We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Buffalo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Buffalo Resort
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

For starters we booked at this resort because of the availability for our family of 48 people. We all wanted to stay in cabins and be in close proximity to each other. I'm happy to report this was accomplished!! Our family has been gathering for yearly camp trips for many years now. I write this review comparing White Buffalo Resort to other accommodations we have stay in the past.

Exterior of Resort: PRO: We found the complex to be very clean and well maintained. The front of the complex faces the White River that is about 100 to150 feet down a steep embankment to the river edge. Very nice grass around the cabins (kids could run barefoot) The fog the rolls in from the mountains and settles on the river is a sight to see. CONS: Did have limited grass in camping or RV area. Pool was 3 feet deep. The White River is a spring feed river - so it make the river CLEAR (Beautiful & good fishing) but COLD (for swimming)! To float down a warm river you will need to travel about a hour to the Buffalo River.

Lobby & Check-in/out: PROS: As the other reviews state their staff is very helpful. The registration desk is located in the middle of the complex. The whole check-in process took less then 20 minutes. They had a covered lobby area that was the only location that people could obtain Wi-Fi. Otherwise limited or no cell service is available. CONS: Could tell that some staff members did get a little frazzled with larger group request to pay separately.

Interior of Sisters Cabin (00): PROS: This was a 4 bedroom with a loft and 2 full bathrooms. A gas burning fireplace was available - we really didn't use due to nice weather. The AC was great. The beds and sheets in this unit were nice!! All bath and kitchen towels were provided. The kitchen was stocked with coffeemaker, toaster. No microwave.

Over all we were pleased with this property and it's service. We would recommend this to other. Like anything -- you get what you pay for and ask for!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corsicana, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just returned from 5 days at this wonderful resort. We stayed in the Tonka lodge 4 adults and 2 children and had lots of room to be comfortable. There are 2 rooms downstairs each with a queen bed and two baths. Living area with large table that sited 8 comfortably. The upstairs has two lofts with 4 twins in each loft. Kitchen is well equipped. The porch was where we spent much of our time. The staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this for anyone that loves the outdoors, canoeing, fishing or just doing nothing! I highly recommended a fishing trip with Mike. We had a great time and even booked two additional trips with him. Nothing like catching rainbow trout and cooking them right then. If your looking for a great get away, you won't regret it. The only con I would give is it is a little on the pricey side, but well worth it!

Room Tip: Go for a lodge that over looks the river. Beautiful and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevyork53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Olwell, Owner at White Buffalo Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We're glad you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for all the positive comments. We're sorry you left with the impression that we're "pricey" because we pride ourselves in offering many levels of accommodations to fit any budget for groups large or small; and we make every effort to place guests in the best cabin for their size party and pocketbook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Just left and we are so ready to return. Staff and owner so helpful and a beautiful place. We LOVED the camper cabins, they were so fun and my husband said it was the best vacation he had ever had. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I recently rv camped at the white buffalo resort and had a wonderful experience. The resort is simply stunning and the staff are wonderful. The fog that rolls in from the mountains and settles on the river is a truly beautiful sight and you can't beat the fishing! The place is small, not many sights, but that is part of it's appeal. Our daughter had a minor emergency during our stay and the staff did all in their power to help us. We highly recommend a stay here and will stay her again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I didn't stay at the resort, but the campground looked nice enough. We chose to rent a canoe and enjoy the outdoors for July 4th. Luckily we found White Buffalo resort. The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. The river was beautiful and perfect for a first timer. It was 7 miles of fun exercise. There was no pressure for us to finish in a certain amount of time, which was perfect as my wife loves to stop and take pictures. The prices were reasonable and we plan to return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Location location location! The river is beautiful; fishing, and canoeing great. Staff is friendly. The pool is perfect for families with small kids.
However...the majority of the rv sites leave a lot to be desired. They are tiny!!! The staff doesn't monitor how people park in them either. So some people were pulled thru others backed in which made the already small spaces difficult to maneuver. Also most are located on a high bank overlooking White River. Which is beautiful but I have a 2 year old and was fearful for him all weekend. Additionally their website states they have fire pit/fire rings. Technically they do but it is a rusty wheel with an even rustier piece of expanded metal over it...no cooking on this. Overall we had a good time, but if we go back we will pay extra to stay in the larger rv spots.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The good: Lots of activities for families. The kids loved the pool and canoeing. The staff was very friendly and helpful for the most part. They also had lawn games, ping pong, checkers, volleyball, and horse shoes. Having a store on site was great for firewood, incidentals, and ice cream! Also, the river and bluffs are truly beautiful!

The bad: Some of the info provided on the resort was a bit inaccurate. There is supposed to be an "easy" family hike just across the river, but it turns out it is on a non-maintained trail that is covered with poison ivy in summer time. It's also quite dangerous for little ones. That's not an attraction you should really count on. This place was really great, but the tent sites are very small. They also don't have a lot of grass making it kind of rocky and muddy. Get a camper cabin for $50/night, RV here, or check out their cabins that sleep 6+ and have kitchens. Y

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jska482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Home
24.6 mi away
River Valley Rentals
River Valley Rentals
#3 of 11 in Mountain View
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#6 of 16 in Mountain Home
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
11.3 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Buffalo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Resort

Property: White Buffalo Resort
Address: 418 White Buffalo Trl, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mountain Home
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Buffalo Resort rents 9 riverfront cedar log Cabins & Lodges, 6 Camper Cabins, 7 shady Full Hook-Up RV sites & 17 Campsites all overlooking the beautiful White River. We rent jonboats, canoes and kayaks. Whether you come for the legendary trout fishing or the premier small mouth fishing or just to escape to the beauty of the Ozarks, you'll make memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing