We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base to view wonderful scenery”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mountain View
Reviewed February 5, 2012

A two night stay to allow for a full day's exploration of the surrounding forest. Decent sized room and comfortable beds. Pleasant pool area, considering this is a roadside property, and adequate parking. The town itself has little to offer, with few restaurants other than the usual chains, but the location is great for touring. A good tip would be to ask for a first floor room. The clientele, when we were there, was mostly commercial, they make an early start, and the floors creak like an old barge. On the ground floor, you too will have an early start. All round reasonable value for this level of roadside lodging.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank workerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 177 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

I thought the rooms were overpriced for Dec. They had a nice continental breakfast. Very compact, but very adequate. Including tax, we paid $83.22 per night (10% tax) for 5 nights. Next time, we will try a cheaper motel (probably the same room quality) and buy our breakfast literally next door at the McDonalds. At this motel, you are paying too much for the Best Western name. While the music is very nice, this is not Nashville or Branson and you shouldn't be paying Nashville or Branson pricing.

Room Tip: There is no freeway - there is no noise about which to be concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I picked Fiddler's Inn because I'm not very adventurous and wanted a brand name for my one night stay. Price was reasonable, check-in (no reservation) was fast and courteously handled.

The layout with the office in a separate building from the guest rooms created a bit of a choke point for maneuvering to the parking spot convenient to my room.

The room was clean. Heater worked. Wireless Internet worked with no hassle (I remembered to check at the desk for any special login procedure). I found the bed comfortable and slept well. I heard other guests remarking to morning office staff that they thought the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The staff replied that mattresses and other room features had been updated recently. Though the motel is on one of the main highways through town traffic was light and traffic noise non-existent.

The breakfast area was tight and heavily trafficked at times. Breakfast offering was dispensers for name brand dry cereals, milk, orange juice, coffee, boiled eggs, oranges, and a range of pastries. A microwave was available, and a TV was tuned to local news/weather. There is a discount available for the breakfast buffet at a nearby restaurant.

Check-out was fast and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grouch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We've stayed twice at the Fiddler's Inn, because it's a good value for a short night's stay (in late, out early next morning). I would not stay here for a longer visit, e.g., over a weekend. An example is the small bathroom with odd lighting; a heat lamp on a timer is the only option to just leaving the door open. Other amenities are pretty basic. There are a few B&Bs in town (e.g., Inn at Mountain View) that would almost certainly be worth paying a few dollars more for.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Fiddlers Inn the middle part of June 2011 for two nights before going on to Hot Springs. The staff at this motel was friendly and accomodating (we are not demanding travelers), the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and the price was reasonable. We didn't avail ourselves to the breakfast offering, so I can't comment on that. Overall - a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidandRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Fiddlers Inn is a nice hotel in Mountain View, AR, but it could be better. We stayed for three nights while visiting Blanchard Springs Caverns (awesome!) and surrounding area.
Pros/ Cons/ Recommendations:
-Sweet people, however not overly helpful. Our room's television wouldn't turn on when we came in for the night. "Push the power button on the remote. If that doesn't work, push the button on the tv." We did that. "You just have to keep trying." Been turning on tvs for 30+ yrs. if i can't get it, something is wrong with the device. Recommend fixing it so you don't have to do a rain dance ritual, or replace it.
- Free wifi. No issues.
- Clean, but carpet needs to be replaced badly.
- Good location! No issues.
- Smokers were out on balcony, making getting to our room unpleasant at times. Gross.Also people were allowed to smoke at hotel pool. Still gross.

Not bad overall; pretty average. Will explore other options when I come back this way.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavageA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My room (335) was very clean and quiet (it was on the end of the hotel near a field). Carpets looked new, bathroom was spotless. Free Wifi and breakfast. Room included refrigerator and microwave. Not the most comfortable bed in the world (I'm spoiled buy my bed at home) but good enough that I didn't toss and turn on the mattress. Very close to everything in Mountain View (although it's a very small town!) East parking and friendly staff. Dog friendly, no cats!

Room Tip: ask for 335!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 601 Sylamore Ave, Mountain View, AR 72560-8802 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Fiddlers Inn)
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mountain View
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range: $49 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View
Mountain View Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing