We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, pretty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skillet Restaurant

The Skillet Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Skillet Restaurant at the Ozark Folk Center State Park is nestled atop a wooded Ozark hill. Large windows in the glass-enclosed, natural cedar and stone dining room frame the view of the surrounding butterfly garden. Featuring wildlife feeding stations and a water garden, it is frequented by birds, raccoons, foxes, and an occasional bear. While taking in this natural scenery outside, enjoy the tasty Southern country menu, weekend buffets, and numerous Herbal Event Meals designed around recipes by special, guest gourmet foods experts. Our herbal events highlight the use of Fresh Herbs and native plants in their preparation. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner and served daily throughout the regular season. During the off-season, the restaurant opens for specific holidays, special events, and groups. Satisfy your hunger for traditional, Southern country fare, accented by enticing contemporary menu items, here at the Skillet Restaurant.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient, pretty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ate there during a conference at the Center. It is convenient to the grounds. Full menu and buffet. Dinner buffet was pricey for a BBQ buffet; not enough choices to justify the $15 price. Breakfast buffet was pretty standard, well-priced. I ordered off the menu and was satisfied. Service is very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougM879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    29
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
280 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very good buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Skillet, and we chose the buffet. The catfish was cooked very well, was not too dry, nor did it have too much breading. The other offerings were equally good; trythe Earthquake Cake! we would love to come back. The staff was particularly friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RonandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terlingua, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient Lunch Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

With a great view and convenient location right inside the Ozark Folk Center, this is a perfect respite while visiting the park. Lunch was nice with entertaining squirrels outside the window making us laugh

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Iron Skillet fit the Bill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the State Park and enjoyed a breakfast and a dinner at the Restaurant. I liked breakfast better than dinner. We chose the breakfast buffet. I probably should have just chose something off the menu. There was way too many choices. My 11 year old son proclaimed that was the best breakfast that he ever had. :) He is a big eater. I bet it had to do with quantity available to him.

The dinner choices were deep fried. I love that kind of cooking but have tried to chose healthier items. I did have the stir fry with chicken. It wasn't bad. In the evening, they were really busy prior to the concert, Highway 101. I wasn't sure that we would get out in time but we made it. It appeared clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susanelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average but has potential.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fist, slow/seeminglyvuntrained waitstaff. Has the potential for a great restaurant, but for now is just a diner with a great view. Breakfast has gone to hell, but the night/weekend cook(s) have really stepped it up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBlack988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skillet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Skillet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing