We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildflower Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildflower Bed and Breakfast-On the Square
Ranked #1 of 11 Mountain View B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wildflower Inn”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

While the hosts were friendly, they attempted to sell the business to guests. The room was small and cramped. The bed was hard. The AC hadn't been turned on and the windows wouldn't open, so it was terribly stuffy since it was 80 degrees outside.

The food was very rich with no seconds, even of biscuits. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zipperbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerBandB, Owner at Wildflower Bed and Breakfast-On the Square, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
The room which you chose, is our most economical and our most popular with many repeat guests. As with all our rooms, it has a quality mattress, linens and amenities. Hundreds of guests have stayed in that room, and everyone has always spoken positively about it. May we refer you to BedandBreakfast.com to read the many reviews. We try to please everyone with the right temperature in the house. Eighty degrees in April would surely be rare. As a matter of fact, according to NOAA weather, the high temperatures during your stay on April 21 & 22, 2013 were 67 and 72 degrees. Even with these comfortable highs, we wish you would have communicated with us, and we would have gladly worked with you. Our breakfast is always portioned with plenty, including seconds. Many have stated that they skip lunch due to our hearty and plenteous breakfast. We hope your experiences at other lodging facilities will be more pleasant for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
46
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We rode through Mountain View and found this great B & B and spent the night. It was a charming place, well taken care of and very clean. The owners were very accomodating and provided great information on what to do while we were in the town. The room was decorated like you would expect it to be if you spent the night as a friend's grandmothers house.We truly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

First off, Mountain View was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that no music lover should miss.

There aren't a ton of places to stay downtown. The Wildflower is clean and well cared for if somewhat dated. The mattress in the room is getting worn, but it wasn't bad.

Breakfast is promptly at 8:30. It was truly delicious....and it came with a side of grace. I was surprised by this because I hadn't seen it mentioned anywhere on the proprietor's web site, etc. Husband and I had a brief conference that afternoon about whether to skip breakfast #2 the next day, but decided to go the "when in Rome" route because we'd really enjoyed meeting the other guests, we figured it was a good cultural experience for us, and the breakfast itself is very good.

I do wish I had known in advance that prayer was part of the morning routine. I didn't like being surprised. But, the flip side was that I came home with a new B&B story!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank WhyNotWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent one night at the Wildflower B&B on the way through Arkansas. We stayed in the Jonquil Room which is downstairs and opens on to the porch. The owners were friendly and gave us good information about when we could hear music on the square and places to eat. The room is quaint and homey feeling, older decor, but very clean. We loved being able to walk down the block and hear live music during the evening. In the morning we took a short (5 minute) walk down to the city park which has a nice walking path. Wonderful porch - filled with rocking chairs. They even provide lawn chairs you can borrow to take down to where the music is happening. The property is indeed "on the square" which is great as far as convenience, but not so great as far as traffic noise - especially in the morning. It's on a pretty busy corner. Our particular room was a bit quirky. It has a nice (huge!) shower, but the shower and toilet are in separate rooms and there is no door on the shower room, They do provide free Wifi. It worked fine, but was a bit slow. Breakfast is served promptly at 8:30 but coffee is available in the dining room starting at 6:30. The breakfast was good - eggs, potato casserole, fruit, biscuits and gravy, danish, bacon. We were the only guests there for breakfast, and the owners sat and talked with us while we ate.

Room Tip: The Jonquil Room is connects to the porch and we had issues with traffic noise in the morning. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We only spent one night at the Wildflower B&B, but it was superb! Pam and JR were so hospitable. I have dietary restrictions, and Pam went out of her way to make me feel at home. She even made special cookies for me to enjoy that afternoon. I was so touched by her generosity. We stayed in the Iris room which was very clean, spacious, and quite charming. The B&B was so close to all the quaint little shops on the court square, and you could even sit out on the porch at night to hear local musicians playing at a neighboring establishment. My husband and I were looking for a quite place for a quick trip as a couple, and this was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our second visit to Mountain View -- this time for the fall tour of local artists' studios. My husband and I traveled with another couple and stayed 3 nights at the Wildflower in the Dogwood Suite which, with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and sitting area, provided us separate sleeping/bath quarters and a common area where we could visit in the evening and plan the next day. Breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B & B -- homemade casseroles, biscuits and pastries -- and we really enjoyed getting to know the other guests both at breakfast and while rocking on the wonderful wrap-around porch. You can't beat the location on the square and lawn chairs are available to borrow if you wish to enjoy bluegrass and gospel groups performing around the square and in the nearby park. Pam and JR were great hosts and are extremely knowledgeable about the area. Within a hour of arriving home this evening I booked our return trip for the spring -- the special dulcimer weekend in March.

Room Tip: The Dogwood suite was upstairs and very quiet. The front bedroom has a queen bed and private bath w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calderman_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Wildflower Inn Bed and Breakfast was such a cozy little spot to spend a quiet weekend in the mountains with my sweetie. We stayed 2 nights and I adored the charm of this B & B. Our room had everything we needed and I really enjoyed reading the journal that previous travelers had written in and signed. The breakfasts were amazing and so were the cookies left out during the day for us. I can't wait to suprise my family sometime in the near future and reserve another stay with the Wildflower.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljackmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mountain View
169 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lake and River Inn
Lake and River Inn
#7 of 7 in Heber Springs
25 reviews
19.6 mi away
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
#1 of 2 in Fairfield Bay
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
River Valley Rentals
River Valley Rentals
#2 of 11 in Mountain View
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dogwood Motel
Dogwood Motel
#3 of 6 in Mountain View
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildflower Bed and Breakfast-On the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildflower Bed and Breakfast-On the Square

Property: Wildflower Bed and Breakfast-On the Square
Address: 100 Washington, Mountain View, AR 72560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mountain View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildflower Bed and Breakfast On the Square is a great place for families and couples to stay in Mountain View, Arkansas. The Wildflower has 7 rooms, three of which are suites that can accommodate up to 5 people. All rooms have private en-suite bathrooms, digital cable television, and free high-speed Wi-Fi internet. All suites and most rooms have the Serta Bellagio mattress, soft Comphy sheets, plush pillows, and luxurious soft towels. The upstairs Elderberry suite has a King bed with a loft double bed and kitchenette complete with microwave, mini fridge, and Keurig coffee machine along with a large sitting area. The upstairs Dogwood suite has a King bed with a day bed in the sitting area as well as large flat-screen television and mini-fridge. It adjoins the Honeysuckle room which has a Queen bed and its own bathroom with clawfoot tub. The upstairs Azalea suite has a Queen bed with a separate sitting area from the bedroom that features a day bed. It also has a mini-fridge and large flat-screen television. The Iris and Jonquil rooms are conveniently downstairs and open to the delightful wrap around porch. The Iris has a Queen bed with a pull out twin bed from the love seat in the sitting area. The Jonquil room has a King bed with private bathroom separate from the shower room, both area still in room. The Foxglove is an affordable corner room upstairs. It has a Queen bed with a large bathroom and walk-in shower. The Ginseng is our newest room and least expensive. It features a Queen bed with large flat-screen television viewable from the bed as well as a walk in Shower. Relaxation and conversation is always available either on the front porch or in the comfortable parlor. A delicious home-made country breakfast is made fresh each morning and is included for all guests, served in the pleasantly decorated main or front dining room. Coffee and snacks are available every afternoon. The Wildflower is within walking distance of many great restaurants, shops, and the music park where musicians play almost every night of the season. Some musicians even come to the porch of the Wildflower to play. There are caves to explore, zip lines and climbing walls to experience, family friendly music shows to see, and so much more. There are many attractions for all ages in and around Mountain View. Go to our Area Attractions page for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Wildflower Bed and Breakfast-On the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing