We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Ozark Folk Center State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ozark Folk Center is a people place,dedicated to the preservation and perpetuation of traditional Ozark Mountain crafts and music.Visitors can see presentations and demonstrations of the Ozark crafts and music, living history enactments and other special events that highlight this lifestyle. Apprentice and workshop programs pass these skills of the Ozark people to a new generation.As you visit the Folk Center, make your first stop the General Store near the parking lot. From here,buses will take you to the top of the Folk Center's hill to the Ozark Folk Center Theater and the Crafts Village. Stay in one of The Cabins and Dry Creek (60 units) The center also offers a restaurant, the Smokehouse in the Craft Village, conference/meeting facilities for groups large and small and specializes in business retreats and family reunions.
Batesville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The place was awesome and worth the money we paid. We stayed at pine wood cabins and it was really nice. Me and my sisters had a great time. So did my parents.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hellokittypantera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADPT-Region-5, Administrative Specialist III at Ozark Folk Center State Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting us here at the Ozark Folk Center and sharing us on Trip Advisor. We are happy we were able to be a part of your Mountain View experience, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    76
    19
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“had a great time”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

the music was awesome. I really like the gift shop as the people who worked there were very nice. They have a great folk center where you can see things they made in the old days.we will do that next time and there will be a next time

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank petty0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADPT-Region-5, Administrative Specialist III at Ozark Folk Center State Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
The Ozark Folk Center Crafts Village has over 20 artisans demonstrating folk art crafts and the everyday skills used by Ozark Mountain people in the 19th and early 20th centuries. These skills have become Arkansas heritage crafts - basket weaving, broom making, blacksmithing, pottery making, knife making, weaving, quilting, woodcarving, soap making, dressmaking, herb gardening, coopering, doll making, candle making, woodturning, and more. Between April and November [Tuesday –Saturday, from 10:00am – 5pm] The Ozark Folk Center offers visitors a chance to experience these crafts and visit with the people who make their living creating them.
We are glad you enjoyed the music.

We look forward to seeing you in the craft village the next time you are in Mountain View. Thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We took our three kids here and had a blast. There a lot of unique shops inside the craft village and we did a lot of shopping. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and well kept up. The landscapes were beautiful and we enjoyed walking through the herb garden area. We do recommend visiting here and we will probably visit again soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cabins & restaurant review”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the cabins for one night and would definitely like to go back. We got an "upgraded" cabin that included a deck for only a little more than the regular price. Rooms were nice with two queen beds, tv, microwave, icebox, and regular amenities. We paid $72 for one night and the rooms are better than your average motel. There is an excellent restaurant at the park that serves country style cooking. I had fried catfish which was very good. Would love to stay there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADPT-Region-5, Administrative Specialist III at Ozark Folk Center State Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on The Ozark Folk Center, our mission at the Ozark Folk Center is dedicated to providing living history and exists to preserve, document, display and interpret the cultural and social history of the Ozark region.
The Cabins at Dry Creek are convenient to visit the craft village and the court square in downtown Mountain View. We are pleased that you enjoyed the deck on your cabin. While our cabins do offer many amenities including telephone, TV, wireless Internet, mini-refrigerator, iron, ironing board, and in-room 4-cup coffee maker with complementary Arkansas State Park special blend coffee. Our cabins do not have microwaves, but one is available at our Cabin’s office.
We are delighted you enjoyed your meal at The Skillet. On your next visit, I suggest you try the fried chicken it is a favorite for many of our guests.
Thank you again for sharing your positive comments; we hope you will on another get-a-way at the Ozark Folk Center State Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place is so cool!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From watching a man carve a toothpick into a person to being pulled by a donkey and working leather, this place has all the old time crafts any pioneer would love. We dipped candles, saw wool spun to yarn, watched jewelry making and made stuff out of clay, so much to do!! The place is so jam packed plan for the day long and then if you are there in the weekend stay fit the events in the main square of town, music and such it's awesome!! This is the best family affair in Arkansas, hands down! It is a lot of walking so if Grandma isn't up for it she may not enjoy it without a scooter or similar. And the drive from Little Rock is beautiful winding roads covered in greenery, really worth the drive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoo-B-Doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozark Folk Center State Park also viewed

 
Mountain View, AR
Mountain View, AR
 

Been to Ozark Folk Center State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing