We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our winter paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Palms
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our winter paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

For 11 years, now, my wife and I have spent a few weeks at Royal Palms, more recently with visits by family, including grand-children.
The fact that we return annually says it all. Mary, Tracy, their family and Maribel make us so very welcome and there is almost nothing that they cannot do for you. The apartments are spacious, spotless and comfortable. The garden and pool are lovely, and the location is so convenient for the best beaches and eating on the island. We hope to be able to return to to this ideal getaway for years to come.
The island is a desireable locale in any season

Room Tip: All 6 apartments are good. You may state preference for ground floor for convenience or upper for be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snugharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

That is the tag line for Anguilla and Royal Palms is the best kept secret on the island! This relaxing, family owned, six unit apartment setting is a home away from home. Royal Palms sits on a hillside overlooking beautiful Rendezvous Bay beach and St. Martin.The Busbys cannot do enough to assure that your stay will be a happy one. Rooms are simply furnished, but adequate. You can dine in or go out to many fine restaurants on the island. Rent a car to enjoy any of the 32+ public beaches (one is more beautiful than the next), and return to sleep soundly amid the soft Caribbean breezes. Our best recommendation is that we have returned to lovely Royal Palms for the past five winters.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PennsylvaniaDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anguilla,bwi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We have been going to Anguilla for 15 years and have stayed at numerous places on the island. ROYAL PALMS is by far the best. Excellent location, friendly and helpful owners and staff. We will be returning at Christmas with our 3 children and I know they will have a great time.

Room Tip: reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mebrla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We have been coming to Anguilla for 21 years. We spent three weeks at Royal Palms this March. We could have not been more welcomed than we were there. The owners are terrific, Marybelle, the housekeeper was wonderful. Whatever we needed was provided with grace. The apartment was clean and well maintained.

The bottom line is that we are booked in again next year !! Need I say more ?

Gabe and Devi Garber
Bucks County, PA/NYc

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

My friends & I took a day trip from St. Martin & decided to stay the night when we found out Bankie Banx was performing at the Dune Preserve & absolutely became enchanted with Anguilla. Accelyn, our amazing driver (look for him, every hotel will know--he is THE kindest, most helpful man) found us this hotel.

We were honestly willing to stay almost anywhere & had no idea what to expect when Accelyn told us the price for $45/each for the four of us. When we drove up to Royal Palms, we were so pleasantly surprised! We saw a bug or two but if you go to an island, you really can't sweat that kind of stuff. The rooms are very simple but spacious: 2 bathrooms, a living room, full kitchen, amazing balcony--definitely much more than we expected!

The pool & tropical oasis of a garden is absolutely gorgeous, the staff (Ms. Mary) super helpful. Its location is also great--ideally suited if you have a car--only 10 minutes from the spectacular Rendezvous Bay. For an affordable place to stay in the relatively expensive Anguilla, I can't say enough about this place. Pick up some groceries, cook up a delicious meal, and eat it on the porch overlooking the beautiful view of Anguilla. I would certainly love to go back here with my boyfriend!!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

My wife and I arrived on Anguilla and were promply met at the ferry terminal by our taxi driver that Royal Palms arranged to transport us. Upon arrival at Royal Palms, we were greeted by Mary Busby and her daughter, who assisted us with our luggage and let us choose what room we wanted. We choose the top floor (3rd) for the view but have to admit that the stairs can be tiring, especially with groceries. We rented a car from them as well and filled out the registration form and temporary drivers license. I should note that they did not ask for a credit card and was not required to secure my reservation with one either. That shows how easy going and laid back it is there!!

We had been traveling all day and the sun was going down. We wanted to go to a grocery store to pick up some basics for our room, which all have a full kitchen. Mary was kind enough to have us follow her to the grocery store so we didn't get lost! After about 30 minutes of shopping, to my surprise Mary was still there waiting on us to lead us back!!

The apartments are very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The balcony overlooks the pool and Rendevous Bay, with St. Martin in the distance. Rendevous Bay, in my opinion, is the best beach on Anguilla, although I have not seen them all. No crowds and generally calm waters being on the Caribbean side. It is about a 3 minute drive from Royal Palms.

I would definately recommend renting a car while visiting Anguilla. I would also recommend renting an SUV, as most of the roads are in bad shape and some are only dirt that are very bumpy. We explored all over the island and it would have cost a fortune to do that by taxi.

This was one of the best trips we have ever taken and we will definately be back! Without a doubt, we will again stay at the Royal Palms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddyPoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

In a couple of weeks, we'll be leaving for our fourth trip to Anguilla in four years and our fourth stay at The Royal Palms. My parents have been going every year for almost a decade. That should tell you all you need to know.

The Royal Palms is, for us, about as close to perfect as you can get. The owners, Tracy and Mary Busby, and their delightful staff have created a place that, from the moment you arrive, feels like home . . . except with better weather! With just six units, it's wonderfully quiet, casual and relaxing, but it's run and maintained with the efficiency and attention of a much bigger place. Need something? Anything? Tracy and Mary can get it for you. They've done just about everything you could imagine for us at some point over our many visits: car rentals, cribs, waterwings, driving permits, recommendations on restaurants and secret beaches, a ride to the ferry. Their daughters have even babysat our kids. And you just know that all of this is done not because they think it's good for business, but simply because they think it's good. That's the way they are and that's the way it always is at Royal Palms.

If you're thinking about a trip to Anguilla, I could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ThatJonesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Hill
0.0 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
CeBlue Villas and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms

Property: Royal Palms
Address: South Hill, South Hill, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > South Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Palms holiday suites are centrally located in South Hill, Anguilla, a short drive from many of the island's amenities and some of the Caribbean's most spectacular beaches. The property comprises six spacious and comfortable suites nestled in a quiet oasis of lush landscaped gardens, overlooking the south coast of Anguilla and the Caribbean Sea.Our six bright and airy guest rooms were designed with you, our guests, in mind. All have a stunning view of our neighboring island St. Maarten, Rendezvous beach, the golf course, and our garden/pool/patio. Rooms 1&2 are equipped with a fully-furnished kitchen, living & dining room, 2 bedrooms, 1 bath and a private balcony. Rooms 3,4,5 and 6 are equipped with fully-furnished kitchen, living & dining room 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, store room and a private balcony.2 Guests may avail themselves of a variety of amenities such as beach chairs,beach coolers, beach towels,beach umbrellas, air conditioning & ceiling fans cable television, free high-speed WiFi, hair dryers, iron & ironing board. 1 Queen and 2 twin size beds(can be converted to king size upon request).We have recently expanded our property by adding a fully-equipped outdoor kitchen, providing drinks and snacks and also food catering services upon request.Royal Palms a family-owned establishment where a casual atmosphere and friendly attentive service make for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday experience. So, whether you're looking for a fun family vacation, a quiet getaway for two, or a convenient and comfortable base while on business, come make yourself at home at Royal Palms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Anguilla/South Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing