We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nantucket_traveler01
2 reviews
“Perfect Honeymoon Getaway”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed at Oualie for 7 days on the second leg of our honeymoon in April. Oualie was exactly what we were looking for. If you want your own little corner of the Caribbean to relax, this is the place. The island of Nevis is amazing and Oualie embodies the relaxed, friendly and 'organic" feel of the island. In general, we found the island to be quieter with less to do than it's sister (Kitts), or the other places we visited, but that was exactly what we were looking for. The staff in particular are amazing, and on any given day you can meet travelers and locals alike at Oualie's beach bar. The dive operator is great and Oualie also offers some organized activities. We would highly recommend Oualie.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nantucket_traveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    149
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
46
240
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Peaceful location right on the beach. No restaurants, shops etc nearby but the hotel has a small and limited beach bar and restaurant. We had booked two rooms and although one had been partially  refurbished it was in poor shape and the other room was in very poor condition. Furniture, fittings and decor are very old and worn and although the rooms were clean, their  poor and dilapidated condition did not make for a comfortable stay. Think old run down Florida beach motel rooms, and you will not be far off the mark. If you can live with this for the location, then maybe ok for you. I would have had no problem with the hotel being basic but as a previous reviewer said, it could be so good with some TLC and a proffesional  refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We can't say enough. Got married on the beach. They handled everything. The staff was friendly the rooms clean and the food was great. Oh did we mention the dive shop and staff. We will be going back soon. Don't forget to nap in the hammocks!!! Made friends with people for life.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicted2Carib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

You'll find a previous review of mine below and between then and now we've been here an additional time. On reflection it's a combination of a things - setting, people, ambience, value, comfort and a certain indefinable, intangible quality that we'll call 'good feeling'.

It all suits me - completely chilled place - but with wireless so I can work when the mood takes me. Oualie emphatically is not a chain-style hotel. There is no pool - no need for one with the beach 20 metres away. It's v comfortable, everything works, the rooms are well screened, the AC good etc etc. If you want or need anything ask for Stacy - one of life's organised people...

I'll be back once more this year - and from there on we need to find more regional project work to visit again. And somehow I think we'll find it.

If you go I hope you enjoy the place as much as we do.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brumtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Little cottages right on the beach, short stroll to the bar/restaurant. A favorite beach for tourists, students and locals. Very casual, peaceful and serene. For the fiscally minded traveler, this is a good place to stay to be on the water and enjoy the natural beauty of the caribbean. Perfect for couples or young families.
However, hotel is in serious need of updating…bed's were older, husband had back problems as mattress was too soft for him. He was seriously considering sleeping on the tile floor, but managed to survive. Furniture, linens, bathroom…all 1970's. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. For the easy going, adventurous traveler… a slice of heaven.

Room Tip: Ocean View Cottage right on the beach with VIEWs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howgooditis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My husband and I had an unfortunate mishap with our rental car. We were stranded in an isolated area in the mountains in the dark. We called the hotel and Stacy took care of everything! She called the rental car company to come take care of the car, called someone to come pick us up, and even called someone she knew in the area to wait with us until our ride arrived. When we got back to the hotel, we shared a good laugh, and then she brought dinner up to our room since we had missed our reservation at another restaurant. Everyone on the island (but especially Stacy) has been so friendly and helpful-- we loved our trip!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

After doing the large all-inclusive thing about 10 times, my wife and I were ready for a change. Boy, did we get it. Nevis is beautiful. Oualie Beach is so quiet. The resort was very nice. My only kick is that the place needs a little TLC. Our room was comfortable, the bed nice. So close to the beach. But the buildings inside and out could use a coat of paint. Otherwise, this place is great.

The food was very good. I loved the fish tacos at lunch, eaten in the shade one day. Grilled mahi-mahi for dinner one night. Caribs in the bar. Staff could be reserved, but quick with a smile and friendly.

We were part of a 35 person group down to scuba dive for the week. Scuba Nevis was a great dive operator. Ellis and his guys took very good care of us and the diving was excellent.

Nevis is a small island. It takes about an hour to drive around the island, doing 20-25 mph. There's no hurry to get anywhere. We toured around, walked some old sugar plantation ruins. Walked a couple of other beaches. Had lunch at Sunshine's on Pinney's Beach. But we kept wanting to be back at our beach, where there were no crowds and the sunsets unbelievable. One day I took a picture of the beach because there were 6 other people on the beach, the most we'd seen in a couple days. It was like having your own private beach.

If you are looking for a super relaxing week, no crowds, no tourists, this is the place. We would go back in a heartbeat, but there are other adventures awaiting us out there.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bennetthdsrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
8.6 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Property: Oualie Beach Resort
Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing