar area to relax. Need to pay more attention to rooms as we had no towels but management did their best to take care of problems.
The only thing we didn't like was that if you wanted coffee with dinner or lunch you had to order from bar and there was a charge. Think they could offer it with meals. All in all a really nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Napo
19.1 mi away
Hotel Los Yutzos
Hotel Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Ecologica Mariana Miller Lodge
1.1 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hotel Christian Resort
11.7 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
4.8 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Suizo

Address: Julio Zaldumbide N25-42 y Valladolid | Punta Ahuano, Puerto Napo 150156, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Puerto Napo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Napo
Price Range: $181 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Casa del Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Suizo Hotel Quito
La Casa Del Suizo Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing