We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the standard we were hoping for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not the standard we were hoping for”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Oualie Beach Resort has its fans but for us it didn't come close to our experiences in other hotels. Our arrival was delayed by LIAT Air (no surprise there) and the hotel did make arrangements to collect us from St Kitts which was very helpful, but we arrived at around 10.00 p.m.at their dock to find the hotel completely shut up for the night except for a rather disgruntled receptionist. No provision for dinner or even a drink had been made and, after making a fuss, sandwiches, a kettle and some tea bags were produced in our room. The first room we were given had seen better days and truthfully by the morning, I was ready to find somewhere else to stay. We asked to speak to the Manager who was very apologetic and gave us a free dinner the following evening and an upgraded room, which was much appreciated by us. The food was adequate, the hotel was adequate and the beach was disappointing. The hotel prices suggest much more than this for your money. Nevis is a very quiet destination and really off the beaten track…. coming from St Lucia, it was a bit too quiet for my liking!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    149
    42
    18
    12
See reviews for
45
240
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It means 'beautiful waters'. Indeed. Overlooking the channel to St Kitts. Gorgeous sunsets. Occasional invading crabs, cows and monkeys in amongst the palm trees...

This is basically your archetypal Caribbean beachfront hideaway. Gingerbread pastel coloured cottages with screened porches and aircon and 4 posters. All very clean (although minor quibble that the cleaners would inevitably turn up at siesta time and then take an hour!)

Don;t worry about requesting a beachfront house as they're all a max of 40 steps away! But do try to get a single storey cottage. Some come with kitchenettes which would be handy. The beach would be perfect for kids as it's gently sloping, stone free and the waters are warm.

The staff are super helpful and friendly (though a bit slow and forgetful, though sweetly so). Breakfast and lunch are good; dinner less so, but if you do half board you can swap meals in and out.

It really is idyllic. We'll be back - please God! There is a certain hammock there with my name on...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hells1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We Stayed 1 night in Jan. 2014. Drove our car over to Nevis by ferry and found Oualie Beach resort. What a great spot. Rented a cabin on ocean. It had screened sitting area, 4 poster bed and inside lounge area. Loved this hotel. Beak fest in bed the next morning if you order early enough. Beach is nice and quiet. The big long beach( Pinney) is not for away. You must walk that one. Will stay here again when back for visit. Everything is very expensive on the sister islands but you can find deals on hotels and food. Just do your homework before you go. And you must go....

Room Tip: All cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week at Oualie Beach Resort and had a wonderful time 1/11/14-1/17/14). A very laid back place where you can just sit and relax or partake of the Islands fun opportunities. Our cottage was very nice and well anointed. The property is well maintained and the beach and view of St Kitts is unbelievable. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. We met many nice people and will make a return visit. I highly recommend it.

If you are looking for a high end resort where some will pamper you, this is not for you.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent five days at this quaint resort and were very happy with our choice. The people in the office make you feel at home fright from the start and are very helpful. Pat helped us get a rental car as well as booked a fishing charter for us and made other recommendations as we needed.

The restaurant has a decent menu and we did not have any complaints with the food at all. The cook even grilled up the wahoo we caught on the charter and turned it into a terrific meal with red beans and rice, cole slaw and a green salad as sides. Terrific!

When you go to Nevis remember to slow down. Nothing moves quickly and you will need to adjust to island time.

We did have some problem with not always having hot water and there were some small ants in our cabin. We kind of looked at this as the price we paid for the pleasure of having our own little home on the beach.

This really is a wonderful place to stay. When you go, make sure you get a rental car cause taking a taxi to get around the island would be cost prohibitive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Saint John Figtree, Saint Kitts and Nevis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

On Friday 10th January, my husband and i was at Oualie Beach Resort for dinner and i must truly say that it was one of the best time we have had. The food was 'Awesome', the fish fillet was well cooked and season to taste. The local drink we had was indeed a refreshment for us. The service was outstanding, i give complement to Tim and Keyona who did a wonderful job in making our night so special. We were entertained by great local music which was of such delight. It was a well spent night at Oualie, and we will come again but this time with our entire family, and also encourage others as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I could not agree more with the review below - the food was practically inedible and mind blowingly expensive for what it was. Its a shame because the place has so much potential - it is incredibly good value for a Caribbean island and the place itself is sweet. The rooms are nice, especially if you get a one right by the shore line or one that is single story. It has all the diving, fishing and boating amenities right next door as well. The staff, however are mainly rude and unhelpful.

Please Oualie, sort out your food and staff and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose a one story building nearest the shore line
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for being so positive about our perfect beach location, quality rooms, excellent value for money and easy access to water sports facilities. However you were not happy about our food and staff. We always listen to our guests and strive to improve. If there are any specific menus items or members of staff that were not helpful do email me personally at oualie1@gmail.com . Dont worry as I am interested in re- training rather than firing anyone!

I must admit that our Oualie staff are trained a bit differently from the typical 5 star Resorts. Vacationers can get sea and sand anywhere in the World. What makes us unique on Nevis is our people, interesting Caribbean flavours, our music, dance culture, laughter and "Joi de vivre". So we train our staff to serve professionally but still be themselves. We ask them to be natural, Caribbean people providing service rather than servitude. To speak openly with our guests on all matters rather than only using management pre-approved standard phrases and topics. If guests are used to the intensely deferential, bowing and scraping service that you get in 5 star resorts in Asia then I can see why one might consider my staff less respectful. Please feel free to email me personally at oualie1@gmail with any specific details that displeased you so that I can address them with more training. For example was your problem with the staff of Housekeeping? Landscaping? Maintenance? Front Desk? Bar? Restaurant? Kitchen? Management? Water sports? or with all of my 50 staff? With your help we can improve our service and welcome you and your family back to Oualie every year.


food Everywhere has sea a
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
193 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
8.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Property: Oualie Beach Resort
Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing