We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building and location but rooms are very shabby in need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mision Grand Juriquilla
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Juriquilla
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great building and location but rooms are very shabby in need of renovation”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel in the past three years and it has gotten worse. The location and the building are beautiful in the traditional Mexican style but rooms leave much to be desired.
Very dark and quite depressing, they are in desperate need of renovation. Could not walk barefoot on the carpet due to the vomit stains next to the bed, the bathroom was not clean at all and the bed spreads need a good wash.
Another annoying thing is that there is no elevator so if you have heavy luggage, ask for a room on the ground floor as the stairs are pretty steep.
The food in the restaurants is good and inexpensive, and a little jewelry story at the back is a gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    154
    87
    27
    28
See reviews for
186
80
5
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belle River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Old Hacienda has charm and character. Rooms large and comfortable. Restaurants good. Juan the bartender is very friendly, helpful and speaks excellent English. Grounds are very nicely kept and the whole place gives you a small resort like feeling. One thing missing is a fridge in the room. Stayed here on 3 separate occasions now and a total of about 6 weeks last year. Many vendors in the square by Mavericks restaurant on a Sunday. Some interesting stuff but dreadfully overpriced compared to shopping elsewhere. No elevators so it's stairs or nothing. Nice to spend a day off unwinding by the pool when there on a business trip. This is my hotel of choice when in this area.

Room Tip: Ground floor has a patio area off your room. No usable balconies upstairs though. Rooms nearer the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenmyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It is built around a very old hacienda ( estate), that dates from the 1700's....(rooms are not that old). Had to stay here for a conference, hotel is good, the room I stayed in was roomy, and in general service and food was good. It is a great place if you want to try something different ....but probably not setup for business travel: we had to make a change in the reservation before arriving and could not get anyone on the phone to help...internet access was intermittent/very slow and even closing the double door inside the room it was a noisy room ( thin walls?).....

Room Tip: Get one by the pool, it is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Mi
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'm not sure who is incharge of the Mision website, but yet again, the photos of this place on the internet do not do it justice!

We arrived to Juriquilla late night and they still had our room waiting for us - which was very nice. However, the lady at the reception (Guadalupe) was not very friendly and didn't even acknowledge me even though I was the only one waiting to check in. Not even a "Hello, I will be right with you" which didn't make me feel very welcomed. The lobby with really nice, the hotel, even though very large, had a boutique feel to it. Everything was very clean and had very nice artistic details.

This hotel is next to (includes?) a golf course, which is pretty cool. We got a little lost looking where to park our car and enter.. there are large arches that barricade the property, and a parking lot, but if you go back further, hidden is the check out and more parking for guests (no extra charge).

We hit the sheets soon after arriving. I thought the rooms were very very big, wonderful bathroom and nice coffee station. Wasn't expecting them to be so big! The halls throughout the hotel I thought were really cool, they were long, dark and medieval feeling. Like I said, it doesn't have that 'large hotel feel' to it..

The next morning we wandered the property before leaving. The property is a-we-so-me! The grounds were so well kept and manicured. The grounds (being so large) are a little confusing, but no problem-- we were on vacation!

My favorite part was probably the small church, which had a lot of character and very unexpected at a hotel. And also, the palenque (where they do cock fights). It was closed when we went but would have liked to partake in that experience. The hotel used to be a old Hacienda.

I really liked the location. I liked that you had such a unique property full of character but yet still close enough to go back and forth to Queretaro. I would recommend this hotel for people looking for a spacious hotel with character and history.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The place is beautiful. Big old beautiful hacienda style hotel. The only problem is that it's only beautiful. They have really bad beds, horrible lights in the room and the staff is really unfirendly. The gym was a fiasco too, you actually have to cross the entire hotel to ask them to give you a little magnet to turn on the treadmills. The taxis from the hotel are really expensive and getting downtowm will take you more than half an hour.
I stayed for 3 days and decided to leave earlier since my back was really in a bad shape after using their beds. My last day we asked at the front desk for a good restaurant and the answer was that every resturant in Queretaro was good (and needless to say, that is not true). The food at the hotel was ok, but nothing really worth mentioning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank viajerapornegocios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is classic and has Mexico feeling but very disappointed with its services. First of all, golf is not in walking distance. The surrounding is not a great place so stay in hotel.
We arrived very late and hotel diner did not want to serve us. The room had remodel but you can still smell the cigarette odor in non-smoking room. Over my five night stays, misquotes had a feast, twenty bites over my body. I had to set up channels for the TV. Two days breakfast where juice and fruits did not taste fresh. Gym was very old and need major upgrade.
It is very nice large hotel and one restaurant at courtyard offers pretty good food so it could be a better experience if the place is fully remodels.

Room Tip: Stay away from 365 plus wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfbeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Serendipity took me to Querétaro City, México and a stay at the Mision de Juriquilla. This hotel is some miles away from Querétaro's lovely historic downtown.

First about Querétaro; this is a safe,calm, lovely city near México City. The colonial downtown has enough to see and a great place to walk; there is a lovely baroque church, and some quaint museums, and some interesting history.

Second about the hotel. This is a old converted hacienda; the buildings and gardens are very nice and well kept. The rooms are very spacious, and when I was there they were well cleaned and appointed with the exception of some amenities Americans would except to see such as a wash cloth. The rooms were quiet.

The staff was courteous and professional. I did not eat at any of the restaurants or drank at the bar to provide any feedback, I did walk near the hotel where there is a seafood restaurant with a nice bar; also, in there are some taco stands nearby. I eat at several of them and the food was tasty, cheap, and safe.

If your goal is to visit historic downtown, you can take a taxi for $10 or so,

This hotel is quite nice and worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarSojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juriquilla
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hacienda Jurica
#24 of 93 in Queretaro City
560 reviews
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
9.2 mi away
No photo provided
La Casa del Atrio
#1 of 93 in Queretaro City
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ramada Encore Queretaro
#19 of 93 in Queretaro City
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Grand Juriquilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Grand Juriquilla

Property: Mision Grand Juriquilla
Address: Blvd Villas del Meson 56, Juriquilla, Queretaro City 76230, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro City > Juriquilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Juriquilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Grand Juriquilla 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a renovated eighteenth century farmhouse north of the city of Queretaro, surrounded by gardens and buildings that evoke the colonial Mexico. An ideal place to huge conventions, business groups, weddings and guests who enjoy a refined atmosphere, always with the tradition of hospitality in Mission Hotels scenario. Our Queretaro hotel has 192 standard rooms and 4 suites, with services and amenities of first class. Also it offers 13 meeting rooms from 10 to 2000 people with services to perform the wedding of your dreams, special events, parties and business meetings. In our facilities you will find Poliforum, restaurant, ATM, internet free of charge, transportation (upon request), golf course with 18 holes, soccer and tennis, pool, spa, gym, playgrounds and silver, which we stands as one of the hotels in Queretaro most complete services and amenities. Our Hotel in Queretaro, Mexico has a prime location, 10 minutes from Queretaro Industrial Park, 45 minutes away from the city and 2 hours from Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mision Grand Juriquilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Juriquilla Hotel Queretaro
Mision Grand Juriquilla Queretaro, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing