We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small dining area. Too dark, kind of creepy.”
Review of Tommy's Famous

Tommy's Famous
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Four Blocks West of Courthouse Square at the corner of West Main (Highway 66) and Famous Place.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very small dining area. Too dark, kind of creepy.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went here because it was rated #1 but when we pulled up, I saw, (as I found out later) the owner, staring at us through the screen door, from when we pulled up, till right before we entered.
There is only 4 tables in there and overly dark! We only saw one other couple come in. The pizza was ok, but everything else was kinda creepy.
I seriously think someone with a direct interest is putting up lots of false reviews about this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank bobboom300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    41
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What Are You Looking For?”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you want a place with really good food, barbecue or pizza, go to Tommy's. Howwever, if you want a place that has a really nice dining room with a lot of staff to wait on you, nice restrooms, etc., this is not the place for you. You pretty much wait on yourself after your food is ordered, refilling your own drinks and such. That's ok with me, less staff means lower prices and no tip required.
A little confusing first visit. But, now we know the routine, will definitely go back for more! Great Barbeque & Pizza! !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RZR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very interesting: and very good!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pizza at a great price.
A fun place to eat. The outside doesn't impress, but the food will.
Tommy visits with all his customers.
If in Mountain View, it is a must do!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank _bill_bea_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hillbilly trash hole.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Dosent open untill 3 pm. Dark, dank smelly. Dont bother using the restroom. Had to wait for one of 6 people behind the counter to finally wait on us. Rude and incompetent.dont bother

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MrBlack988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We eat at Tommy's any time we come to Mt View. Always good pizza, always filling! Super nice folks there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thelilones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Famous also viewed

 

Been to Tommy's Famous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing