We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a Romantic Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vino Mundo

Vino Mundo
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Ciudad Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The food and wine here is excellent. They have over 800 varieties of wine!The service is superb. Whenever friends visit from the US visit, this is where we go their last night. They have all loved it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valeria A, Gerente at Vino Mundo, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por escribir su comentario, nos alegra mucho que en cada visita a Vino Mundo se vaya contento con el servicio, la comida y el ambiente, estamos muy complacidos de que sea nuestro cliente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    32
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for special celebrations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The location is out of the way but you forget that when you enter the place. They have done a great work on the set up of various private areas for business meetings or to celebrate special occasions. Great place for wine lovers...I went with my family to celebrate my parents wed anniversary and we had a great time. Food was good, a variety of vines for all tastes and service was excellent. Car parking available and safe. Oh and the view from up there is amazing!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil de Santa Ana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyed It Very Much - Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I went to Vino Mundo, which is right down the street from me, with some very close friends for a small celebration. I was impressed with the setting, bar, dining rooms and even the restroom which had wash basins overlooking the Central Valley and gardens. We enjoyed two bottles of wine which were fairly priced and excellent. We shared many bocas and thought some were better than others but overall they were great. The focaccia/pizza was my favorite. The service was some of the best I have had in Costa Rica. Water glasses were kept full as were the wine glasses. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. I will definitely go back and would like to try their Wednesday night wine/dinner offering.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Costaricamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, delicious flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Six of us went to dinner here on a Friday night. The first time for four of us. The other couple had been here three times prior. We had a nice table looking outside and although the restaurant was full and there was live music playing - which was excellent - we were still able to have conversation and enjoy our meal. The food was very good - Meat and Fish were the options chosen by all. Steaks were ordered rare and were perfect. Garnishes were nice. We felt the prices were very fair - I actually expected it to be a bit more expensive. The pre-set menu was very appealing although we did not choose to go that route - you could choose one option with wine and one without. We are looking forward to returning. The ambiance is amazing - attention to detail in all finishings is superb. Wine bar and wine shop is very impressive as well. Wonderful wine list with something for everyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chocomae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good wine, not too good the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

They have a very good selection of wines, the place is very nice with many lighted trees around gives a nice ambience on the terrazzo. The food was not good, the "entrana" that I had was very tought, difficult to eat, my husband had to send back his order because it was cooked done instead of rare that he ordered. Prices are very high.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antonietakopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_Castineira, Gerente at Vino Mundo, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Antonieta, thank you for your visit to Vino Mundo and special thanks for your comment, which we appreciate very much.

This kind of information is very important for us and helps us to improve the quality of our food and service.
We hope to see you again in Vino Mundo and will be delighted to invite you to a nice glass of wine.

Kind regards from Costa Rica.
Carlos Castiñeira, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino Mundo also viewed

Ciudad Colon, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Ciudad Colon, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Vino Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing