We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cave system to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blanchard Springs Caverns

Blanchard Springs Caverns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Cave system to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great cave system to visit, with several types of tour on offer. We took the basic tour, being a little older, but had no problems getting around. There were kids on the tour and they thoroughly enjoyed it, and didn't cause us any hassle. The pace of the tour was good and vey interesting. We were able to take pictures as we went along, these will follow later, and it really was an enjoyable visit I would recommend this to both young and old.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pictureseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    70
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure in the Hills of the Ozarks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wow, what an awesome place to behold! Nature's beauty abounds in this gem hidden in the hills of the Ozarks in Blanchard Springs Park. While visiting family in nearby, Leslie, AR we were told about the Blanchard Springs caverns and decided it would be a good day trip.

We had 6 in our party of varying levels of physical capabilities and decided to take the shorter tour with no steps. I was concerned we might miss out on the better sights by taking the shorter tour, but we were not disappointed. Our guide, Hunter, kept our group of 35 moving and entertained. We learned some interesting facts and saw some amazingly, beautiful cave formations. It was much bigger than expected, easily accessible and fascinatingly stunning. The walk ways and lighting were not overstated and done in with the utmost care and concern for preserving the natural beauty and environment. Great care was given to showcase the most breathtaking parts of the cave and is evident in the design ovf the paths and placement of the lights.

The tour lasted a little more than an hour and the temperature was quite pleasant at 58 humid degrees. I brought a jacket, but never did use it. This is the only US Park Service owned cavern attraction in the US and doesn't get to compete with other commercially owned cavern properties. The park, campgrounds and caverns did not have the tourist trap feel of some vacations spots and the natural beauty of not only the caverns, but the surrounding woodlands was peaceful and tranquil.

When the tour is finished, you can drive down to where the spring emerges from the side of a cliff-face. A well laid stone walking path guides the way back a few hundred feet from the parking area to behold the rushing water exit the cavern's opening in the side of the mountain. The lush flora envelopes the path with moss, ferns and a canopy of native trees. What a spectacular backdrop to the cave's finale bursting forth from the mouth of rock precipice.

I definitely recommend this for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocahontas, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have explored a lot of caves and Blanchard Springs is one of the most beautiful I have seen. The Park Service has installed an elevator and the Dripstone tour is handicap accessible, it probably also has the most formations. There are two more levels, the Discovery trail and Wild Cave Tour. The last two are closed part of the year due to bats wintering there. If you are ever near Mountain View, Arkansas, this is a must see imho. Their website is: http://www.blanchardsprings.org/

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wow. You have to go here. Words can not describe what lies beneath the surface in these caves. I do believe people with grand imaginations can find great inspirations in these formations beneath the earth surface. Go. Go. Go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangburn
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Blanchard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Both the caverns are so neat and it's a cool place to spend a hot day!! The cavern is so beautiful, quite and peaceful.

Helpful?
2 Thank OzarkGirlPangburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanchard Springs Caverns also viewed

 
Mountain View, AR
Mountain View, AR
 

Been to Blanchard Springs Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing