We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway at Oualie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bryn Mawr, Pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great getaway at Oualie”
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We (my husband and I) had read about Oualie in one of our travel magazines (a certified green resort, moderately priced, on a beautiful island) and were thrilled to find it on Skyauction. Nevis had been hit by a major hurricane just a few days before and much of the area had been damaged. Despite cloudy water and some beach debris (quickly cleaned up) on the first couple of days, we loved Oualie. The rooms are individual villas, each with a screened-in porch. They were reasonable sized, with comfortable beds and large showers in the bathrooms.We were just a few steps from "our" beach chairs, where we happily spent part of each day, seeing almost no one. The views were beautiful!
The staff at the resort went out of its way to be helpful. They made phone calls and reservations for us without being asked, remembered our drink preferences (and our names, in the restaurant), and were generally warm and considerate. The food in the restaurant was okay--not great but better than "not bad"--but it was off-season and they were out of some of the dishes and specialty drink ingredients (though these were still on the menu). When we asked about food, they immediately recommended close-by restaurants for us, and we LOVED their recommendations. Again, there's no way they could have been more helpful. We also enjoyed the manager's cocktail party, since it gave us a chance to meet others staying there. Since we mostly sat on the beach and read and relaxed, we hadn't really gone out of our way to meet anyone else and so appreciated the opportunity to meet other guests.
Oualie is very old-fashioned Caribbean--no terrycloth robes, no expanses of marble, no glitz. It's hard to know what activities they have for kids (or more active adults) since the hurricane had done a lot of damage to docks, etc. However, it was just what we wanted: a low key resort, right on the water, with good service. In addition, we saw several monkeys on the property across the street!
Please feel free to contact us with questions. Claire and Jeff (crsatlof@aol.com)

  • Liked — Location on the beach, casual mood, staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    149
    42
    18
    12
See reviews for
45
240
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Although this hotel has a great location, the resort itself leaves a lot to be desired. The rooms are very run-down (peeling paint, no screens on some windows). The staff, with the exception of a very few, are surly and do not seem to enjoy their job. We found this to be a rarity on Nevis, as most people were friendly and very helpful on the island. The beach chairs are in bad need of repair and there are no garbage containers in evidence on the property. Therefore, there are plastic bottles and pop cans lying on the beach. The food at the resort is average, we ate mostly at local restaurants which were great. We got totally turned off eating at Oualie when they chaged me $4.00 US for a re-fill of coffee at breakfast. There is a feeling that the owners really do not care about thier property or their guests. Nevis is a beautiful island to visit, they rely on tourism and everywhere except Oualie we found the people genuinly friendly and helpful.
Go to Nevis but stay somewhere elese!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Just returned from a week stay on Nevis at the Oualie Beach Resort. This resort is very small - I believe there are only 23 units for people to stay in. The beach is nice and the bay is quite calm. Although the week we were there there it was windy each day, but the waves in the bay did not get very big. It was a good place for kids to play and swim.
The room we stayed in was comfortable, nothing outstanding. The part I really liked was the screened in front porch with the beach chairs. This was a great area to get out of the sun for a bit. The restaurant on site was good...but pricey. We ate at a few different restaurants on the island ( we took the local "bus" - just wait at the roadside and tell them where you're going). These other restaurants were also quite good and a bit cheaper than the restaurant at the resort. We also took the bus into town to do some souvenir and grocery shopping (there is a fridge in the room which we used for a stash of junk food, beer and pop).
This resort is definitely for just relaxing. There is not much there to do but read and swim. We did do 4 dives with Scuba safari's..right at the resort. The dives were okay, but the visibility was not great due to the winds that we had during the week that we stayed. We did see some nurse sharks, lobsters and the underwater hot springs.
We found the people working at the resort to be very friendly and helpful.
If you have any questions let me know and I'll try to answer them.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Stayed in the hotel in beginning of December after leaving Nisbet.

Its a big difference between those two hotels in Nisbet they likes their guests, this seems not be the case In Oualie.

Their were two persons that were outstanding and very nice to us: the waitress in the restaurant, Tasha James, and the Bellboy/gardener.

In there brochure they say there are a lot of restaurants nearby, we could only find one, but the restaurant on site is good.

All the sun chair need to be renovated and they are also occupied of persons that not are guest in the hotel.

Rooms are nice we had one with two beds I believe those with King bed are even nicer.

The problem with the room was the curtains they were wery thin so when the AC was on they flew away fro the window so people outside could see into the room.

Stig Blomberg
Sweden

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful 8 days in St. Kitts/Nevis, spending three days on Nevis at the Oualie Beach Resort. We were traveling with two (well-traveled) children, my husband and me. Oualie was the perfect spot for us to enjoy the quiet bay, see the beautiful views of St. Kitts and explore parts of the island. The staff of Oualie are gracious, kind and helpful. I appreciate that they were attentive to our kids - Tim remembered their names and chatted with them each evening. The setting is delightful - the cottages are attractive and clean (the linens could use a little update, but that's a minor detail). You can't beat the location, just a quick few steps out your door to the palm-lined beach and plentiful lounge chairs. The beach is (quietly) hand-raked each morning, and the water is calm enough to let our kids romp in and out without concern. Be sure to rent sea kayaks on the property to explore outside the little cove area. And don't miss the opportunity to go out with Barb from Under the Sea - a highlight for our whole family. Next time we'll spend more days at Oualie!

  • Liked — Location and overwhelming friendliness from the staff.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Very enjoyable ten day stay well looked after by all staff who are a credit to the Hotel, nothing was too much of a problem for them they coped well. Meet in the bar and join the locals as well the music on Tuesday and Friday was excellent.
A visit to the restaurant just to see the evening supervisor Tim is well worth it just for the attention he gives to your evening.
Well done all.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainfield,il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Really nice location. Really nice employees, especially Mr. Tim, Vaden, Moy, and Stacy. We had such a wonderful time. Thanks again for all that you do for us tourists. I hope to make it back soon.

  • Liked — Great people
  • Disliked — Not enough resturant selection
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elawler147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
193 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
8.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Property: Oualie Beach Resort
Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing