We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
90
37
11
12
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
90
37
11
12
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gem hunt the river fishing poles satellite tv mini fridge fire pit camping experience great camping down to earth coffee maker queen bed cats teepee cabin diamond kids fun
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

RUN! Do not book here. This place is a dump!!! Hot, dirty, outdated.Got spider bit during the night. Linens are worn and had an odor, shower had mold. Did not even use shower. I felt I was cleaner than this place. Ferrel cats everywhere Pictures shown are not up to date. I would imagine that this was a great place at one time but not now.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Diamond John's offers Tee Pee's and cabins for rent adjacent to a swift moving river. Sounds great, right? That's what I thought.

If I could give a Zero score I would!

We arrived at night and were led in the dark to our cabin. We were given raggedy bath towels that had frayed edges and stains- looked like they were rags used to wash a car.
The owners wife made the comment that the cabin was "rustic". Rustic included jerry rigged electrical wires/extension cords taped to the wall that shorted, beds that were not made - sheets and comforters simply laid on top of old mattresses because they were the wrong size, (the linens were a mix of patterns and colors and looked like they were purchased at a thrift store), a piece of dirty plywood stuck out from under the old mattress so far one had to be cautious to not be hit in the shins, the pillows were ancient and compacted, the bathroom was missing the towel bars (the towel bar holders were there, just not the bar), same with the TP holder, the shower has NEVER been cleaned, and they decorated the interior of the shower stall with sticky wallpaper, which was not trimmed to fit. There was a thick layer of black dirt on the caulk on the outside of the shower pan where it meets the floor. The wood sink base was coated with dust, the bottom of the bathroom door was peeling off, the exterior walls were unfinished/ unpainted plywood in patchwork fashion. The deck had a thick layer of sandy dust on it, and there were lots of bits of littler (plastic spoon, wrapper pieces, etc..) near the deck steps. A door mat was buried in the sandy dirt so much it was unrecognizable. I started to pick up the trash for my own sanity, but gave up as it was quite a chore.

Mr. Diamond John told me his 'resort" was a 2 minute walk to the Crater of Diamonds Park. WRONG! We drove 4.6 miles to reach the park.

The owners had a mommy cat that had recently had kittens. All the cats were malnourished. Momma caught a frog to eat, but it was not enough to share with her babies. It was absolutely depressing.

I chose Diamond John's for the proximity to Crater of Diamonds, the cute cabins, and river front view. What we got was a dump.

We couldn’t bare to spend the second night here and chose to find alternative accommodations.

Don't make the mistake of renting here. Choose a real hotel in Murfreesboro over Diamond John's!

Room tip: Whole place is disgusting- Don't bother!
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank demarisb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019

This place is a great camping experience with all the extras. Camping made easy! Great owners and family. We took our little bulldog and had a wonderful time for the week we spent with John in the Montana cabin. To all those that question this place step back in time and enjoy life in its simple pleasures of camping with benefits of our spoiled everyday living with electricity water and wifi

Room tip: We stayed in a cabin not a teepee and was very pleased
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank teebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Remember THIS IS NOT THE HYATT. It is a great place to stay if you’re going diamond hunting. It beats camping.
Pros:
1. A mile away from the diamond mine.
2. It’s beautiful there on the lake and with all the trees.
3. Cabins and teepees are air-conditioned and heated.
4. The owner is always there to help (especially if you mess up the tv by pushing the wrong button on the remote)
5. Quiet and relaxing.
6. They provide all the supplies to use at the diamond mine. If you don’t get them there you have to rent them at the mine for $20.00.
7. (If you love animals as we do, we put cat food on the patio and had cats, raccoons & possums hanging out with us)

Cons:
1. You will need to bring your own shampoo, conditioner, soap, coffee cups & hair dryer. If you ask for coffee, they will bring you some. There is a coffee maker in the room.
2. Blankets could be warmer.
3. Repairs are needed inside and out but it doesn’t make a difference in your stay.

Room tip: Cabins are better than the teepees.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

I was going to write a detail explanation of why this place is terrible and realized it would take me all day. Do not let the pictures fool you. The grounds are beautiful but that is the ONLY thing this place has to offer. Otherwise do yourself a favor and JUST DON’T!!! There are plenty of other options in town....which is literally 3 minutes away.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4  Thank H1438CLheatherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews