We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of Anglers Restaurant

Anglers Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went there twice in two days. Good food, friendly staff. I had burger and the chicken parmesan; both were pretty good. Nice view of the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leonisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    71
    29
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas,USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and outdoor dining area.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Anglers' is the only restaurant serving beer or alcohol in a dry county near Mt. View. (or the only one we've found). They have a membership program. Draft beer was very cold. Loved the grilled trout, catfish was good, hushpuppies disappointing.Slaw good, beans ok, salad bar or side salad was very good with homemade dressing. Breakfast there was good. Had a chopped sirloin (12 oz) at lunch one day, split it with spouse and it was exceptionally tasty meat, cooked perfectly with baked potato.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SWRVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant is in a great location with wonderful views. We were a family of 4 and 3 of us had the catfish plate while my husband got a burger. The catfish were 3 tiny fillets(medium plate) and were overcooked. Luckily it came with slaw(tasty), brown beans(mediocre), and choice of side(I had a baked potatoe). It also came with a small side of green tomatoe pickles which were very good. My husbands burger was big and he said it was good but not great. We ordered fried pickels for an appetizer and it came out with the meal(huge pet peeve of mine). It is NOT an appetizer if it comers out WITH your dinner. They need to offer a slightly bigger portion of fish and be careful not to overcook-I've had better fish at Shoneys and that's not an exaggeration. I would be willing to give it another try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Atmosphere better than the food.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of 9 and the service was very slow. Waitress was decent no real problems with her. I had the trout. It was pretty good although it was a little over cooked. Portion of fish was decent, but the sides left a lot to be desired. My wife ordered one of the burgers. It come out looking awesome but was cold and raw in the center. Most every one else seem to be ok with what they had ordered. I wouldnt rule out a future visit with this being my first visit. Just expected better. Place has great atmosphere although the music was a little to loud to have any decent conversation. Should have ate out on the deck over looking the river. May hit it again down the road, just not anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdr082475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
1 review
“good food is worth the wait”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had dinner out on the deck it was perfect. The river view added to the pleasure of dinning out. Our waitress did a very good job. the food was very good, my hamb. had that wonderful charcoal taste, My husband loves the cat fish. We split a slice of cake, yummy. It was nice to have a glass of wine with our meal. This is our favorite place to eat and we alway bring our visitors to dine when in town. The wait for food is worth it, it is all cooked to order, not just sitting on a steam table all night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anglers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing